4 star rating: Recommended 85 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Sydney, Australia
  • Duration:  11 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Port Stephens Day Trip with Dolphin Watching, Sandboarding and Australian Wildlife. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 85 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

Awesome tour. Didnt see but one dolphin however the trip to the sand dunes and the sand surfing afterwards was fun.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

The guide was very informative! He started talking in Sydney and basically didn't stop until we got to the zoo; the same during later trips. Only on the way back you're going to want to have a magazine of mp3 player. The zoo is awesome and you can touch a koala (for free)! The dolphins took a long time to find during our tour, but we finally found them and they too are amazing. Sand boarding is fun once or twice but after that I decided to just watch other people fall off their boards. Very good tour, I definitely recommend it. Oh, right, don't go for the lunch as there are many restaurants available at the harbor

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

Good trip. Coach was fine and knowledge of driver was very good. Another passenger took ill whilst travelling and driver was excellent (as where rest of passengers) whilst waiting for ambulance. Driver ensured that we all still experienced every bit of our trip. Dolphins were fabulous. Did not realise that we would need swimsuits for ride in boom net though and 4wd is only to a point where you can sand board - it is not 'Dune bashing' as we thought. It was a really great day though and would definitely reccomend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

It was all excellent!! Really great! We had a very nice day at Port Stephens. The trip was very interesting and the bus driver gave us a very good explanation of all the places we were visiting.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

the trip was absolutely enjoyable. the day was fully well planned without any rush. all of my family members loved it as well as myself! thank you Viator!

HSUN-JEN H
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Excellent and well planned trip with the APT tour group. The guidedriver was excellent and very friendly. Would definitely recommend it to everyone

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

This tour was exceptional compared to tours I have taken with other companies. The driver was helpful, professiona, and curtious while the tour bus was spacious and clean. There was a lot to see and do on this tour, which made for a fun, but full day. I found it was an exceptional value for what all you got for your money and would highly recommend this trip to others!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

A very pleasant and nicely paced day trip. The dolphins were there, the sand dunes were there. Lovely!

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Great fun and the weather was awesome!

Rachel T
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2009

My partner and I had a fantastic time with the 4WD experience. To top it up we had sand boarding, which was the highlight of our trip. I wish we could sand board the whole day -- that's how much we enjoyed it. The only downer of the trip was the reptile park tour. We did not have any tour guide to walk us around and to give us an educational tour. Overall it was fun. Is there any separate 4WD only trip? We really did enjoy the sand boarding. By the way, Port Stephens is a very nice place. I love it everytime we visit the place!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

We visited the Reptile Park on our way to Port Stephens and got to touch a koala and feed wallabies and kangaroos. It was a lot of fun. Don't forget to take suntan lotion for the dolphin cruise. But possibly the funnest part of the trip is at the end as you get to sandboard in large dunes. I laughed, don't know if of anxiety or excitement, all the way down the dunes. You've got to try this one! Since we went in winter time, the sand felt nice and cool to the touch and we could take off our shoes. Remember it will be the opposite and rather hot in summer time - just something to consider.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Beautiful port and really can spot the Dolphins! Though they are abit far so you need a long lens for photography. Got a chance to touch koala and kangaroo! Sand boarding is tiring because of the climb each time but the view is great for photos :) worth for the price and good way to spend a day~

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Our tour day was unfortunately a rather grey and rainy day, with strong winds that made the dolphin watching excursion not as enjoyable as it could have been. We did see a few, but it was a choppy ride to get there! Our favourite part was by far the Reptile Zoo, which is kind of misleading by name. We absolutely loved being able to feed the kangaroos! Incredibly, this also includes being able to pet and take photos with koalas. Such a treat.
The kids had a blast on the 4WD excursion and loved sand surfing.
Be sure to have your phone charged - there is free wifi on the bus, and you spend at least 4 hours on it.
Overall, a great trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

This tour was great! I recommend getting a spot on the rail on the bow before all the spots are gone. The dolphins love to swim in front of the boat as its moving which makes for a great sight. Also, the buffet was very crowded, I would suggest to just go without the buffet option.

Michael F
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

An enjoyable but rather long day. The included lunch was not that good and the organisation could have been better. We certainly saw the dolphins from the top deck of the boat but were a little disappointed that the commentary but the crew could not be heard on the open top deck.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

It was a wonderful trip for my family. They will remember it for long time. Specially sliding down the sand dunes was terrific. All of the excitement in a day.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

It was a lot of fun going down the sand dooms and watching dolphins.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Excellent trip. reptile park not that great. Buffet lunch average. sand boarding and dolphin watch were definitely the highlights. Overall excellent day out packed with activity. Real value for money!

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Very pleasant day - introduced me to different landscape -

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Enjoy the sand boarding much

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

no time for shopping

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

We had a wonderful day, up to our expectation.
Appreciate the professional attitude of personnel.
Fausto

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

Excellent tour well put together. Timelines very well managed by the driver. As an extra bonus saw a number of dolphins.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Great Trip! We saw little Tasmanian devil babies, alligators, platypus and we fed wallabies. Our tour guide was very informative and interesting. He even told us about differences in making wine in Australia and France when we drove close to Hunter Valley region. We had 1 hour for lunch in Port Stephens so we went for a quick swim as well. We had beautiful views from the boat and had great fun doing Sand boarding. We didn't really see much Stockton Bight beach from 4WD because we were Sand boarding the whole time there.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

Fabulous food on the boat. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Was disappointed we had to swim a ways from the beach out to the reef. Not easy if you're out of shape.

From USD $ 147.52

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2230S37

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message