4.5 star rating: Recommended 40 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location:Sharm el-Sheikh, Egypt
  • Duration:7 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Tiran Island Cruise and Snorkeling. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 40 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
November 2013

Great tour to introduce family and kids to snorkeling in the ocean. Personnel/Tour Guides friendly and always helpful.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

This tour was fun, cheap, and relaxing. The entire day was spent going to three snorkeling\scuba diving sites and going with a guide through the water. The photographer on our boat was amazing, and we ended up buying his pictures. There was only one good spot, the other 2 were a waste.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

Very nice trip, beautiful beautiful beautiful. Snorkeling was fantastic, very nice staff at the boat, well trained and was looking after us all the time. Food reasonable, drinks just a few bottles of coke and water in the fridge. But this experience is not about the food at the end. A bit dissapointed with picking up from the hotel, we were picked up first and had to travel all around while they pick up other people. And once we arrived the guy who picked us up just jumped from the car and we never saw him again. I was expecting some instructions from him like where I have to wait or who will pick us up, but no, you have to go and find it our for yourself. So for the money payed I would expect a bit more attention to the customer from a different country.

Bernice N
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

There was a lot of waiting around to board the boat, however, we have done this trip 4 times now, and, never really been disappointed. We have never had to wait for so long to board a boat before or on the trip we booked via the rep since. Otherwise, this trip is a delight and I would use Viatour to book again, without question. Plus Viatour was 12 pound per person cheaper than the resort. reps.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

The trip was good overall. The guides were very friendly and courteous unlike some of the guides on other trips operated by other agencies. Was definitely worth it

Mara H
Switzerland

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

it was excellent and the points chosen by the guides were the best. The only negative point is the wait as we were the first ones to be picked up at the hotel in the morning and some of the other people travelling with us were at least 35 minutes late and we had to wait.... not fun. The guides were very good but very busy as the groups are big. The boat was brand new, the trip was smooth and the sites chosen were excellent.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

Really nice team, from the pick up guy to the boat cook, no hassling for tipping which is really rare in Egypt. Great day, sunbathing on the boat and snorkling...the snorkling spots were amazing. Only regret not to have more time alone on the water for the first and second snorkling spots around Tiran Island.

Sue M
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

Rather a long wait to get on to boat as loads of different tour operators using same marina. But once on board the trip went very smoothly. Only down side was the snorkeling waters were also being used by other boats so rather congested.

Harriet L
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

The guides were really friendly and the boat was lovely. The lunch wasn't great but overall we had a fab day.

Jodie S
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2009

I really enjoyed the trip. My boyfriend loves the sea and fish so he had a fab time! I am not a lover of the sea but still had a great day I enjoyed catching some rays on the boat as much as the snorkeling. The only downside is that we had terrible "stomach troubles" the following day; it's a good thing that I took some Imodium tablets away with me. We are not sure if it was the spaghetti supplied on the trip or if it was the desert we both had at our hotel that night, but those were the only two things we both ate. I would definitely recommend this, as the trouble with the food may have been something else!

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2008

Really good trip and price! Boat trip great, reefs just before Tiran Island really beautiful, 3 stops at 3 three different places. Food delicious. After arrival at port you are taken there by bus, be prepared to wait approx. 30 minutes to 1 hour before the staff eventually gets ready to take you onboard -that's the same for everyone so has nothing to do with Viator.

Louise M K
United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2011

Once you book this trip, you then need to contact an Egyptian tour operator to arrange a pick-up from your hotel. We experienced some degree of trouble doing this, but finally received a fax to say we would be collected at 8am the next day but to be there 20mins earlier. Our pick-up finally arrived at 8.30, then when we arrived at the jetty at 9am, we were sat there waiting for another hour and a half before we finally got on our boat. At the first site it was all rather disorganised with the guide continually whistling and shouting for us to follow him, which led to 30+ people jostling together and myself getting kicked several times, and a whack in the face with a stray elbow. After that, the day greatly improved, with us being allowed to do what we generally wanted at the other 2 sites. Lunch was OK, and there were always drinks available. We did see some dolphins, which was a real high-light, and the boat was not over-filled so there was plenty of room for everyone. Once we arrived back, it was straight on the mini-van and back to the hotel - though our driver did stop in the road for a few minutes to chat to his mate who had parked up his van. Having experienced this trip, I think I would rather have spent a little bit more money and booked through my travel agency, if only for the peace of mind. However, for the price we paid, it was satisfactory.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2012

It was not very clear that tourist can't land on the Island. Anyway, I did not touch water, so I was only an spectator on the boat.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2010

Snorkeling in Sharm el Sheikh is amazing! Our first stop was a great experience, but I felt like after that the guides on the boat didn't care too much about the rest of the day. The boat moved about 10 yards away for the second stop, so we missed a second chance to snorkel because we didn't realize it was the second stop. Then they took us most of the way back to the jetty and dumped us at a third location, told us we had 20 mins and when we got in the water there was nothing to see. It felt like they were just trying to finish the day. Lunch was good, weather and scenery was wonderful, and the boat was nice and clean. But I felt like the excursion was over after the first snorkeling stop, and was disappointed at the rest of the day. Also, they keep trying to sell you videos and photos while you're on the boat, and the camera operator was mildly obtrusive when we were trying to relax.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2009

The Tiran Island trip was pleasant and the snorkeling was okay but I didn't see a lot of the sea life that was pointed out in the paper that we saw before we into the water. There were a lot of boats and a lot of people in the water, and the water was choppy, so maybe that caused the water to be cloudy. Other than that, the staff and crew were very pleasant, the lunch was okay, and the weather very nice.

From USD $ 44.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3124SSH01

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message