3.5 star rating: Worth doing 109 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Singapore, Singapore
  • Duration:  5 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Malaysia Johore Bahru Half-Day Tour from Singapore. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 109 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2013

The tour was very good and interesting the Guide we had was lovely and very informative, however the coach driver was completely unhelpful and completely rude to all on the coach.

Veronica B
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

Firstly, do not lose that small piece of white card that is detached from the entrance form when you come into Singapore. You will need it to clear customs on the way into Malaysia. Not too sure what I expected from the tour, but I guess it did exactly what it described and it was only $13. You get to "see" the mosque (ie walk around the outside of it). The batik demonstration took 90 seconds and was in a tin shed on a corner of a bus parking lot. (Squat toilets with no TP). The other demonstrations were as quick and as low key. Opportunities to buy the products and it gave us a glimpse into how different Malaysia is from SIngapore

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

Worth doing and value for money however you don't really get to see much of Malaysia itself, mainly just a quick trip around the city. If we could do it again we'd probably go the full day Malacca tour instead. Customs was quick and easy, bus and the tour guide 'VJ' were excellent.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

This tour provided an unexpected comparison between Singapore and Malaysia. The 3 places visited were interesting and generally value for money. However we didn't know until the very last minute (when we were collected from our hotel for the tour actually) whether the tour was confirmed.

Ali_Hawk
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2013

This was an interesting tour. Malaysia is so different to Singapore! I loved the craftsmanship of the Batik - the designs and fabrics were beautiful. The Mosque was very interesting and I was pleased to get the background information from the Guide on this, as it was a new thing for me. The view of the Straits from the Mosque is marvellous and the gardens there are lovely. The city of Johore Baru is very interesting and the Guide was so knowledgable - including all the medicinal uses of the plants we saw. One thing to note, the immigration/departure process between Singapore and Malaysia may take up some time and there is no control over this, so you should expect potential adjustment to your itinerary if the process takes longer than usual. Overall, a good tour.

Barry F
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2012

The content was Ok. but the Singapore immigration in both directions was a real pain!

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2012

Malaysia was beautiful. But we felt like they were just taking us on a shopping trip.

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2012

guide had good knowledge of area and probably could have been a bit longer

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2012

There was no commentary provided on the Singapore leg of the trip which would have really enhanced the tour. Considerable time is spent clearing immigration. The tour guide in Malaysia was knowledgeable and interesting, however the condition of the garden was disappointing. The driver was friendly and helpful

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2012

This tour was OK. Unfortunately most of the time was spent clearing customs. Apart from that the tour was as described.

Serge
Switzerland

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2012

Departure on time, there was no delay on the immigration, but very short excursion in Malaysia itself. Unfortunately entry in the Abu Bakar Mosque is forbidden for non muslims so you can observe it only from outside

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2011

Too short, and not too much to see. Time in security at border was not so bad.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

The staff with the company that picked us up from the hotel were very good and imformative on both the singapore side and the Malay side of the trip, only down side was when we first set of and were taken to larger bus at meeting point to go from singapore to Jahore Bahru, one pasenger had not brought the piece of white paper with her passport to leave imigration on the Singapore border and was told that she would have to find a policeman when she got there and be processed for clearance, we therfore had to wait at imigration for an hour and a half for her taking time into the 5 hour trip waiting for her for this to be done, staff knowing that she did not have this document when we were still in Singapore should have told her to do the trip another day as it really was inconvenient to all other 20 odd people on bus . We booked this trip as we were departing Singapore that night and wanted to be back at hotel for an extended check out that they were good enough to give us, and as it was made it with 10 minutes to spare not the 2 hours we had arranged to have a shower etc, bit disapointing not Viators fault but tour company should have stressed to them that they needed this document on bookinbg trip, spoilt our plans as we were 2 hours late back On the poitive side we booked this trip with Viator over the internet before leaving Australia with every thing running smoothly will book more trips in April with them when we are in Italy, thank you for great service.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2010

found the way that batik was done very interesting. enjoyed the gardens also.

Adriana Y
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2010

I expected more.

From USD $ 25.40

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3695MYRC

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message