4.5 star rating: Recommended 137 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Philipsburg, St Maarten
  • Duration:  4 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the St Maarten Shore Excursion: Island Sightseeing Tour from Philipsburg. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 137 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We had a grat tour. Our tour guide was terrific.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Our tour guide was Oscar (the grouch) but he was no grouch. He gave us an excellent tour with loads of information. Taking us to a beautiful beach and spending a lot of time at Maho Beach. Liked the the cooler on board with cold drinks!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The tour was amazing. Visited the places I wanted to see given that we only had a day here. Oscar was super friendly and knowledgeable. Highly recommend taking this tour, especially if coming off from a cruise ship!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was an excellent excursion. Lots of fun.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent tour guide/driver answered all questions very polite and well informed took us to all places on tour. I believe his name was Bert.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent tour and guide. Did not feel rushed. Good balance of sightseeing and time to stroll 2 beaches. Included beer, rum punch, bottled water and soft drinks much appreciated. Great overview of the island and all it has to offer!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The van in St Maarten was more comfortable and well air-conditioned compared to other islands. Our guide Burke gave many information about why this small island was separately governed and even fooled us with this uniqueness of the island by saying mid way we need a photo ID to cross the border.

We were being brought to Orient Bay which was known to be a nude beach. However, as we didn't listen carefully for the location, we missed seeing that part of the beach. While we wanted to sit at the beach lounge chairs close to where we were being dropped off, we were being told we had to pay. Given there was nowhere to sit for 'free', we stood under the shade of a tree as this stop was 45 minutes.

While we thought this tour was a waste of time without anything special, the last stop of 45 minutes at Princess Juliana International Airport was surely the highlight of all the Caribbean excursions. This airport was most well-known for low altitude flyover landing and approaches due to one end of its runway being extremely close to the shore and Maho Beach. We managed to shoot many pictures as there were about 6 planes landing at the airport when we were there. Most amazing were the landing of bigger planes and more than 80% of those on the beach were trying to shoot pictures instead of swimming. For myself and anyone who have seen the photos of this airport before, we could now say they were genuine and really spectacular. We were being told that once during a takeoff by a jumbo, over 70 cars were flipped due to the 4 strong engines of the jumbo. As an advice for whoever who has a chance to view the taking off of a jumbo airplane, make sure you grab all your belongings firmly. Otherwise, you will have difficulty finding them again

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Everything was awesome. Driver was very nice. Plenty of water, Soda, and rum punch.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fabulous tour worth every penny

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent! Our driver and tour guide Oscar was professional, informative, and nice. We love all the rum punch, sodas, and water. The tour stops were fun(beach, Maho airport, and the great photo stops) Oscar and Amigo Tours was excellent!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Very good tour. We got to know a lot about the island and people.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

It was awesome! The tour guide was very knowledgeable and answers all the questions my group had. I would highly recommend it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

great

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Burt was really a great tour guide! We had a bus all to ourselves and the cold ice water, beer, and rum was perfect for the hot and humid weather. He was very knowledgable about the island and I really learned a lot from him. I highly recommend this tour and thank you Burt for the great time we had!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Met up with tour guide Bert at info desk right next to where the Allure docked, it was a small tour group with four of us and one other lady. We toured the island in a comfortable air-conditioned van, and Bert provided unlimited chilled bottled water and juices in the cooler. We arrived at the beautiful Orient Beach first, we rented 2 lounge chairs under umbrella by the water and wife got a leg massage with aloe from a local right on the chair. We stayed for 45 minutes at the beach but wished it could've been longer. Unfortunately when we got to the next stop, Marigot, it was pouring down rain, so we weren't able to explore the town too much, but we did have tasty macarons at a French bakery there. Our final stop was at Maho Beach. It was a very small beach but we were there to see the planes take off and land @ the 4th most dangerous airport in the world! It was an awesome experience and something you don't see everyday. We got back to ship in plenty of time. Bert was courteous, funny, full of knowledge about history of this island, we highly recommend Bert and this tour. St. Maarten is a beautiful island, I wish we can go back again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Bert was our guide and was easy to find at the information booth. Bert was very friendly and very knowledgeable about the island. This tour gives you a chance to see a great deal of the island. The only drawback is because you get to see so much of the island, some of the stops could have been longer, however I realize you can only fit so much in with the tour time frame. I would recommend Bert and the tour for a great chance to see the island.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great ! Our tour guide was excellent!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great time with what turned out to be a semiprivate tour for our family and one other couple. Oscar was very knowledgeable, always ensuring our comfort and helping us to learn about the Island and its history. Our 19 and 18 yr old young man stayed engaged and interested, no small feat. Enough time during the stops and at same time, not too much time so that the tour kept moving. Van was clean, comfortable and well provisioned. Clearly, well run and well worth the time and value. Still left time at end of our tour for local shopping as desired.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

My family had a wonderful time with Bert on our island tour of Sr Maarten. The vehicle was air conditioned and there was plenty of room for everyone. All kinds of soda, beer, rum punch, and water were available. We couldn't of asked for a better guide and driver. Don't hesitate to tour with Bert. We went to all the places listed in the shore excursion description.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a great way to visit several key places on one trip. The places that I really wanted to visit were Marigot and Maho Beach. Not only did we go to both places, I was thrilled with the unexpected stop at Orient Beach. My family would love to spend more time there, jet skiing and paddle boarding. $10 for the use of two very comfortable padded beach chairs and umbrella was a steal! Bert and Oscar were a great team. Bert (owner of the tour company) was full of information about St Martin / St Maarten and presented it in a way to keep the interest of his passengers. The bus was a very nice small bus with awesome A/C! Unlimited bottled water, soft drinks, rum punch was also a nice touch. Loved that it was a small group (14 people). Highly recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Highly recommend! Our guide Rose was amazing and the guava berry rum punch was super yummy!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

All we had read about Bert is true! He is a wonderful tour guide, with colorful and cheerful details about both sides of St. Maarten! We really appreciated his historical information, mixed in with recent anecdotes about this beautiful area. And the cooler filled with chilled soft drinks and water was a big hit with the warm temperatures that day! We will be sure to tell all of our cruising friends about this great tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great photo ops. Bert the tour guide was fantastic and knew everything about the island. Maho Beach is a must do to see planes land/take off. You will get jet blasted but it was so much fun. Food was great too!! Viator you are the best with selecting these tours!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Our tour guide was Burt and this is an excellent tour. This tour takes you to the most beautiful beaches and scenic sites. Maho beach was the best with the planes coming in right over your head. Bert gives you a very good narration of the history of the island and explains all the sights as you come to them. The scenery is picture perfect. I would highly recommend this tour to everyone

Special Offer
$43.99 Save $4.00

From USD $ 39.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5755PRTSXMHOO1

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message