• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 72 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: St Lucia
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the St Lucia Catamaran Day Sail. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 72 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

Great crew and a lot of Big Bamboo!

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

We have been to St. Lucia several times. It is a beautiful island with perfect weather and we love it. We have also taken a day cruise with the same itinerary as this one, in the past. We took it this time because we had family members with us who had not done so...including small children. The trip was enjoyable and the crew members were very nice. It did not, however, live up to my expectations based on my previous similar excursion. There are two particular reasons for this.

In retrospect, I 'do' realize that this was called a 'party' boat, and I confess to not having internalized the possible implications of that, but I found the day-long, ear-splitting music unpleasant in the extreme. On my previous trip I recall being able to chat with and get to know fellow passengers. That certainly was not possible this time.

The second issue which detracted from the day was some confusion among tour guides which resulted in our being taken to shore attractions in the wrong order and being removed from one mid-tour to get to lunch at the assigned time. The overall effect was that all of the short portion of the day seemed rushed and incomplete.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2012

the boat never came in to pick us up as promised. we had to make many calls to get them back and get a dinghy to the catamaran.
also was not starting the tour until 11 AM and not 8 as advertised.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2011

Taxi was half an hour late picking us up on the way out and on the way back. Trip itself was good fun. Avoid the "rum" punch though - pretty sure it wasn't rum!!

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2011

Really upset that I could not go on the day I pd for which was Wed I called Tues to ask for pick up for Wed and she said I did not confirm I said I confirmed when I pd for my ticket with my visa. She could not get this ?? Went Thurs and it was nice Staff very good Just reservations so so..

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2013

Certainly different than advertised.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2011

Fun trip in the end but not worth the trouble of booking through Viator. It would have been easier and cost the same to just book through a tour company on the island.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2011

The trip wasn't that great, too much like a school trip! Lunch wasn't that nice, food was average and they made you go up table by table, then they were dishing out the food like you're on rations, and even they ran out of things. While they went to go get more food, what you had on your plate went cold! Had to ask repeatedly for water and dessert! The tours around the botanical gardens etc. weren't that great either; again, herded around like school children on a field trip. The sailing was nice though but in my opinion, for what you pay, it isn't worth it.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2013

Truly disappointing. Multiple types of tours were merged into one catamaran, but without telling us in advance. There was not enough cover for everyone when it rained. The snorkelling was in a place with almost no fish to see, but with sufficient jellyfish-like creatures that stung everyone. The Caribbean has more than enough excellent snorkelling sites and the staff seemed to make an effort to take us to a place that wasn't one of them. We needed to wait in harbour at one stage for another tour group to come join us.

And worst of all, the staff were trying to create a party-boat atmosphere, playing the muzak-version of calypso and reggae music way too loud. Fine if that's what you booked, but we had no indication it would be a party-boat atmosphere.

My advice: don't do it.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2012

I've been on many, many Caribbean day sails, and this was definitely the worst. The trip was not cancelled, irrespective of the fact that it had been pouring rain for 4 days which was predicted to continue (oh boy, did it!). We had no advance itenerary. We were not advised to bring money for snacks or water while on shore. We were picked up from our resort at 8:15a.m. and were dropped off at 11:30 for two hours of walking tours -- no water, no food until 1:30. If we had known, we would have brought bottled water and major snacks. The mid afternoon snorkeling stop was a joke. On an island with so much loveliness, the beach at which we stopped was littered with garbage and we were accosted by men in boats trying to sell sea shells. They wouldn't leave no matter how many times we said no. The catamaran had very little snorkeling gear and no noodles or other "toys." The crew was pleasant enough, but they couldn't make up for the lack of advance information and lousy water experience.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2011

Fun trip in the end but not worth the trouble of booking through Viator. It would have been easier and cost the same to just book through a tour company on the island.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2011

I will keep it short. Although the Island is absolutely beautiful, this "trip" is not worth it. Everything you read is not what you will get.

To us the most interesting part was the waterfalls and botanical garden, none of that happen. Our trip was spent in the catamaran for the most part, after a rush 10 min talk of the "walk in valcano", 15 min rushed plantation talk and 15 super rushed 15 lunch. This was not worth it!!!!!!!!!!

From USD $ 122.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2374CDS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message