4.5 star rating: Recommended 94 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Stockholm, Sweden
  • Duration:  5 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Viking History Half-Day Tour from Stockholm. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 94 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Our guide Urban gave us a an exceptional private tour of the area around Stockholm, since we were the only ones booked. Our 6 hours turned into 8 hours as we had the chance to explore at a more leisurely pace. One of the highlights that we will long remember was going to a private farm and enjoying refreshments with the owner and learning about her life in rural Sweden. The Uppsala burial mounds and the old Uppsala Church at the site was another memorable part of the day. It was our favorite church in all of the ones we visited around the Baltic. At our stop in the beautiful very ancient town of Sigtuna we had over an hour to explore on our own and eat lunch in a flower filled patio. Then there were the runes and visiting so many sites where they stood, along the road sides, deep in the forest and up on a farmer's hill, We really got a deep sense of the history we were witnessing. This is one tour not to be misses!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

A unique opportunity to see the country side and visit the places once inhabited by the Vikings Tour was comprehensive and professionally conducted. The guide adds flavor to the tour speaking from the eyes of a local Stockholm inhabitant. Would recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

We are still on our trip. All has gone very smoothly with Viator tours. All cards, tours, hop on and off the bus, etc have been a great way to see each city and country we have been in. Due to my own miscalculation, I had a Copenhagen card for 72 hours and should have had one for 48 and one for 24. Is there anyway to comp us a 24 hour Copenhagen card? We will return there to Copenhagen on June 1st for one last day. Please let me know, and if yes, please email to the Juno address before June 1st. We will be in Helsinki May 30 and 31, returning to Copenhagen June 1 before returning home to the US on June 2nd. Thanks! I would recommend Viator to friends. I would use viator again!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

I was very pleased with the vast knowledge our driver had and the ground we covered in one day! I am still processing some of the information and hope to research a little more about the runes. I appreciated Yueben's theories on some issues which he clearly would state as his opinion. This tour gave me such an overview of the Vikings but also the trip provided an insight into how the Swedish towns and people live today. This was an extra bonus that I would not of gotten if we did not go to Sigtuna and Uppsala. Also my friend and I had an extra complication of time to catch our flight to Oslo. Our driver dropped us off at the Arlanda terminal which we were very grateful for and made our flight with a little time to spare.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

This was a great tour! We happened to take this tour on a rainy day (one of only a couple rainy days on our whole trip), but the weather made the tour even more dramatic. I highly recommend this tour!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Very interesting trip, only 2 of us with the drive/guide in a new Mercedes. Our guide Lars is very knowledgeble and has great humor sense! I learned a lot about the Viking people and their history that could help me clear all Hollywood myths! Beautiful landscapes and Lars stopped for us taking photos any time we asked. I just thought the introduction at each Viking ruin could be more brief so we could had time to visit the Viking museum in the excavation site in Upsala before closing time at 4 p.m. When I booked this tour via viator, there were only tour on Sunday and Monday but Lars told me his company offers this tour every day with free pick up and drop off at the place you request. Also I think this kind of tour is for people who interested in culture and histories and nature, so children or people who expect to see Viking ship or hollywood-styled Viking stories may feel it quite boring. For me, this my most favorite tour in Northern Europe and it worths every cent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Excellent trip and the tour guide was fantastic. We were also very pleased to see the beautiful countryside of Sweden.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

I recommend this tour, especially that I had the chance to be guided by an excellent person whose knowledge of Swedish history was fabulous, Mr. Martensson Per Gunnar Stefan.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Awesome! while i am no scholar, i know A LOT about norse mythology and viking history, yet there was really A LOT to learn on this trip! the guide was very knowledgable and friendly. If you're considering this, go ahead! you wont regret it! thanks again!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Loved it! Great seeing so much of the countryside and learned a great deal. Wonderful trip!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

No complaints at all. Our guide Lars was prompt, helpful, polite and very knowedgeable. We had considered hiring a car and visiting sites ourselves, but Lars took us to places which we would have never have found by ourselves. A good way to end a trip.
LynHoward

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Even on a rainy day, an enjoyable and informative tour. Good way to take in the countryside, see Sigtuna and Old Uppsala, have coffee and cake at a working farm, and of course view historic runes and churches. Out guide, Urban, is a good man - not only knowledgeable,
he mailed my cell phone which I left in the van to our hotel in Oslo at his own expense trusting me to reimburse him.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Great experience. I was nervous because I had not used Viator before but the process was simple. Make sure you call ahead to schedule a hotel pick-up. The tour was great.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Excellent tour operator and guide.
Memorable experience
Highly recommend

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Excellent tour with excellent guides!

From USD $ 157.67

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2962VIK

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message