4.5 star rating: Recommended 163 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location:Sydney, Australia
  • Duration:10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Best Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 163 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

Hunter Valley Tour was a blast, I loved the wine tasting and the pairings . The food they served with the wine was great. Well organized and the driver was very informative , an overnight stay in hunter Valley would be in my bucket list.

Zoe B
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

Great day, bus driver was very informative. Would definitely recommend.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

Great trip, the driver was from a different tour company but he gave us alot of information about the area that we were passing through. The winerys didn't give as much information as on the Melbourne tour but it was great to see the country side.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

Very nice trip to lovely country. Driver was very knowledgeable. Tasting at Lindeman's was pretty good, could have had more time after to wander about and check things out. Lunch was good.

Takeshi I
New Zealand

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

Good day out with an excellent driver / guide (Darryl) who happened to be a Kiwi working in Australia. Very knowledgeable about the surrounding areas and the wineries we went to. Lindemans was ok, McGuigans was excellent. Lunch at the Huinter Wine Centre was good although it would have been nice to see whether we could have included Tempus Two or the De Bortoli wineries as part of the trip as well. But a very good day on the whole.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2011

A very satisfactory day Thank you

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

Friendly and prompt coach service set the tone for this wonderful day which included three tastings and a great lunch. Good value.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

A very good tour with plenty of wine to taste and beautiful scenery. The tour guide/driver was first class and gave an excellent commentary. The only very minor criticism might be the lunch. There really wasn't enough on the serving plates for the number of people around the table. Overall, a very good value.

YUXI Z
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

it would be magnificent if we went there in Summer. But the tour guide was good.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

This was an extraordinarily LONG trip for someone flying 31 hours only 2 days before! Scenery on the way there is very nice, but it just makes the trip too long! We were extremely disappointed that we didn't get to go to McWilliams Winery as we had met 1 of the grandsons at a wine tasting here in SC. Lindenmann's was nice, but the wines weren't very good. The lunch was ok, but it was difficult to get to the food as some cultures apparently haven't learned the courtesy to pass the food. We were so tired, we had no interest in even tasting the wines at Oakvale. For a wine lover, it was a bit of a disappointing trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2009

It is certainly not Napa or Sonoma, but a good trip to see and appreciate the Australian countryside. For the record, we only went to 2 wineries - the summary says three. We don't count a place where one can buy wine as a winery. The Hunter Valley is far from Sydney, 2-2.5 hours, so bring something to read or listen to if you don't enjoy looking out the window for an extended amount of time. You must try the "Jungle Juice" at your first stop; it will be memorable. The lunch provided was extremely disappointing, which many in the group agreed on. Nevertheless, take this tour and enjoy the scenery, especially if you have never been on a tasting tour before. The basics of wine and wine tasting are introduced.

Nan M
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2009

Interesting, but the size of the group was a minus.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2009

It was a long trip from Sydney to the Hunter Valley, longer than I initially thought. But it was a good day out and I learnt a bit about the wines of the Hunter Valley.

Juha H
Finland

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2009

Nice experience with many good wineries and wine making.

Michael B
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2009

A lovely well organised trip with very pleasant staff in charge. Though we can't blame anyone, some people might find it a long day, especially taking into account the hotel pickups and drop-offs in the Sydney traffic. Had we known the geography better we probably would have preferred to walk to an RV as some of the distances were small - we did go round in circles in the coach!!

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2008

Enjoyed without question. It would have been better had the group been made up of people who really are interested in wines, history, the art of making wines and the decisions a wine maker must process in his/her mind. The group for the most part, although nice did not share a real desire to understand wine but were more interested in shopping or just the tastings.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2008

The 3 wineries we went to were nice but one of them told us the history of their winery that we missed out on some of the wine tasting because she was so long winded. The food served was extremely good and was worth the day's tour.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2007

A full day out! Great narration and stories from our very professional and personable driver and plentiful wine tastings. A little too long wandering Hunter Garden Village, but otherwise a perfect day in the Hunter!

Trevor H
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2007

Really lovely day, very interesting wine advice and scenery.

Isobel C
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2007

Great experience and plenty of time given at each stop to see the wineries.

Amanda H
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2007

What a great day out! Our driver was very funny and knowledgeable about the areas we were passing through, which made the long bus ride easier to handle. The first stop was at a cute little pub where a cold drink was well enjoyed. We spent plenty of time at each winery, and came home with a few bottles for later. The lunch was a lovely hot dinner with salad on the side, just the right amount at the right time. I have to say it was a long day, but well worth the effort.

Heather T
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2007

A good day for those that don't know much about wine; to discover how it is made, and where it comes from. Even more importantly you have the opportunity to taste a couple of really nice wines and enjoy some lovely scenery.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2007

Overall a good tour. I have to admit that I was hesitant about the large bus, but the bus was very comfortable and the tour is structured to allow many stops so that you do not have to spend too long on the bus. Of course the ride out to the Hunter Valley and back is a far distance, but nothing can be done about that. I tasted a lot of great wines and I was very impressed with the quality of the lunch. It was delicious! The stop at Hunter Valley Gardens was a great end to the day. I just wish the Hunter Valley wasn't so far.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2007

Great tour with plenty of time at the wineries. It was nice to have free time at the last stop at the Hunter Valley Gardens where we did a tasting at the Tempus Two cellar door. The only thing I would change is more time at the pub in Wollombi which was awesome.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2006

Overall, the tour was excellent. The lunch provided was more like a supper meal - very good. The last winery visited could have done a better job since it was done on your own rather than a scheduled stop like the first two.

From USD $ 132.16

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2230S14

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message