4.5 star rating: Recommended 80 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: St. Petersburg, Russian Federation
  • Duration:  4-hour Pushkin tour5-hour Pushkin and Pavlovsk tour

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Tour of Pushkin (Tsarskoye Selo) and Catherine Palace. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 80 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Lida provided an excellent tour of Puskin and Catherine's Palace. Since it is about a one-hour drive from St. Peterburg, she pointed out key monuments and areas along the way to maximize our understanding of the area. Good command of English.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

I could visit both of Catherine Palace and Pavlovsk in Pushkin. It was great experience for me and I enjoyed very much.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

tour was great

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Our guide was great... even got us in early and because of this, nearly every room was empty (except for the Amber room) which made the experience very cool.
The weather was pretty bad, and threatening to ruin our walk around the grounds... the guide suggested that we could do another palace if this was the case... but then told us the full price of it... Seemed a little tacky to say, "walk around in the rain or Shell out an additional 70 bucks." The second tour was offered at that price online, and all members of our group had opted to skip it... That being said... The Catherines Palace was fabulous.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Great tour and a most knowledgable guide. Our only complaint was that the seats in the minibus were very wet- from being cleaned we assume- and the back of my jeans were soaked through both trips there and back.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

We could have gone on this tour using public transportation. BUT...I am so happy that we booked through Viator. We were picked up at our hotel and driven to Pushkin and the Palace. Our guide led us through the "back door". There was no waiting in the long public lines. We definitely were on the less crowded tour of the palace. Much appreciated. Our guide was excellent with the narration of our tour. After the interior tour, we walked through the park surrounding the palace. I was expecting to walk around the town of Pushkin...but, we did not. I must have misunderstood the tour description. Palace and grounds were beautiful!

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Good trip,nice company, excellent guide.Effort has been made to timely pick up and drop off tourists from all over the city.Overall, very good.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Our guide was very good and told us much about the places we visited but we were disappointed in not having more time to visit the grounds. I think that this is the biggest complaint of other reviewers and Viator should lengthen their tours by at least 30 minutes.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Was good.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

The tour was great! Our guide was very informative and spoke very good English. She took us through every room giving us the history down to the age of the wooden floor in some rooms! The amber room was magnificent along with the rest of the palace. Only thing is I don't think it was worth 285 USD.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

Interesting place to go

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Was a great experience and wonderfull time spend at this tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

I liked the explanations given by the guide about the Russian History and the other people of the group.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

We enjoyed this tour. The girl was quite good and went out of her way to help us. There were times that I would have appreciated a break to buy a book or post card. It was a bit rushed.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

Great experience. Everything turned out as planned. Outstanding punctuality and efficiency. The agency called twice to our hotel to confirm the event and to announce pick up time. The guide, a russian young girl who spoke perfect English, was very nice, pacient and knew everything about history and facts. The best of all: In a private tour you could avoid all waiting lines. The tourists crowd was huge and our previous reservation made a complete diference saving time. There were lines of people waiting for hours to buy ticketes. I will definitely recommend the tour, specially to mature couples like us. The addition of Pavlov Palace to the trip was a plus. I only regret not having the possibility to visit Alexander Palace, next to CatherineĀ“s. Could not find it in your offers...and it was just next door to the main attraction. It might be a nice idea to include it in your tours because it is not easy to get to it individually. I will certainlly come back to Viator in our next planning. Thanks.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

transportation made the trip out of central St. Petersburg a breeze. Okasana the trip was very nice and knowledgable. Only wish there had been a little more time because we are also professional photographers. There was no time for the gift shop. The day was great though.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

Great tour with our fantastic guide Okchana. Would suggest to only do Catherine Palace. The other people on our tour stayed at Catherine Palace while we went on to the Pushkin. Would have preferred to walk around the gardens for the extra hour. Otherwise a good tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

Excellent tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

really liked this trip. the tour guide picked us up directly from our hostel and spoke great english and was very polite and friendly. he was extremely knowledgeable and answered any questions. we didn't have to wait in any lines for longer then 2 minutes as our tour guide got us through. be prepared to wear paper covers over your shoes in catherine's palace!

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

It is not really private - there were some other people added to us.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

We left St P at 10.30 and visited Pavlosk first before Catherine's Palace. Pavlosk house is interesting though much more modest than other palaces. We had to queue at least 30 mins to get in the house. An hour to stroll the gardens afterwards would have been a nice option to have but we had to move on to Catherine's Palace straight away. This is a very busy location to visit. We got in after only a 30 minute queue at around 12.30. The sheer volume of visitors makes your time in each room limited. We did not have 'radio' headsets for the tour and so it was difficult to be close to the guide at all times. Given the crowds, headsets would have been helpful. Were we to do this again, we would have asked for a 9am start from the hotel and to do Pavlosk after - to see Catherine's Palace with fewer people. Perhaps even making your way back by train from Pavlosk if the time with the bus and guide was limited... Our guide... was knowledgeable if not so sympathetic or patient - and it would have helped to have radio headsets for her to communicate with us.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

We did this tour on a very busy day and had to wait at various stages to move through the palace - although the Amber room is quite something, one had to walk through it so quickly that you cannot really see it all and no pictures allowed inside! I visited Peterhof the day before and expected a bit more from this tour. Although our guide was quite knowledgeable, he did not share as much with us as the other tour guides. If I have to choose between Catherine Palace and Peterhof, I would choose Peterhof.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2012

This was an interesting tour and the palace at Tsarcoe Seloe (Pushkin) was wonderful. However, it was past lunch time when we set off again for the remainder of the tour with not even a break for a cup of coffee. Since the tour started at 10am and finished in the middle of the afternoon, everyone agreed that we should have had time for a snack. On the way back. we enquired about the price of the tour to Yusepov Palace the next day and Marie Rose rang us to say that it was 120 Euros each for the three hour tour. We declined saying that they were far too expensive. We did however take the tour the next day with a personal guide and chaffeur arranaged by the hotel consierge which cost 70 Euros each and was excellent.

Erica M
United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

The tour was well organised. The guide had a good knowledge and spoke excellent English. We were picked up at 10 and returned to the hotel at 2.30.

The Palace itself however was very disappointing. The rediculous Russin queing system simply doesn't work, only a few rooms of the palace were open, the Amber room is not spectacular and quite frankly the trip was not worth the expense. Spend your time in the Hermitage or Church of the Spilled Blood instead.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

We were met on-time by our tour guide and left the city for our tour of Pushkin and Catherine Palace. Our tour guide was very friendly, knowledgeable and eager to help us. However, as we approached our first destination, it was obvious that our driver did not know where to go. The driver and tour guide were frantically conversing in Russian, constantly making phone calls and driving in circles. We saw the same railroad station, intersections and buildings several times. There were even signs in both Russian and English which said "To the Palaces" marked with arrows, but the driver would turn in the opposite direction. Our tour guide explained to us that the driver had never done this route before and sincerely apologized to us fro the delay. We were not concerned or upset, as long as we would see what we had come there to see. After 45 minutes to an hour of driving in circles, we finally found the correct entrance to our first sight. Our tour guide was very nice to us, and knew extremely much about the history and architecture of the palaces we were visiting. However, we felt very rushed, as we had lost so much time because of the unfamiliarity of the driver with the area. We spent very little time outdoors in the park, even though it was on of the most beautiful days you could imagine weather-wise. When we went to the Catherine Palace, I told the guide that I had wanted to visit the Amber Room there for over 20 years. When we came to the Amber Room, there were quite a few people inside and it would require many minutes to really visit properly. However, after less than a minute our guide rushed us out of the room. Again, upon exiting the palace we spent little time outdoors. We were taken to the car and then brought back to our hotel. The entire trip lasted 4 1/2 hours instead of the advertized 5 hours. Also, at least 45 minutes was wasted by driving around Pushkin in circles. We loved our guide, but I was sorely disappointed by spending so little time in the Ambe

From USD $ 57.58

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3887TS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message