4.5 star rating: Recommended 122 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Singapore, Singapore
  • Duration:  3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Changi WWII War Trail and Museum Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 122 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We made our way by taxi from an hotel near Orchard Rd to a local shopping centre near Changi where we met the tour. The taxi ride was inexpensive at about $15 but if you are prepared to use a little more time it would have been easy enough to catch the train. The local train/tube system (MRT) is extensive, cheap and easy to use.
Once there we met up with our guide and were conducted to an air conditioned coach for the tour. There were about 15 people in our group, so not too large.
From there we were taken to the Changi Museum with several significant sites pointed out and explained along the way.
The museum was small but well presented.
From the museum we went to one site of the British artillery batteries for a brief stop, with several other sites pointed out along the way.
Finally we visited Changi Beach, the site of the mass execution of a number of Chinese locals shortly follow my the Japanese occupation.
The tour finished when we were dropped back at the pick up point.
Throughout, the commentary was informative, clear and engaging.
As an Australian visiting Changi in honour of the many Australians who suffered there as POW's during WWII I was very pleased about the sensitivity and knowledge of our guide, Helena.
What I was not expecting was Helena's clear presentation about the impact of the Japanese occupation of Singapore on the general population and the Chinese population in particular.
She also talked about how WWII marked the death knell for British Colonialism in Singapore and Malaysia and finished up with a potted social and political history of Singapore and Malaysia to the present day.
I found the tour as a whole to be a moving tribute to all, military and civilian, who suffered and died during those dark days; and a tribute to this small nation that has pulled itself from the ashes of that tragedy into what appears to be a bright future.
Highly Recommended!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Very knowledgable

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Our tour guide was very friendly and extremely informative. We were eager to learn more about the history of Changi and this tour was very comprehensive.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was an amazing experience. Helena was the best tour guide I've ever had worldwide. I'm really thankful for the work she and the Museum are doing to preserve Singapore's history in the face of constant development.

I'll definitely do more Changi tours when I'm in Singapore next.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Helena was a fantastic tour guide, adding insights in between facts as she lead us around each location which really made the tour a unique experience. We could have listened to her all day! I have no personal connection to the Changi history, but everything I saw, read and heard on this tour has made me want to continue reading the stories that have shaped Singapore into the amazing country it is today. I think all cultures can appreciate this tour. Booking through Viator was also quick and stress free and I'd happily do the whole thing again. A big thank you to fellow reviewees :)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

absoutely enjoyed this tour. we had the most fantastic guide. this is a museum that is very close to our hearts.my family member was imprisoned here.it is somewhere where everyone should visit too see how others suffered for our freedom. thankyou

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Helena our tour guide was awesome. She oozed passion and knowledge. The tour was well planned and cover some great historical spots. Bonus I was able to find my grandfather's name on the POW list and got a copy. Highly recommended for anyone interested in Singapore history or have links to Changi.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our guide was excellent. We had a marvelous time and I learned a lot. The only problem we had was the bus being late for our pick-up. I had to be a bit rushed at the end cause I had to meet my next trip. I would use this company again as I hear they have many other tours as well and the people on our trip who had taken some of them spoke highly of them.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Fantastic tour recommend to anyone including families, tour guide very knowledgeable and personal connection to the WWII story made this tour very moving and eye opening.

Robert S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

A moving experience not to be missed. We had a very informative tour guide who explained everything.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Amazing. Every Australian should do this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We found the tour guide (Carol) to be extremely knowledgeable and catered well to all our needs.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Fantastic. A very moving tour. Our guide was incredibly knowledgable. Would recommend the tour to friends.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Very moving. Our wonderful tour guide Juling realised most participants on our tour were Australian so she gave an abundance of information relating to our diggers mixed in with a very concise overview of the fall of Singapore during WWII and life in Changi.
I would recommend every Aussie visitor to Singapore sign up for a tour of Changi Prison.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

One of the best tours ever. The informative guide (Helena) really made this tour. She had an insight into the feelings and understanding of the times. Look forward to another tour with Helena.

From USD $ 43.36

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2984CHA

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message