4.5 star rating: Recommended 64 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Sydney, Australia
  • Duration:  11 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Port Stephens Day Trip with Dolphin Watching, Sandboarding and Australian Wildlife. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 64 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

Great tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

The day was great. We finally had sunshine! I did fall on the bus and have a hemotoma on my knee. I am getting better but will take time. We did not do the 4WD part because of my injury and we had lost our camera on the boat. Due to the exceptional service provided by the bus driver James, we did retrieve our camera through the tour bus company on the following Monday. That was a great blessing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

Awesome tour. Didnt see but one dolphin however the trip to the sand dunes and the sand surfing afterwards was fun.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

The guide was very informative! He started talking in Sydney and basically didn't stop until we got to the zoo; the same during later trips. Only on the way back you're going to want to have a magazine of mp3 player. The zoo is awesome and you can touch a koala (for free)! The dolphins took a long time to find during our tour, but we finally found them and they too are amazing. Sand boarding is fun once or twice but after that I decided to just watch other people fall off their boards. Very good tour, I definitely recommend it. Oh, right, don't go for the lunch as there are many restaurants available at the harbor

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

Good trip. Coach was fine and knowledge of driver was very good. Another passenger took ill whilst travelling and driver was excellent (as where rest of passengers) whilst waiting for ambulance. Driver ensured that we all still experienced every bit of our trip. Dolphins were fabulous. Did not realise that we would need swimsuits for ride in boom net though and 4wd is only to a point where you can sand board - it is not 'Dune bashing' as we thought. It was a really great day though and would definitely reccomend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

It was all excellent!! Really great! We had a very nice day at Port Stephens. The trip was very interesting and the bus driver gave us a very good explanation of all the places we were visiting.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

the trip was absolutely enjoyable. the day was fully well planned without any rush. all of my family members loved it as well as myself! thank you Viator!

HSUN-JEN H
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Excellent and well planned trip with the APT tour group. The guidedriver was excellent and very friendly. Would definitely recommend it to everyone

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

This tour was exceptional compared to tours I have taken with other companies. The driver was helpful, professiona, and curtious while the tour bus was spacious and clean. There was a lot to see and do on this tour, which made for a fun, but full day. I found it was an exceptional value for what all you got for your money and would highly recommend this trip to others!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

A very pleasant and nicely paced day trip. The dolphins were there, the sand dunes were there. Lovely!

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Great fun and the weather was awesome!

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2009

My partner and I had a fantastic time with the 4WD experience. To top it up we had sand boarding, which was the highlight of our trip. I wish we could sand board the whole day -- that's how much we enjoyed it. The only downer of the trip was the reptile park tour. We did not have any tour guide to walk us around and to give us an educational tour. Overall it was fun. Is there any separate 4WD only trip? We really did enjoy the sand boarding. By the way, Port Stephens is a very nice place. I love it everytime we visit the place!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

We visited the Reptile Park on our way to Port Stephens and got to touch a koala and feed wallabies and kangaroos. It was a lot of fun. Don't forget to take suntan lotion for the dolphin cruise. But possibly the funnest part of the trip is at the end as you get to sandboard in large dunes. I laughed, don't know if of anxiety or excitement, all the way down the dunes. You've got to try this one! Since we went in winter time, the sand felt nice and cool to the touch and we could take off our shoes. Remember it will be the opposite and rather hot in summer time - just something to consider.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

It was a lot of fun going down the sand dooms and watching dolphins.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Excellent trip. reptile park not that great. Buffet lunch average. sand boarding and dolphin watch were definitely the highlights. Overall excellent day out packed with activity. Real value for money!

Special Offer
$169.72 Save $84.86

From USD $ 84.86

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2230S37

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message