4.5 star rating: Recommended 78 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Sharm el-Sheikh, Egypt
  • Duration:  2 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Quad Biking in the Egyptian Desert from Sharm el Sheikh. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 78 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Colin J
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

A great experience but an early start at 4.45am! A good time to go, though, as the group is smaller and you can get some speed up on the quads!

Sue M
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

Great experience. Would recommend to wear long or three quarter lenght trousers, wear a scarf,as very dusty and wear protected eye wear,even swimming goggles will do. Did the sunset trip and was beautiful,can't wait to go again.

Richard Mark D
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

Well organised. Pick up on time. Quads good fun but group can only go as fast as the slowest person. Saw other quad bike groups out but ours was the only one supplied with crash helmets. Dont forget a scarf to keep dust out of mouthnose.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

I recommend using this Company. The guide took my daughter with him for safety and I was glad he did, as I have not driven a quad bike before. I saw other excursions while in Sharm el Sheikh and they looked really dangerous and out of control. We were given helmets and enjoyed a terrific experience with minimized risks.

Anthony K
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2009

Great value for money. It was nice being in a small group too.

Veronica S
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2009

The experience was really good. The view of the sunrise was absolutely beautiful. Our guide was also very good. The only downside was that we were the only 2 people taking part, and it would probably have been a bit more fun with a few more people.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2008

Great trip, nice staff, good instructions, can get a bit boring as you always have to drive in single line, but definitely worth it when you are interested to see the sunset in the Egyptian desert!

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

The best thing about it was the sunrise, it was amazing!! Quad biking was good but a bit slow, I was hoping it was going to be a bit faster.

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2014

The private transfer from the hotel to the desert location was good but there was a lot of confusion when we arrived there as there were a lot of people and different groups and no-one seemed to know what was happening. Finally we were guided to a quad bike and shown how to use it before following the guide along the road towards the desert. We had to follow him in a row without coming out of the line which meant that we had to go quite slowly if the person in front was also going slowly. The ride itself was enjoyable and we stopped to take photos of the desert and listen to the echo and then again so people could have camel rides and drink some tea. I think it would have been more enjoyable if we had more freedom on the bikes but for the best time, this was very interesting and fun.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

Enjoyed the Quad biking but weren't advised about the extra charges. Felt everything should have been provided.

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2010

We enjoyed the quad biking but felt it was left too late in the day. We went at sunset and half way through the tour became completely dark. I felt this was a safety issue plus it's not that enjoyable if all you can see are brake lights!

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2011

Very rushed, no information passed on.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2010

"Explore the the sands and crags as you ride the sands on a desert escape," the advert says. I was a bit disappointed as the "desert" was the wasteland between Sharm and the mountains, most of which has been tuned into a builders' dumping ground. Lots of piles of rubble from the Sharm building projects. Sunrise was seen through a row of electric pylons and cables. The guide only said a few words to us once out on the ride, which included "Do you want to buy some drinks?" and "The shop is open". We went in low season, so it was relatively quiet, but I would imagine in high season the area would be swamped with dozens of quads all vying for the same views. Viator is only 1 company selling this product, so the "desert" will be very busy. Not the magical trip into the desert I was hoping for.

Wendy B
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2009

We did enjoy this trip, it was a nice, enjoyable experience, however it must be noted that if you are used to bikes this may not be for you. We set off in a line of about 50 quads in a straight line! We kept getting told off for "going too fast" and "swerving out of line" the things I expect to do on a quad trip in the desert. Didn't venture as far into the desert as I imagined or get driving for as long as I would have liked. We had paid for the trip in full prior to departing the UK, however when we stopped in the desert the guys organising the trip attempted to get another 75 sterling from us. Luckily I had the invoice receipt from Viator so we stood our ground and did not pay it. If you choose the sunset option be sure to get a quad which has lights for the journey back and don't expect to see the actual sun setting!

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2013

Terrible. The trip was comprehensively mis-represented on the Viator website. You advertise a trip duration of 2.5 hours, and in reality it was 1 hour on the quad bike, 20 minutes sitting on a rock to watch the sunset, and another 10 minutes in a dusty Bedouin tent being encouraged to buy cold tea. You also advertise a 7pm trip, whereas in fact it starts at 5:00pm at this time of year. For me, this conflicted with other commitments, so I had to pull out and change to a sunrise option. Pick up 3:30am, which was not much fun, particularly as the pick up bus did not arrive until 4:05, then drove back right past the hotel again at 4:35 after other pickups. Shoddy, and very misleading on the Viator website.

From USD $ 36.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 6–64)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3124SSH14

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message