• USD ($)
  • English

5 star rating: Highly Recommended 48 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: St Maarten (St Martin)
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Day Trip to the Island of Prickly Pear from St. Martin. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 48 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

The crew of the Lambada was professional and friendly. I did several trips through the group that runs this trip and did notice one constant in all the trips. They listed departure time is actually an hour before the boat is actually expected to depart. For trips that leave St. Maarten this is due to port and immigration issues that need to be addressed before the boat leaves so bring some entertainment and be prepared to wait. Prickly Pear is gorgeous and I loved going. I actually ended up snorkeling off that reef twice during my stay. Anyone considering this trip should be aware that there is a current in the area and it can be very strong. I was there a month after a hurricane and was told that there were fewer fish than normal but I still saw large schools of fish and even got to swim with a sea turtle at one point. For non-swimmers there is a launch that will take you to shore, they bring bags over to the island the same way for people who choose to swim over. As a helpful hint you have found the dock if you see signs for Pelican Marina Residences. Finding the appropriate place to park for the marina is impossible without help. Either stop and ask any of the parking security guards at the gates or turn left into Hollywood casino, turn left at the next street and talk to the security guard at that booth. Parking is the top of a pretty long hill, and is free. If you can't walk hills, take a cab or if staying on the island see if the activities desk can get you on the shuttle to the dock that seems to stop at many of the resorts.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

The staff were amazing, very accommodating, and the trip was beautiful! The crew really knew how to make everyone happy and relaxed. I definitely recommend this to everyone!

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This was a beautiful island. The beaches were white sand and the water was gorgeous. There was snorkeling and the sailboat ride was wonderful. We did this at the end of the trip and if we did it in the beginning we would have done it again.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

We had a great time! The water was perfect and so was the weather! Not quite as much to do at the island but the staff had a great lunch prepared and the snorkeling was good! Best part was the interaction with the staff - they really made you feel welcome!

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Great trip to Prickly Pear. The crew was fantastic, lunch was delicious, and the ride on the Lambada was great. Snorkeling was so so.
For those who read the other reviews - the boat drops anchor a ways from shore. Those who snorkel can snorkel to the beach. For those who don't, they will ferry you and everyone's stuff to the beach in the dinghy - it takes a while as the dighy is not that big.
To summarize, my wife and I had a good time and would do it again.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Great time but snorkeling was not very good.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

Great trip. The reef was so close and the fish were vivid colors. Lunch was great and excessive! All in all one of our favorite things we did while in the island!

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

Great trip. The reef was so close and the fish were vivid colors. Lunch was great and excessive! All in all one of our favorite things we did while in the island!

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

Great trip. The reef was so close and the fish were vivid colors. Lunch was great and excessive! All in all one of our favorite things we did while in the island!

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

Great trip. The reef was so close and the fish were vivid colors. Lunch was great and excessive! All in all one of our favorite things we did while in the island!

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

Beautiful trip with great opportunity for gathering shells.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

Had a great time on this tour but again, Groupon adds nothing to the equation because you can get the same tour for the same price on the island and not be locked into a specific day.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2011

Great lunch, great crew - poor snorkeling due to heavy wave action and so-so reefs.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

Capt Pete and the crew were great. The weather was not the best in the morning but by the time we got to Prickly Pear it was great. They know the area well and made the trip a highlight of our vacation.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

A fun trip! Well worth the price for the day. Great food and beautiful views. Better than average snorkeling!

Special Offer
$114.99 Save $5.00

From USD $ 109.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3324PRPEAR

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message