Insider's Guide to Sydney

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Viewing All 93 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Christine C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2007

This tour was great, mostly because the wonderful guide. I'm not a theater guru, but I enjoyed seeing behind the scenes how things work and some of the sets used for different shows. It all looks so fake close up! It's a once in a lifetime opportunity to go somewhere iconic such as the Sydney Opera House and get a behind the scenes look. It's nice that you go early in the morning on the only tour, so there are no crowds.

Philip H USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2007

This was a very interesting tour.

Albert Y USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2007

We loved it! The tour was totally fascinating. We had an awesome and knowledgeable guide. Just a tip - don't lean on the walls. Some of them are greasy, and we got our jackets dirty. The tour was well worth the cost!

Florence M Cyprus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2007

This is a must do trip, just great.

Andre B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2007

The tour guide we had was wonderful. She knew so much about the opera house. It was a great tour!

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2006

For anyone who enjoys theater, this tour is an absolute must. Our tour guide was an opera aficionado who delivered informative and downright delightful tales of life behind the scenes at the Sydney Opera House. We were guided expertly through a maze of backstage doors, orchestra pits, walkways and even a view from the fly! This tour has given me even more respect for the performers, production designers, orchestra conductors and stage managers. It was fantastic to get a glimpse of how the 'magic' is made.

Kelly G USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2006

This tour was amazing. There;'s a totally hidden underworld to the Sydney Opera House that you don't even realize is there if you're just attending a performance. We went up in the fly walks, down under the stages and into the orchestra pits, into the seats and behind the sets. It was technically really interesting with lots of information about all the effects with lights, fog and acoustics. Our guide was fantastic, she has a lot of passion for the events that are hosted there, as well as a whole library of interesting stories about occurrences during performances and at the Opera House. The people on our tour asked dozens of questions and she had fabulous, robust answers for each of them. This tour is a must for anyone who loves performing arts, it's a totally enriching experience.

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2006

Even though this tour was at 7am on a Friday it was well worth the early morning wake-up. My mates and I arrived at the Opera House and went in through the backstage door. Once we were acquainted with our guide we received fancy tour badges (think backstage pass at a Pearl Jam show). These badges were so well done and a perfect way to preserve the memory of the Opera House in a scrap book or traveling memento box. Our lovely tour guide (and when I say lovely I mean it) took us through all the nooks and crannies that make up the backstage of this iconic masterpiece. Her knowledge and know-how of the Opera House, its history, its performances, and even its show fumbles thoroughly impressed us. Theater zealots and beginners will truly enjoy this tour. You even get to eat breakfast in the famed Green Room at the end of your hour-and-a-half jaunt through endless hallways, winding stairwells and stage to audience viewpoints.

Marjorie H

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Very interesting and informative.
Breakfast was good.
I followed this up by attending an opera that evening which
really made the morning tour a reality.

Gregory G

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Excellent tour guide, and good coverage of the different venues within the Opera House. Interesting mix of visitors on the tour added to the experience (one sat down at the grand piano and produced a credible mini-performance). Breakfast in the Green Room was average (the Green Room is the staff/performer's cafeteria).

James Fong Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

This is expensive relative to the regular tours that go on periodically throughout the day - $150 vs $35. But it is the only way to go "backstage" and they only take through a small number of people each day. Our tour guide took our small group of 10 into each theatre - the larger ones for opera/ballet, concert/symphony, and the 3 smaller ones for drama, experimental theatre, and lectures. They take your breakfast order at the beginning - Australian, Healthy, and Vegetarian with both a cold drink and hot drink. It was very big and filling and eaten in the "Green Room" where performers would eat later in the day. It's a great experience to stand on the stages and see it from the performer viewpoint. I took in a performance of La Traviata later in the evening after seeing part of the scenery stored backstage and standing in the orchestra pit and on the stage earlier in the day.

Karran

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Loved it.

Mrs Meryl B G

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2011

Took my friend for a surprise birthday gift, we both thoroughly enjoyed the experience and the lovely breakfast, would recommend it to all.

Ros D

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2011

Very enjoyable visit with an interesting and informative guide called Ann. Great Aussie breakfast in the Green Room at the end of the tour.

Rhonda Sue H

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2011

Excellent! Great tour guide, very informative and a lovely breakfast.

Julie H USA

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

The backstage tour is nice, but I think having high tea during the afternoon gets you more for your money!

Robin A

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

The best part was arriving to the Opera House for the very first time just as dawn was breaking. We would never have been there except for coming so early for the backstage tour. As to the tour itself, we enjoyed our guide and the breakfast was pretty good, but I guess I expected something more. Not sure what.

Merle B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2011

Not great provision of information or feeling.

Viewing 4 of 4

Page: Previous | 2 | 3 | 4

From USD $ 118.74

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2482SOH2

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message