5 star rating: Highly Recommended 71 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Sydney, Australia
  • Duration:  2 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Sydney Opera House Guided Backstage Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 71 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

a really enjoyable experience and a bumper brekki. well worth the effort.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed the tour. Our guide Liane was very profesional and friendly. The small group size is perfect. Breakfast was delicious. Facinating views of backstage.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

This tour was the highlight of our Sydney tours. The guide was the very best and extremely knowledgeable. It could not have been better, highly recommend it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

I wasn't feeling well that day and had to spend most of the tour time in the Green Room. But toward the end, our tour guide took me through some of the theatres so I could catch up on what I missed. Tour was great and so was he!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

A MUST DO.... wow excellent tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

Fabulous behind the scenes look at the opera house that cannot be seen any other way. Well done tour with lots of insider information about the opera house.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

This was an excellent tour! The tour guide was very knowledgeable and went out of her way to make sure that everyone got the photos they wanted and their questions answered. The backstage tour takes you to areas that the average person would never had the opportunity to see. I would recommend it to anyone who wants to see the real workings of this famous opera house.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

The Opera House backstage tour is interesting and enjoyable. Our tour guide was friendly and fun and we learned much about the inner workings of productions. I would recommend the tour even to people who are not opera buffs. There is something here for everyone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

Excellent tour! Our tour guide was wonderful and very passionate about the work he does. We learned so much about the behind the scenes on a typical day at the Opera House. There were certain areas that we could take photos, although not all areas were available for photos. We did get to take photos of each other standing on the conductor's platform ready to direct an "orchestra!" The breakfast was good. We could choose from continental, "healthy breakfast with fruits," or a full Aussie breakfast. The venue or breakfast room was average similar to a cafeteria but the food was good and the guide sat at our table to continue to answer any questions.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

I am an amateur theatre buff and this was the most exciting tour I could imagine. The guide was great, being photographed at the director's podium and visiting all five theatres blew my mind. We finished the tour, enjoyed the free breakfast and went to the box office where we snared two tickets for our very first Opera LaTraviata that night. I am slightly disabled and along with other disabled Americans on this Princess Cruisetour, found it difficult climbing the steps to our seats. They really need elevators to all levels like American venues.

Richard J
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

Very knowledgeable & enthusiastic guide who enabled us to understand the whole process of theatre production, props, scene changes, dressing rooms, lighting etc. Inspired us to go back and see the opera that evening which was wonderful.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Splendid...just what you have written and more. So wonderful, and our guide was simply a lovely, lovely lady.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

This was quite enjoyable! Getting to go on stage at each of the large venues in the Opera House and getting breakfast at the end in the green room was pretty cool! The guide is quite knowledgeable regarding the Opera House itself as well. If you are looking for a unique experience, this is one I'd recommend.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

A delightful guide and the breakfast was scrumptious.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Very personal tour with a great guide who added a lot with his fun personality.

From USD $ 138.14

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2482SOH2

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message