Insider's Guide to Sydney

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Viewing All 339 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Steve S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Very nice zoo experience. Well worth the money for the Wild Australia Experience for the chance to go behind the scenes and meet the animals.

Vivian R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was a great tour. You got to be up close to koalas, pet and feed wallabies, echidnas, bilbies and kangaroos. It was extremely informative and enjoyable.

Sheila L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Absolutely get th Wild Australua Experience. We had 2 hours with a zoo keeper all to ourselves. Great Stories and entry to otherwise unacessable areas .

Donna A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great up close and personal tour. We got to feed wallabies and touch a lot of animals. Very personable guide.

chalf2011

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very good opportunity to see the animals up close. The guide was very friendly. Everything worked well and was perfect.

Chris T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The zoo was like no other zoo. Got to see all the animals up close and going behind the scene was very interesting! I would suggest this to anybody who is planning on going to the zoo.

Lauren P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Brilliant experience, highly recommend.

Debra D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Sean was a wonderful tour guide! It was really special and very much worth experiencing!
I would highly recommend it to really feel like you are experiencing Australia.

Darlene B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was fantastic- we would definitely recommend behind the scenes tour - it was worth every penny

James B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This is an excellent zoo. The tour we purchased of the Australian animals was well done and fun.

Richard N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had a tour with Paul round his Australian animals and had one of the most memorable tours ever. Paul is so infectiously enthusiastic about his creatures, we felt privileged to meet with them and him. We all came away from the experience with a love his little charges but for me George was the real character of the day. What a wonderful relationship Paul has with them all - a very special day that I would recommend to anyone who likes animals.

jfortenberry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Very excellent tour. Highly recommend this tour.

Kathleen B Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This tour is fantastic! Adam was an amiable and knowledgeable guide, and we had ample close up encounter and photo opportunities, as well as the chance to pet a wide variety of both iconic and unusual Australian mammals. I am guessing that animal petting encounters vary depending on each animal's disposition that day, which is why they're not all listed in the tour's description. It's been a lifelong dream to get so close to these animals, and I am thrilled that it's presented by a zoo that cares so deeply about its animals' welfare as well as conservation of wild animals. I will be recommending this tour to everyone who visits Sydney.

Joanne F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The tour was fantastic. The keeper who conducted this tour was great, full of knowledge and when finished took me to the Bird Show.
The whole day at Taronga was great.

Stephanie D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The Wild Australia Experience was well worth the money! Our daughters, ages 10 and 12, loved this behind the scenes tour! We learned so much about the animals, many that we had never seen before! Tons of hands on experiences that you can not do if you just tour the zoo on your own.

Lynn L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Put this at the top of your list for Sydney. You go behind the scenes, into a koala cage not legal to hold them here any more, sorry, and into a kangaroo cage, where you can feed them and get close to them and their emu companions. We also were in the kitchens to see food prepared for various animals, with an explanation of how their diet varies or doesn't. We saw the feathertail gliders being fed, and could touch their fur, which is incredibly soft. They are the tiniest flying mammals in the world, with amazingly long feathery tails hence the name that help keep them airborne. Then we visited the frogmouths, which look a lot like owls and enjoy the shower spray our guide game them. When we went inside their cage, some local opossums cute with very soft fur - nothing like the North American species of the same name entertained us hanging by their tails in intricate knots and sitting on people's shoulders. After a stop for hand washing, the tour ended at The View Restaurant named for its view of Sydney Harbour and the zoo grounds with cupcakes and a choice of non-alcoholic beverages included in the tour price. We watched ibis on the grass searching for food from the picnickers, and rainbow lorikeets checking the meals of anyone who dined out on the balcony. We highly recommend this tour! Put it on the MUST list!

Jim B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The tour guide was fun and very knowledgable. Everything was much more than we expected. Getting to hand feed and pet many of the animals was definitely the highlight of our visit.

Sarah C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

I could not imagine a better tour to take that really gives you a wonderful, up close experience with Australia's animals. It was a great tour!

FuroraCeltica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent way to get up close with Australian wildlife. Some animals such as the wallaby, echidna and the feather tailed glider you can physically touch. Others like the koala you can't touch, but can go in the pen with. Your keeper explains the zoo's work in conserving threatened Australian wildlife, and answers questions you have about the animals. Very pleasant way to spend time and much more intimate and enjoyable compared to just general entry

John M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This Small Group Behind the Scenes Guided Tour of the Zoo was the Greatest. I'm not a Zoo kind of Guy. My visits to zoos,, as an adult, had a hidden agend: Curry favor with my girl friend de jour or wife joie de vivre. I booked this tour so my wife could visit, play and feed Koala Bears, Kangaroos and Wallabys on an Up Close and Personal basis. But, I found the behind the scenes feeding, housing and caring for the animals guided tour to be fascinating. As for Herself, she told me I don't have to empty the garbage for six months.

Tamara A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was one of the best experiences of my life- I got incredibly lucky and was the only one on my tour so I got to see some really incredible things. Everyone was very friendly, the animals were amazing, and this is probably the nicest zoo I've ever been to. DEFINITELY recommend!

JoAnn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Highly recommend! Was well worth the time and money.

Russell Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

LOVED IT!!! Matt was such an informative guide!

hanscampbell

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Definitely worth the trip. In short - it is an amazing experience and the small group allows you to get close with the animals. Note that the cable car down the hill closes promptly at 4:30 so plan accordingly if you are late. A truly amazing experience.

Serina NiahBuay T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Having been to many zoos, going behind the scene was an eye opener and we thoroughly enjoyed walking around the zoo after that.

Viewing 2 of 14

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next

From USD $ 99.56

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2055WILD

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message