Insider's Guide to Skagway

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended 158 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location:Skagway, Alaska
  • Duration:6 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Skagway Shore Excursion: Full-Day Tour of the Yukon. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 158 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

John, our driver and guide, was excellent as was the tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Beautiful day and an excellent driver/guide John. Enjoyed all the stops, the lunch at Carcross, and being in Canada.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tour was both scenic and informational ! Our guide ,Mike, was great! Funny but not overbearing with corny jokes! We'll worth the cost but beware the lunch is bare bones dog sled settlement fare------you can supplement at the very good ice cream shop!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour guide and perfect weather. Highlight of the tour was the sled dog camp. Scenery was impressive and our guide made many stops for photos.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was great!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had an amazing tour with Tyler The Geistrider!
Excellent weather. Great nature. Nice Photo spots. Cute Puppies. Interesting information about mushing. A bear right next to our bus. Excellent service by our tour guide Tyler, who made a great job as an entertainer and photographer.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This is by far our best tour experience in our 2 months tour of US/Canada. It was a day long tour lasting 6 hours. It was made highly enjoyable by our our incredible tour guide cum driver Tyler who entertained us with humour and knowledge of the Yukon region. The tour took us through several climatic zones with dramatic landscapes. Tyler has been extremely patient and considerate to those who are motion impaired. He also stops at every photo opportunity spots and volunteered to be a camera man for all. Fantastic landscape photo opportunities for the camera buffs. The tour is truly value for money as it goes beyond US/Canada border crossing and travel further than by rail. We could not recommend Tyler as your tour guide highly enough.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This excursion was very exciting...taking in the beautiful scenery through Alaska and into the Yukon was fantastic...scenery was just overwhelming...was lucky enough to view a few lakes so still they mirrored the surrounding mountains..Carcross was an experience in itself...even got to hold newborn sled dogs...would highly recommend this excursion to everyone...

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Amazing trip.food sucks but trip was well worth it. Must do. And cheap for what you get.

Christine D
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The scenery was breathtaking and the guide was amazing

Adriana D
Cayman Islands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour was really good, the tour guide was great he did the six hour tour pleasant one, we enjoyed a lot as it was a small group and we made a few stops for a beautiful pics. The coach vas very comfortable as well, my favorite part was feeding and petting the goats and huskies.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Nice experience made much more special by driver John! Ask for him when
taking the Skagway shore excursion.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The whole day was an amazing experience from start to finish. We were swiftly picked up and taken to lots of different viewing spots on route through the Yukon. The tour drivers are very witty and knowledgable. Well worth it for the views

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour was very good and highly informative. Tour guide Heidi was excellent!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was an excellent tour and Mike our guide deserves special mention for his friendly manner and entertaining stories. The colour of the trees in the Autumn enhanced the trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic trip, we had a great guide/host - Tyler. His knowledge of the area was excellent, he was thoughtful and offered us great photo opportunities.
The dog sleding was fun and would have liked more time with them.
All in all excellent excursion and made extra special by seeing a black bear on the side of the road.

Thanks Tyler for making our day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour was everything we were told it was. Our guide, Candi, was wonderful. Very knowledgeable and great fun.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was absolutely amazing! Our guide was incredibly knowledgeable, fascinating, and wonderful, and we had the chance to see a whole lot of great scenery and learn a lot as well. The dog sledding portion was also amazing.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This excursion was beyond excellent. We saw so much and given time to take pictures. The driver (Mike) was brilliant, informative as well as amusing to keep us awake - although the scenery was doing a good job of that as well. We were blessed with exceptional weather apparently for the time of year - no rain.......
Everything was smooth, organised and no issues at all. I cannot praise Viator enough for their really well worked out itinerary to see so much.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Wow! amazing scenery, hard to believe to see what we usually see on postcards. Driver was great! very entertaining and informative.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was an excellent trip in to The Yukon offering excellent value for money. Our guide for the day was Tyler who had an inspirational passion and enthusiasm for the Yukon. THe choice of photo stops and viewpoints was excellent. The lunch and visit to the dog sled was superb. I can and will recommend Viator to anyone. DON'T pay the rip off tour prices offered by the cruise ships go to Viator. Once again thanks for making this one of the highlights of our holiday.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The views were beautiful; the guide was very informative and enjoyable. We saw so much more than we would have seen from the train, and we were able to get out of the bus and take photos. The Natural History museum was amazing, and lunch was very good.
One of our family members got lost on the way to the bus at the start of the tour - I ended up staying behind to find her. Then the tour guide called a special "chase car" for me and we caught up to the tour. I appreciated this so much - they really went "above and beyond" for us, and I'm so glad I didn't miss the tour. This was the best tour of our trip!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our tour of the Yukon was guided by bus driver, John. He made the tour 10 times better than it would have been without him. The tour itself was scenic and informative and although the wildlife was hiding and too shy to have their photo taken, John filled our group in on history, culture with a few funny stories added for good luck. Fellow travellers took similar trips but did not recall the interesting time that our group was privy to. I suggest that if you don't try this tour then I have wasted my time writing this review. An added good feature of this tour is that there were only a small number of participants which made it more personal. I would rate this as a must do whilst in Skagway. Remember to ask for John as your driver.

From USD $ 103.95

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5338PRTSGYFULL

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message