• USD ($)
  • English

5 star rating: Highly Recommended 68 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Sydney, Australia
  • Duration:  2 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Sydney Opera House Guided Backstage Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 68 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

This is an absolutely incredible tour! The tour starts very early, but we were treated like VIPs from the moment we walked through the Stage Door of the Sydney Opera House. Our tour guide was so cheerful and informative that the tour was enjoyable from start to finish. We got to see the multiple different concert halls, we were able to stand on stage, and were taken to many places that the general public never gets to see! And the breakfast at the end of the tour in the Green Room was fantastic! I would recommend this tour to anyone who visits Sydney and has an interest in the Sydney Opera House!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2008

Interesting, informative and exciting. We loved it. It was quite a thrill being in the orchestra pit. It was a nice complement to the regular Opera Tour because it covered different information.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Our tour guide was amazing. This was worth getting up early for but it does not standalone. I highly recommend taking the essentials tour right after the backstage to get the full experience.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Our guide was amazingly well informed. She was also unbelievably kind because I made a huge mistake and booked the tour for one day before we arrived in Sydney. I got mixed up on the date line issues and our guide let us join the tour the next day and made us feel comfortable as well.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This was a great tour and worth doing! Our tour guide was amazing and knew everything. This tour DOES NOT go into the making or building of the Opera House and I heard there is a 3-hour tour that includes the cultural and architectural aspects of this building which would have been the best of both worlds! You will NOT be disappointed with this tour and breakfast was actually good!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2007

This tour was great, mostly because the wonderful guide. I'm not a theater guru, but I enjoyed seeing behind the scenes how things work and some of the sets used for different shows. It all looks so fake close up! It's a once in a lifetime opportunity to go somewhere iconic such as the Sydney Opera House and get a behind the scenes look. It's nice that you go early in the morning on the only tour, so there are no crowds.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2007

This was a very interesting tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2007

We loved it! The tour was totally fascinating. We had an awesome and knowledgeable guide. Just a tip - don't lean on the walls. Some of them are greasy, and we got our jackets dirty. The tour was well worth the cost!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2007

This is a must do trip, just great.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2007

The tour guide we had was wonderful. She knew so much about the opera house. It was a great tour!

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2006

For anyone who enjoys theater, this tour is an absolute must. Our tour guide was an opera aficionado who delivered informative and downright delightful tales of life behind the scenes at the Sydney Opera House. We were guided expertly through a maze of backstage doors, orchestra pits, walkways and even a view from the fly! This tour has given me even more respect for the performers, production designers, orchestra conductors and stage managers. It was fantastic to get a glimpse of how the 'magic' is made.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2006

This tour was amazing. There;'s a totally hidden underworld to the Sydney Opera House that you don't even realize is there if you're just attending a performance. We went up in the fly walks, down under the stages and into the orchestra pits, into the seats and behind the sets. It was technically really interesting with lots of information about all the effects with lights, fog and acoustics. Our guide was fantastic, she has a lot of passion for the events that are hosted there, as well as a whole library of interesting stories about occurrences during performances and at the Opera House. The people on our tour asked dozens of questions and she had fabulous, robust answers for each of them. This tour is a must for anyone who loves performing arts, it's a totally enriching experience.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2006

Even though this tour was at 7am on a Friday it was well worth the early morning wake-up. My mates and I arrived at the Opera House and went in through the backstage door. Once we were acquainted with our guide we received fancy tour badges (think backstage pass at a Pearl Jam show). These badges were so well done and a perfect way to preserve the memory of the Opera House in a scrap book or traveling memento box. Our lovely tour guide (and when I say lovely I mean it) took us through all the nooks and crannies that make up the backstage of this iconic masterpiece. Her knowledge and know-how of the Opera House, its history, its performances, and even its show fumbles thoroughly impressed us. Theater zealots and beginners will truly enjoy this tour. You even get to eat breakfast in the famed Green Room at the end of your hour-and-a-half jaunt through endless hallways, winding stairwells and stage to audience viewpoints.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Very interesting and informative.
Breakfast was good.
I followed this up by attending an opera that evening which
really made the morning tour a reality.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Excellent tour guide, and good coverage of the different venues within the Opera House. Interesting mix of visitors on the tour added to the experience (one sat down at the grand piano and produced a credible mini-performance). Breakfast in the Green Room was average (the Green Room is the staff/performer's cafeteria).

From USD $ 157.98

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2482SOH2

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message