3.5 star rating: Worth doing 123 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Singapore, Singapore
  • Duration:  5 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Malaysia Johore Bahru Half-Day Tour from Singapore. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 123 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Nathalie P
Mauritius

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2010

Long tour to see few things. Most of the tour is in the bus and at the customs. However, the Mosque we saw was really beautiful.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2010

Short trip for four customs immigration changeovers. Took considerable time to make the four stops, not just two as we expected even though the lines were very short. Didn't realize either all of the shopping stops on this trip. Viator's description should make that clearer. There was one stop of quality in the 1/2 day trip. Audio equipment on this bus didn't work either. Vendor needs to get better equipment since hearing the guide is important on a tour!

Sharlene D
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2010

Wasn't what we thought it would be.

Mark C
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2009

We enjoyed the trip. It was very well conducted by the host. It could be improved by a visit to the grounds of the sultan's residence if this is possible.

Gerhard J
South Africa

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2008

This was more of a cultural tour, not exactly sightseeing. But enjoyable.

SAAHERA S
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2008

The tour guide was really good and informative, but I actually expected more. We didn't really see a lot of Malaysia as I wanted. We only had three stops. First was at an art shop where they show you how they dye the clothes; then we went to a random house, not sure why, to see how people lived back in the day; and the only highlight was when we went to see the famous mosque, which was absolutely beautiful, but we didn't get to go inside as it's closed off to tourists.

Melissa S
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2008

Once checkpoints were passed, very little time to see the sights.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2007

Too much time spent at tourist trap batik painting and pewter. Would have liked more time at landmarks sites etc. Muslim cemetery was a drive by. The Mosque was definitely worth seeing.

Luisa Z
Philippines

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2007

This tour needs improvement.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2007

Tour guide was very knowledgeable and provided a lot of good cultural information. The actual duration of the tour is limited by the necessity of going through immigration from Singapore into Malaysia and then again in reverse. Do take something to snack on, no eating on the bus since meals are not included. Would recommend a day tour of the same area if your schedule allows for it.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2007

Too many delays at the border and couldn't go inside the mosque.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

I already sent in a review that was not in favor of this tour it appears to have been deleated

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

Tour did not operate due to religious holiday

Raye Potter
Australia

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2014

Better not to rate at all as this trip is not what is advertised. Too much time is wasted on getting through Immigration/Customs and not enough on the tour. It turned out to be more of local gift shops.
Fleeting glance at cemetery very poor.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2012

Cross border curiosity, not worth the effort.
You get to visit somebodies back yard to look at a few different fruit trees and hopefully for the owner, buy some souvenirs. Then you get to walk around the outside of a Mosque and finally you get taken to a shop for a 60 sec demo of batik making and again for the owner, hopefully buy some souvenirs.
If you really need the stamp to show you went to another country go for it, but that's the only reason to do the tour.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2012

The tour guide was very passionate and professional about a tour which is well past it's use by date. Too much unavoidable time in the immigration system compared to too much time spent in run down attractions, if you could them attractions. We have been on dozens of Viator tours in Europe, Asia and NZ, this one is one will wish to forget.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2012

I hate to admit it that this trip was absolutely awful. From no guide and no explanation in Singapore to a terrible guide going to a ridiculous "village", which was nothing more than a store with bored dancers and nothing to offer. Then going to the outside of a mosque and driving through a graveyard before going to another store. What a waste of time, poorly planned, poorly organized and with the worst guide ever once we got to Malaysia...please avoid at all costs!!

Note from Viator: Thank you for your review. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your tour. We have contacted the tour company and have addressed your concern with them. Thank you for helping us ensure the quality of our tours.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2011

The Immigration process took too long. The craft center is very small, you can only see the Mosque from outside and the farmers village didn't have any fruits.
The passport stamp was worth it though.

Note from Viator: Thank you for your review. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your tour. We have contacted the tour company and have addressed your concern with them. Thank you for helping us ensure the quality of our tours.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2011

Spend more time going through customs going to and returning from Malaysia than we spent in the country. Really disappointed with the amount of time this took, particularly on the SIngapore side where there is no system in place and they close counters at random making people waiting in that line to have to change to new counter at the end of the line!! Frustrating and not worth wasting half a day of your holidays!

TINA ANN J
United Kingdom

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2009

Very disappointed. It took 3 hours from pick-up to actually getting into Malaysia due to Immigration and customs. I felt a lot of time was wasted and there was little to see once you got over there. Not my idea of fun going to a cemetery on my holidays

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2008

Whilst the sights were well worth seeing the rush of the tour was marred by the two and a half hours spent going through the immigration centre which removed the pleasure of the tour.

Robyn G
Australia

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2008

Coming back from Malaysia I can honestly say I say I saw nothing of Malaysia but its shops. I would not go on this trip again nor recommend it to my friends. It would seem that you don't get what you pay for.

Leanne B
Australia

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2008

We were really disappointed with this trip. If you have the time do the Melacca tour instead.

From USD $ 30.42

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3695MYRC

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message