4.5 star rating: Recommended 137 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Singapore, Singapore
  • Duration:  3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Changi WWII War Trail and Museum Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 137 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

Powerful, sorrowful, meaningful. Excellent overview of the Fall of Singapore and the subsequent barbarism.

PETER M
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

A very moving experience with a great well informed guide to tell the plight of the POW's

Eric M
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

Our tour guide was very informative and knowledgeable.

Jill
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

Excellent! Easy to find and get to the meeting point. Our tour guide was fabulous, very knowledgeable, and extremely helpful. Would definitely recommend this tour!

LUCYNA H
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

My husband and I recently did this tour and found it excellent. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and requires a special mention for her friendliness, and making people feel welcome.

Marc R
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2009

This tour was amazing and our guide was so knowledgeable. A must for any visit to Singapore. Well worth the money.

Helen P
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2008

The most moving experience. Our tour guide was fantastic.

Dennis C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

I have travelled extensively over the past 18 years, and this tour was one of the most interesting and informative I have ever taken, thanks to our guide, who was the best, as all our group agreed. Thanks.

LYNETTE D
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

We learned so much, we all have heard the stories about the Death Railway and the Bridge on the River Kwai, but little is taught about Changi. I would highly recommend it to anyone. We had a lovely guide with great knowledge.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Wonderful tour. We learned so much. We enjoyed this tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Emotional but worthwhile tour. Learned a lot about WW11 in Singapore. Very informative guide. Would have liked more time to go round museum after the guided tour to look at some of the exhibits again.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The guide we had, Wina, spoke very informatively, pointing out the interesting places on the way to or from the museum, such as the Changi Prison, the Selerang Barracks, the Roberts Barracks, but it was a pity we couldn't actually stop to take photos of these other places. These are equally as important to family members of ex-POWs if not more, because the Museum and the Johore Battery were not really there when they were. The museum contents were good to the unstudied eye of the general visitor, but to those of us who know a lot more about the short 'campaign' that resulted in defeat, the Museum glossed over a lot of important aspects. On our 2nd visit to the museum, we wanted to study more about the people on the story boards, and look at the detail, we were surprised to find that little was said about the RASC of the 18th Div., they hardly got a mention. The badges of the Corps is there, but no listing on the brass plates in the first section. The audio was good to a certain point, and the recollections of actual Singaporeans involved were very moving. It is difficult to include everything, but if the place were to expand some more, there would be room. There was a central display of WWI boards, which detracted from the WWII displays on either side. I didn't look at any WWI displays. In the 'cell' depicted by a floor plan of how the troops were housed in cramped conditions, it would be more effective if a seat or a bench was put in that area (on the concrete slab) whereby you would get a feeling of claustrophobia and how what the men had to endure.. It could have felt more real. If Wina didn't know the answer to something she would find out. It was a shame that no photos were allowed as the aim of Museums are to surely educate more people about what happened, taking the information to others, so that they too would want to come and visit for real. Otherwise, probably one of the best tours on the Island.

Fezwyck
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

I just finished reading King Rat by James Cavell, who had based the book on his experiences at the prison. The tour was very interesting and informative. The tour leader is very passionate about keeping the history relevant.

Clare B
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Great tour. Don't get to tour Changi prison as its still a working prison. Tour guide Helena was great, very personable and full of info on Singapore at the time of invasion and since. Lots of info on Singapore today. Great transport well worth doing.

Alan D
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Our tour guide was excellent. Very knowledgable. It would have been interesting to see more of the prison if this was possible. The museum was excellent and very informative. Would go to the Museum again as there is so much to read about the people who were a part of this War.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

A very interesting and informative tour. The stories the guide told really brought that time period to life.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Very informative guide.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

this tour was good with a good tour guide

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Helena was very informative, learnt a lot. Have recommended to others.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Our guide, Carol, was excellent! She was passionate about the history - the commentary was balanced, extensive and interesting with not only relevance to war time Singapore but also modern Singapore.
The only down side, though no fault of the tour itself, was the absence of a visit to Changi Prison because access is not permitted and little remains other than the external wall.
Nevertheless, the tour was worth doing.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The highlight of this tour was the Changi Museum. Inside the stories, picture boards, artefacts were interesting, sad, funny.... Joo Ling was our tour guide: what a wonderful lady; knowledgeable, friendly and shared personal experiences with us. Easy to get to Pasir Ris MRT (green line). We arrived a little early and had a maccas breakfast inside shopping centre. Original chapel was relocated to Australia, so what you visit is a replica but this didn't affect my experience at all. Great history told.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

The tour was very interesting and the guide Jooling was great . Her knowledge was fantastic kept up interested the whole time.It was well organised and gave you plenty of time for photos you never rushed .i would recommend this for anyone interested in the war to see what our POWs had to put up with.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Our tour gujde was knowledgable and informative. Her only difficulty was that she is yet to master the use of various types of microphone/pa systems on the bus and on foot (and they are not of sufficient quality). This meant that only those close to her could hear. Since the tour relies very heavily on the commentary, the difficulty hearing the guide was a major drawback to an otherwise very important historical tour.

Allan F
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

Everything that was promised was delivered.
Very experienced guide.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

An excellent tour. Guide was very informative and knowledgeable. Well worth doing to learn more about the situation in Singapore for locals, POWs, and soldiers.

From USD $ 43.74

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2984CHA

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message