Insider's Guide to Sydney

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Viewing All 43 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Wuthipol U

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Amazing, I had a great time to Canberra (from Sydney). Loving the War Memorial and the Parliament House. As a designer working in Melbourne, I've seen lots of Art Gallery around Australia, so it was so great that the tour guide allowed me to go off and wandering around while others enjoyed their time in the Art Gallery. Although the trip is well-planned, I still find it quite flexible which allows us all to see more and do more. I enjoyed every moment on it.

lizzie

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

an excellent tour ,knowledgable driver and local guide for the war museum and the parliament building this is not to be missed. Also included a visit to the museum to view aboriginal art

DAVID J USA

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

High point was visiting a Parliament session and hearing debate on the eagerly awaited Oprah visit. Long bus trip was tiring but visit was very worthwhile

Errol S Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2010

I enjoyed the trip but would have definitely liked more time at the war memorial. Due to the driver getting lost, we did not have the time there we should have had, and that was the place that interested me most.

AK J Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

Very well organised and friendly staff.

MR LIP C Y

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

This tour was amazing!

Donald F

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

Unfortunately arrived in Canberra 40 mins late, probably due to severe overnight storm in Sydney. Local guide spent too long at memorial, so that we were unable to see any of the war museum (our main reason for tour). Did not have much time at the art gallery either, and saw very little. Parliament house tour was good. Needed a bigger coach. Ours was about a 28 seater and was full. It seemed to struggle with the load and probably was another reason we arrived so late.

Urs G Switzerland

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

At the first stop at a roadside gas station the driver told us to buy a sandwich, as there would be no place to get lunch. The cafe near the war memorial was under construction, but there proved to be a temporary replacement, where we could have gotten better food than a sandwich. Also, we didn't go to the National Museum, as mentioned in the viator description. The national Gallery however was interesting and the 90 years old guide at the houses of parliament was entertaining, to say the least.

Neeta L

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

The war memorial was stunning, unfortunately we did not have enough time to see all of it. I didn't go in with the tour guide as I didn't want to wait 30 minutes while people had lunch. Even with the 30 minutes extra I didn't quite manage to see the whole place. The national art gallery houses some great pieces of art, unfortunately again time was limited. Parliament house was the only tour I stayed with the guide. I was not impressed, found the tour dull. If you do want to go to Canberra then I would suggest an overnight or 3 day tour. There is more to see than these 3 places and worth taking your time over.

Victor L

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2013

This tour is interesting.

I really liked the fact it combines commentaries from both the driver and the local guide. Both are very pleasant to talk to and deal with, and definitely very knowledgeable. You can different perspectives of both the city and history.

Would have prefer the tour to included the meal or the morning tea it its pricing, but otherwise, no complaints.

cwaynelynch

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2013

Driver was great but the tour was too rushed. Probably too much driving and a lot to squeeze in . Better to overnight in Canberra .

Suzanne Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2012

I was disappointed to be told that I could not be picked up at my hotel only to find that another guest staying at the Wentworth was .... the trip itself was good but not enough time to explore as much as i had hoped

Barry H

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2011

Canberra is interesting but a long bus ride

rebafan99

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2010

Happy with bus driver but the tour guide, could have been a little less patronizing. The information at each exhibit could have been a little more condensed so that we could see more things. We felt very rushed, even at lunch. The food was good at the lunch stop but restaurant was slow and we weren't given a lot of time to eat.

Christina P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

The driver/guide was always on a rush.
Not much highlight, boring.
Canberra does not have much, but at least made it more exciting.

David G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2014

I wanted to see Canberra, since it was the only "state" in Australia that I hadn't been to. My wife thought the whole thing was boring, and in some ways she was right. Long trip (almost 3 hours by bus each way). We stopped at a pretty bad place for lunch (not included, we had to buy our own and the recommended place was really bad). Stops were at an overlook to see the whole city (nice), war museum, art center (pretty bad) and parliament (also boring since it wasn't in session).

On the way back we ate at MacDonald's. We live in the States and never eat at MacDonald's. That tells you what the food options were like. If you take this tour best to bring your own food!

Darryl S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2011

It was a nice trip however; we were behind from the start due to traffic. With this we were not given the time to eat once we got to Canberra. We should have spent more time at the Australian War Memorial as opposed to the Parliament House or National Museum. With our tour being late there was far too much rushing around. We did have to skip Mount Ainslie in order to save time. I would switch the cities around that we stopped at and make our first stop the city we rested in on the way back. There was a Subway Restaurant and a couple of other eateries where we could have picked something up in the morning since we were not able to eat in Canberra. Overall I enjoyed the trip but I would not do this itinerary again as is.

Dr M Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2008

We were hoping that you would cover the miniature village which we have heard a lot about.

Viewing 2 of 2

Page: Previous | 1 | 2

From USD $ 135.47

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2230S11

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message