Insider's Guide to Sydney

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Viewing All 124 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

CJ V

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

Every thing went smooth, wonderful time, get seats

Lauren F

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

The experience was great. The performance "The Merry Widow" was just so-so.

DAMIR SIVCEVIC S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

It was a unique experience being inside opera house, and the performance, and the orchestra was very good and exciting. Overall definitely a very good experience.

justin w

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2011

\Great! Carmen, such a good opera, the Australian opera did it justice.

Michael N

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2011

A wonderful night - a fun and enjoyable performance - warm, barmy night with beautiful views - loved every moment. (originally going to climb bridge, the opera was a fr far better idea!!)

Adrianne V

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2011

I bought the tickets for my parents. They are still talking about the show two weeks later and are now going to book tickets to another opera.

Neila L

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2011

opera was wonderful. very expensive. Tickets there were less.

Eira P

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

Very straightforward ticketing procedure. Fantastic production. Fabulous Sydney experience.

Jeff M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

Good seats, better than Oz Opera had available at a cheaper rate. Opera was a quality Oz Opera performance... in an iconic setting.

CARMEN MM F

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

It was an awesome performance and the front of house staff was excellent. They were able to find me new seat when my allergies were seriously affected by the person sitting next to me. My new seat was more central. I really appreciated the service. it was pleasure to experience the Sydney Opera House.

Laksmi H Indonesia

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

My daughter and I didn't have to queue. No body could give give us information exactly how long the opera would take place. It was a great opera performance, beautiful but sometimes it's funny.

Bobbie S USA

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2009

Madame Butterfly was a wonderful experience. The tickets were at the box office and we had excellent seats! We were disappointed that we were not able to see the other concert halls.

Sarah H

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

Wasn't the show for me, but the experience of being there was good

Leslie J

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

I loved the opera house, even though the actual auditorium was not what I expected: something a little more plush at nearly $300 a seat! The performance was a little disappointing. The use of silences was cleaver - added to the overall effect, but the great arias did not thrill me as they usually do

Evita

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

A must go place if you are first time traveller

Joan B

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2013

You should provide seats which enable the surtitles to be seen !

pinky Malaysia

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2013

It is an experience that gave me a real opera experience ... the actors are really good, and their voices are quite fantastic to hear. The only disappointment was that there was no translation to the Italian (I believe that was the language used..lol...) songs. :(

Nancy L

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2013

Great singing!! The bad part was that when booking C- Circle section with Viator at a total cost of $116 there was NO MENTION of NOT being able to see the translation box (it sits above the stage and translates from Italian to English). Unfortunately, one cannot see the translations past row V and I was placed in row W. This information should be added to Viator for people like me who have come a very long way to see the show and spent the first half of La Boheme with my head crooked on my lap trying to see up to the translator box. Fortunately, the house was not full, and when I approached the management at intermission, they gave me a closer seat where I could clearly see the translations and I was able to enjoy the Opera sitting up straight!! The inside of the Opera House was not as grand as I had thought it would be, but the overal experience was - a once in a lifetime!!

AP Canada

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2012

This was advertised as being at the Opera House but turned out to be on the harbour. ALthough the performance was excellent, we were disappointed in not being able to see the inside of the Opera House and we were totally unprepared for the cold weather of an outdoor performance. I was very disappointed in Viator's misleading online presentation.

Stuart d

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

Great individual performances. The orchestra was delightful. But hot! We were in the nosebleeds, and I was close to fainting just before the intermission. Other than that a memorable experience.
Thank you

colleen f

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2013

We purchased tickets to the South Pacific. The performance was poor.

cocosweet

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2011

although obvious professionals, I was hoping for a tenor voice and it was a baritone. Simplistic staging. Wanted seats on the floor and could have had them if I had gone directly through the Opera House...will do that next time

Patsy G

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2016

They had no record of my having purchased tickets for this performance through Viator. It was good that I had the receipt from the online purchase and they honored it and found us some seats. It was frustrating and embarassing.

John C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2012

As I have never seen a live performance of an opera in my seventy two years and my wife and I were staying a few days in Sydney I decided to take my wife to see The Magic Flute in one of the world's most iconic opera houses. We booked seats through Viator over the Internet and collected our tickets at the Sydney Opera House an hour before the performance was due to start all without a hitch.

The music for The Magic Flute was written by Mozart and first performed in 1791 in Vienna and is to all intents and purposes a pantomime about a prince who fainted when he saw a serpent, three ladies "in the service of the night" who saved the prince from the serpent, a bird catcher who said that it was he who saved the prince and a princess who had been enslaved by an evil sorcerer. I won't go into the plot in detail other than to say as you may have guessed the prince sets out with the bird catcher to rescue the princess who he has fallen hopelessly in love with after seeing a portrait of her supplied by the three ladies of the night.

From what I have read there was a politico/satirical purpose to the the writing of the Magic Flute as both Mozart and Emanuel Schikaneder who wrote the words were both members of the same Masonic lodge and Masons had been persecuted by the Empress Maria Theresa before the Magic Flute was written.

The Magic Flute was directed by Julie Taymor, director of Disney’s The Lion King and we had high hopes that the opera would be a memorable performance and indeed it was but none of them were good. That said the singing and acting were good, the lyrics and the music were, however, instantly forgettable.

I know nothing about what goes into producing an opera but I am sure I could have done a better job than this production.

In the synopsis of the Magic Flute in musicwithease.com, the opening sentence says, "The libretto to "The Magic Flute" is considered such a jumble of nonsense that it is as well to endeavour to extract some sense from it" which the synopsis then goes on to do. In the synopsis I learned that the time line for the opera was Egypt, about the reign of Rameses I and the place was near and at the Temple of Isis, Memphis something that I would not have guessed from the rather dull and boring costumes and the the stage settings that varied from the quirky, a large transparent cube with a hole in it to a rather odd and not very convincing temple.

The animations, a flying serpent, various birds and some huge mythical creatures with the body of a bear and the head of a wolf were done I would guess in much the same way that they were done in 1791. The animations were suspended on poles held by a number of people all dressed in black and with blacked out faces. The trouble was that as the stage was taken up by the aforementioned plastic, illuminated cube you could see the animators as they walked about the stage in front of the cube.

To sum up, poor continuity combined with non existent story telling, bad costumes and silly stage sets not to mention dull music and boring lyrics all contributed to a disappointing evening. In fairness however, the vast majority of the audience did seem to enjoy it, there were even cries of, "more" by a masochistic few.

Viewing 5 of 5

Page: Previous | 3 | 4 | 5

From USD $ 43.64

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2554SYDLBO

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message