Insider's Guide to Skagway

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended 142 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Skagway, Alaska
  • Duration:  6 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Skagway Shore Excursion: Full-Day Tour of the Yukon. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 142 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was an excellent tour and Mike our guide deserves special mention for his friendly manner and entertaining stories. The colour of the trees in the Autumn enhanced the trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic trip, we had a great guide/host - Tyler. His knowledge of the area was excellent, he was thoughtful and offered us great photo opportunities.
The dog sleding was fun and would have liked more time with them.
All in all excellent excursion and made extra special by seeing a black bear on the side of the road.

Thanks Tyler for making our day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour was everything we were told it was. Our guide, Candi, was wonderful. Very knowledgeable and great fun.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was absolutely amazing! Our guide was incredibly knowledgeable, fascinating, and wonderful, and we had the chance to see a whole lot of great scenery and learn a lot as well. The dog sledding portion was also amazing.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This excursion was beyond excellent. We saw so much and given time to take pictures. The driver (Mike) was brilliant, informative as well as amusing to keep us awake - although the scenery was doing a good job of that as well. We were blessed with exceptional weather apparently for the time of year - no rain.......
Everything was smooth, organised and no issues at all. I cannot praise Viator enough for their really well worked out itinerary to see so much.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Wow! amazing scenery, hard to believe to see what we usually see on postcards. Driver was great! very entertaining and informative.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was an excellent trip in to The Yukon offering excellent value for money. Our guide for the day was Tyler who had an inspirational passion and enthusiasm for the Yukon. THe choice of photo stops and viewpoints was excellent. The lunch and visit to the dog sled was superb. I can and will recommend Viator to anyone. DON'T pay the rip off tour prices offered by the cruise ships go to Viator. Once again thanks for making this one of the highlights of our holiday.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The views were beautiful; the guide was very informative and enjoyable. We saw so much more than we would have seen from the train, and we were able to get out of the bus and take photos. The Natural History museum was amazing, and lunch was very good.
One of our family members got lost on the way to the bus at the start of the tour - I ended up staying behind to find her. Then the tour guide called a special "chase car" for me and we caught up to the tour. I appreciated this so much - they really went "above and beyond" for us, and I'm so glad I didn't miss the tour. This was the best tour of our trip!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our tour of the Yukon was guided by bus driver, John. He made the tour 10 times better than it would have been without him. The tour itself was scenic and informative and although the wildlife was hiding and too shy to have their photo taken, John filled our group in on history, culture with a few funny stories added for good luck. Fellow travellers took similar trips but did not recall the interesting time that our group was privy to. I suggest that if you don't try this tour then I have wasted my time writing this review. An added good feature of this tour is that there were only a small number of participants which made it more personal. I would rate this as a must do whilst in Skagway. Remember to ask for John as your driver.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great experience. The dog sled was awesome since the owner was our guide. She is an actual iditorod champion. The views were awesome although somewhat foggy but thats the time of year and no fault of the tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

So glad we booked this tour with Viator and not the ship. I've been to Alaska four times, and don't remember seeing this much scenery on a tour. Our guide, John, was loaded with personality and information, and lots of fun. He didn't rush through the tour and stopped at every possible place for photo ops. He was one of the best tour guides I've encountered. Loved the museum. I've never seen that many large animals exhibited in one place and it was incredible. Enjoyed petting the sled puppies. The lunch was good. We saw a black bear off the highway probably less than 30 feet from the bus. Never saw one that close up. The scenery was spectacular. The tour was well worth every penny.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great day out, shame it was raining in Skagway, once we got into Yukon the weather improved, coats off again. We went dog sledging which was great. Our tour guide was very funny and informative. Loved our day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

excellent trip and crew, highly recommend it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

very enjoyable. Great guide. And very reasonable in price compared to the cruise line prices

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour was great... Takes you pretty far into Canada for a day trip, with lots of amazing scenery, and Mike the driver was endless with the local facts... The only downside was a family I had to sit next to on the bus, but what are you going to do.

Remember bears are wild animals, they will eat you... stay on the bus!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was a great tour. I would higly recomend it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Loved this excursion! We went in a large van with our ten people ages ranging from 12-76 and everyone enjoyed the day. Beautiful scenery, great food and darling puppies. Savannah, our guide was awesome. Had great knowledge and perfect amount of conversation. It was a perfect way to see Skagway and the Yukon. Half of our group paid the extra $ to do the dog sled ride and it was worth the extra. A real Alaskan experience. We loved the day!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We had a great time! We were promptly picked up as we got off the ship and taken to where we would board our tour bus. Our driver was personable, and full of knowledge. We enjoyed getting away from town and driving far out into the Yukon. The scenery was beautiful! At Caribou Crossing we got to see 3 week old pups as well as the many dogsled dogs. Lots of stops for photo ops along the way. It was a great day, just the right length of time and fantastic guide! Can't beat all you can eat donuts as well :-)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

So glad we booked this tour. A nice small group of about 14. Our guide Tbone was very knowledgable and stopped at many points along the way,taking your photos too. Lunch was great at caribou crossing, a great stopping place with dogs to view too. We did the dog sledding which was a novelty and something you don't do everyday. Saw two bears too on the way back. Everything ran smoothly. A great,enjoyable and memorable day out!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We can wholeheartedly highly recommend this tour. The sites, the quiet, the comfortable transportation, and an awesome tour guide (Bill) all led to a very enjoyable and informative tour. Bill was an excellent guide with lots of knowledge of the area and was able to provide much details on the geological conditions of the area. He stopped at great sites and we really appreciated the opportunity to stop and admire the perfectly still, mirror-like conditions that existed on one of the lakes we passed. Thank you!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

excellent

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was the most amazing tour I've been on and along time. Our guy was friendly and knowledgeable. He was also very patient. I am in activities director at a beachfront resort and I can tell you I would be proud to have him working for me. Thank you for an experience my daughter and I will always r

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent driver/guide Mike, the weather was good and Mike knew where all the important vista views for photo ops were . He was very familiar with the territory and we saw Bears and other wild animals. The Husky camp was awesome and very accommodating with a petting Huskies and pups and answering questions. They had an exhibition hall exhibiting animals that were native to Alaska. The BBQ chicken dinner and trimmings was good.

From USD $ 103.95

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5338PRTSGYFULL

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message