5 star rating: Highly Recommended 79 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Sydney, Australia
  • Duration:  2 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Sydney Opera House Guided Backstage Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 79 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Our guided Opera House Backstage Tour was marvelous. We had a wonderful guide
who was very familiar with the Opera House and all areas of the "house". She was very informative and extremely friendly from the moment we arrived until breakfast was over in the "green room". All four of us enjoyed it very much and would recommend this tour to everyone.
The Opera House guide was waiting for us with personalized name tags which became our momentos to take home. The tour consisted of only 6 adults so it was
very personal. Thank you Viator for making our reservations/preparations.
Nancy Der Manuel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

such a nice experience. perfect guided tour. try to see a performance in the evening as well.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

The tour was really worth the early start, loved it

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Brilliant tour, brilliant lady guide, thoroughly enjoyed it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Loved this tour. Well worth getting up early in the morning for. It is amazing to see the 'inside' of such a beautiful iconic building. Our guide was first rate and gave our group all sorts of information including the origin of many sayings of the theater. I highly recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Tour and breakfast was over the top wonderful. Would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Sydney. It was a highlight of our trip.
Sally and Leo Wozniak, AZ

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

This tour company is fantastic!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Ann, our tour guide was great. She made a point of learning all our names and finding out a bit about us all. She made sure we all got the best out of the tour, getting us involved by taking turns pretending to conduct, and 'perform' on stage. Good fun and very informative without having the feeling of a school trip. It was fantastic to see behind the scenes and find out about the history of the building and what makes it tick. I can thoroughly recommend this tour. Breakfast at the end in the green room was a nice way to round off the tour and give us a chance to reflect on what we had seen.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Absolutely brilliant. Well worth cost + early rise!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

Fantastic experience - our guide was excellent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

see the side that most people don't - highly recommended and very informative

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

Needed better lighting!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

>Really the best way to get the full flavor of the Opera House!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

a really enjoyable experience and a bumper brekki. well worth the effort.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed the tour. Our guide Liane was very profesional and friendly. The small group size is perfect. Breakfast was delicious. Facinating views of backstage.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

This tour was the highlight of our Sydney tours. The guide was the very best and extremely knowledgeable. It could not have been better, highly recommend it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

I wasn't feeling well that day and had to spend most of the tour time in the Green Room. But toward the end, our tour guide took me through some of the theatres so I could catch up on what I missed. Tour was great and so was he!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

A MUST DO.... wow excellent tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

Fabulous behind the scenes look at the opera house that cannot be seen any other way. Well done tour with lots of insider information about the opera house.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

This was an excellent tour! The tour guide was very knowledgeable and went out of her way to make sure that everyone got the photos they wanted and their questions answered. The backstage tour takes you to areas that the average person would never had the opportunity to see. I would recommend it to anyone who wants to see the real workings of this famous opera house.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

The Opera House backstage tour is interesting and enjoyable. Our tour guide was friendly and fun and we learned much about the inner workings of productions. I would recommend the tour even to people who are not opera buffs. There is something here for everyone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

Excellent tour! Our tour guide was wonderful and very passionate about the work he does. We learned so much about the behind the scenes on a typical day at the Opera House. There were certain areas that we could take photos, although not all areas were available for photos. We did get to take photos of each other standing on the conductor's platform ready to direct an "orchestra!" The breakfast was good. We could choose from continental, "healthy breakfast with fruits," or a full Aussie breakfast. The venue or breakfast room was average similar to a cafeteria but the food was good and the guide sat at our table to continue to answer any questions.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

I am an amateur theatre buff and this was the most exciting tour I could imagine. The guide was great, being photographed at the director's podium and visiting all five theatres blew my mind. We finished the tour, enjoyed the free breakfast and went to the box office where we snared two tickets for our very first Opera LaTraviata that night. I am slightly disabled and along with other disabled Americans on this Princess Cruisetour, found it difficult climbing the steps to our seats. They really need elevators to all levels like American venues.

Richard J
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

Very knowledgeable & enthusiastic guide who enabled us to understand the whole process of theatre production, props, scene changes, dressing rooms, lighting etc. Inspired us to go back and see the opera that evening which was wonderful.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Splendid...just what you have written and more. So wonderful, and our guide was simply a lovely, lovely lady.

From USD $ 128.47

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2482SOH2

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message