5 star rating: Highly Recommended 78 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Sydney, Australia
  • Duration:  2 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Sydney Opera House Guided Backstage Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 78 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

Excellent tour! Our tour guide was wonderful and very passionate about the work he does. We learned so much about the behind the scenes on a typical day at the Opera House. There were certain areas that we could take photos, although not all areas were available for photos. We did get to take photos of each other standing on the conductor's platform ready to direct an "orchestra!" The breakfast was good. We could choose from continental, "healthy breakfast with fruits," or a full Aussie breakfast. The venue or breakfast room was average similar to a cafeteria but the food was good and the guide sat at our table to continue to answer any questions.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

I am an amateur theatre buff and this was the most exciting tour I could imagine. The guide was great, being photographed at the director's podium and visiting all five theatres blew my mind. We finished the tour, enjoyed the free breakfast and went to the box office where we snared two tickets for our very first Opera LaTraviata that night. I am slightly disabled and along with other disabled Americans on this Princess Cruisetour, found it difficult climbing the steps to our seats. They really need elevators to all levels like American venues.

Richard J
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

Very knowledgeable & enthusiastic guide who enabled us to understand the whole process of theatre production, props, scene changes, dressing rooms, lighting etc. Inspired us to go back and see the opera that evening which was wonderful.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Splendid...just what you have written and more. So wonderful, and our guide was simply a lovely, lovely lady.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

This was quite enjoyable! Getting to go on stage at each of the large venues in the Opera House and getting breakfast at the end in the green room was pretty cool! The guide is quite knowledgeable regarding the Opera House itself as well. If you are looking for a unique experience, this is one I'd recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

A delightful guide and the breakfast was scrumptious.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Very personal tour with a great guide who added a lot with his fun personality.

SDL
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2009

I received this tour as a birthday present, so I can't comment on "value for money" as I don't know how much it cost, but as someone who's passionate about the theatre, it is a wonderful experience in one of the world's greatest buildings. Being able to stand on the stage of the Sydney Opera House is an opportunity not to be missed - I would recommend it to anyone who's interested to see how this great building works and what happens behind the scenes.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2009

Fantastic!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2009

Friendly, thorough tour!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

This is an absolutely incredible tour! The tour starts very early, but we were treated like VIPs from the moment we walked through the Stage Door of the Sydney Opera House. Our tour guide was so cheerful and informative that the tour was enjoyable from start to finish. We got to see the multiple different concert halls, we were able to stand on stage, and were taken to many places that the general public never gets to see! And the breakfast at the end of the tour in the Green Room was fantastic! I would recommend this tour to anyone who visits Sydney and has an interest in the Sydney Opera House!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2008

Interesting, informative and exciting. We loved it. It was quite a thrill being in the orchestra pit. It was a nice complement to the regular Opera Tour because it covered different information.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Our tour guide was amazing. This was worth getting up early for but it does not standalone. I highly recommend taking the essentials tour right after the backstage to get the full experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Our guide was amazingly well informed. She was also unbelievably kind because I made a huge mistake and booked the tour for one day before we arrived in Sydney. I got mixed up on the date line issues and our guide let us join the tour the next day and made us feel comfortable as well.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This was a great tour and worth doing! Our tour guide was amazing and knew everything. This tour DOES NOT go into the making or building of the Opera House and I heard there is a 3-hour tour that includes the cultural and architectural aspects of this building which would have been the best of both worlds! You will NOT be disappointed with this tour and breakfast was actually good!

From USD $ 131.48

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2482SOH2

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message