• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 36 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Sydney, Australia
  • Duration:  13 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Canberra Explorer: Australia's Capital City Tour from Sydney. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 36 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Joanne S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

Was a great informative trip, a long day and plenty to see and do. Was explained that it was a snapshot, so wasn't disappointed when we had a time limit. Would highly recommend this to anyone who wants to see the main points of Canberra.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

It was a nice relaxed trip. A bit long, but John our driver stopped both en-route and on the return for a break. The first stop was at the Veteran's Memorial. There we met our local tour guide for the day who was very informative. This is one of the most spectacular monuments we have seen. It was impossible to see the entire facility in the 1.5 hours allotted, but it gave a good insight into the commitment of the men and women who fought for both Australia and in other conflicts around the world. The monument also has a restaurant that was rather expensive and not that good. If you plan on eating lunch that day, the monument is the only stop for food, with the exception of a bakery rest stop en-route to Canberra.
The second stop was the National Gallery of Art. This was a large collection of art from around the world with a nice assortment of Aboriginal contributions.
The third stop was the new Parliament Building. The Australians invested a lot of time and money into planning this large structure that houses both houses of the parliament. Since most legislative centers like Washington DC are housed in the original capitol buildings, it was interesting to see how the Australians have made this facility both modern and in keeping with the styles of the past. Following we drove by most of the embassies located close to the parliament.
The trip does consume one entire day, but well worth it. On the way back we stopped at the number one rated bakery in state. It was deserving of its honors.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

It was a very good trip. The driver was very informative. The guide at the Art gallery was very passionate and knowledge about artifacts and made the visit very interesting.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

My husband and I enjoyed this trip as we had never been to Canberra. The trip out and back took up the bulk of the day so tours were quite short though worth the visit. We really wanted to see the War Memorial and that didn't disappoint. Squeezed in a 30 minute stop at one of the Art Galleries, as not enough time, then to Parliament House. Totally agree with comments made by another recent visitor in March 2013. We are planning another trip to Canberra next year so this trip was well worth the time and money spent. Thanks also to our drive, Neil. Well done.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Awesome trip! The drive was great with breath-taking views across states. The city was magnificent. The view from Ainslie Mountain was speechless (literally because it was so cold.) The tour guides were very informative, very knowledgeable and very helpful. Many picture-snapping opportunities too, especially the beautiful Victorian and modern buildings, besides the obvious parliament! We loved it! Except for one little thing, we asked for pickup from a point stated in the itinerary, confirmed it with email, with the local tour agency, yet we were not picked up on the morning itself. If we didn't call on that morning, we would have been left behind.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Awesome trip! The drive was great with breath-taking views across states. The city was magnificent. The view from Ainslie Mountain was speechless (literally because it was so cold.) The tour guides were very informative, very knowledgeable and very helpful. Many picture-snapping opportunities too, especially the beautiful Victorian and modern buildings, besides the obvious parliament! We loved it! Except for one little thing, we asked for pickup from a point stated in the itinerary, confirmed it with email, with the local tour agency, yet we were not picked up on the morning itself. If we didn't call on that morning, we would have been left behind.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Amazing, I had a great time to Canberra (from Sydney). Loving the War Memorial and the Parliament House. As a designer working in Melbourne, I've seen lots of Art Gallery around Australia, so it was so great that the tour guide allowed me to go off and wandering around while others enjoyed their time in the Art Gallery. Although the trip is well-planned, I still find it quite flexible which allows us all to see more and do more. I enjoyed every moment on it.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

an excellent tour ,knowledgable driver and local guide for the war museum and the parliament building this is not to be missed. Also included a visit to the museum to view aboriginal art

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

High point was visiting a Parliament session and hearing debate on the eagerly awaited Oprah visit. Long bus trip was tiring but visit was very worthwhile

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2010

I enjoyed the trip but would have definitely liked more time at the war memorial. Due to the driver getting lost, we did not have the time there we should have had, and that was the place that interested me most.

AK J
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

Very well organised and friendly staff.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

The war memorial was stunning, unfortunately we did not have enough time to see all of it. I didn't go in with the tour guide as I didn't want to wait 30 minutes while people had lunch. Even with the 30 minutes extra I didn't quite manage to see the whole place. The national art gallery houses some great pieces of art, unfortunately again time was limited. Parliament house was the only tour I stayed with the guide. I was not impressed, found the tour dull. If you do want to go to Canberra then I would suggest an overnight or 3 day tour. There is more to see than these 3 places and worth taking your time over.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2013

This tour is interesting.

I really liked the fact it combines commentaries from both the driver and the local guide. Both are very pleasant to talk to and deal with, and definitely very knowledgeable. You can different perspectives of both the city and history.

Would have prefer the tour to included the meal or the morning tea it its pricing, but otherwise, no complaints.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2013

Driver was great but the tour was too rushed. Probably too much driving and a lot to squeeze in . Better to overnight in Canberra .

Suzanne
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2012

I was disappointed to be told that I could not be picked up at my hotel only to find that another guest staying at the Wentworth was .... the trip itself was good but not enough time to explore as much as i had hoped

From USD $ 161.39

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2230S11

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message