5 star rating: Highly Recommended 285 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Sydney, Australia
  • Duration:  2 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket and Wild Australia Experience. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 285 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Diane
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

If you love animals, this tour will exceed all your expectations!!!!! Our tour guide, Paul Davies, gave us a comprehensive behind the scenes tour of life at the zoo. There were only 6 of us on the tour. We got to see the kitchen where the staff prepared balanced meals for the different types of animals and watched a zookeeper hand feed a Sugar Glider. We spent lots of time with Prince George, the Bilby in his own private nocturnal accommodations. The Wallabies were so soft. I got to touch all the animals except the koalas!!!!! (the laws have changed to protect them) Much to my delight my husband caught this very special kiss! You don't want to miss this very special tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Fantastic tour...definitely worth the money and time for Wild Australia Experience. The zookeeper Tim was awesome, friendly and very informative and getting up close to the animals and seeing the back workings of the zoo was one of the highlights of our trip to Sydney.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great tour at a great zoo! Our zookeeper tour guide Sean was knowledgeable, friendly, and handled pouring rain with humor and a guest in a wheelchair with kindness. We were able to get up close with koalas, kangaroos, etc and even met the royal bilby George! I would highly recommend the tour if you want to get a bit closer to some of the animals and be able to speak to a zookeeper. After included treats, we spend the day at the wonderful Taronga Zoo! Take the ferry over from Circular Quay and make sure to take the Sky Safari at the Zoo.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Very interesting and informative.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Such an awesome tour! We were a group of three and our tour guide was perfect! We went behind the scenes and she explained a lot of interesting stuff about the animals, the zoo and the environment. Best thing is to come close to the koalas and learn about and hold some of the Australian nocturnal animals. Totally worth the money!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

My 15 year old niece and I did this tour and it was the highlight of our trip to Sydney. There is normally up to 8 on this tour, but we were the only ones. Our guide Jen was brilliant. We learn so much and I was forced out of my comfort zone to pat and hold all sorts of animals. Going behind the scenes was fascinating, including finding ourselves behind the glass of the enclosures looking out at other visitors. Seeing a wee furless baby leg pop out of th pouch of one of the koalas was pretty amazing. It is an investment, but worth every cent. Do it!

Emre A
Turkey

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

A must ...

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

What a fabulous experience! I had never thought about what goes on behind the scenes at the zoo. We saw everything in the Australian animals area including the food prep kitchen, the sleeping quarters for some of the animals, and the bilby in a secret passageway (the one who was scheduled to meet the Royal Family!). Of course, the highlight was to go inside the koala pen for a photo and the marsupial pen to feed a wallaby. Our zookeeper guide was so knowledgeable, our group was so small (8), and the animals were so cooperative that we couldn't possibly have anything but a great time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Beautiful zoo, great environment, the behind the scenes tour was very informative, educational, and interesting. We had a very small group of 6 people. worth the price and your time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

A great day out. Well worth the money for the VIP backstage experience. Tim The keeper was very informative.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This tour was so much fun! We arrived in Sydney from Virginia USA, a little jet-lagged, but ready for an adventure! Took the ferry from wharf 2 at Circular Quay, only a couple minutes walk from our hotel. Our first views of the Opera House, the bridge and harbor was amazing! We arrived at Taronga wharf, took the Sky Safari gondola for a ride high above the zoo grounds, getting a great view of the elephants. The ride ends at the top of the zoo entrance. A nice thing was they put one family, per gondola. We had a 2pm appointment so we had time to have lunch, then visit some of the other areas of the zoo. Met the zookeeper, a very pleasant young lady, at the information booth for our private tour of the Australian section of the zoo. We were a total of 5 people. Our guide was very informative and so passionate about the animals and her job! The highlight for me was the Koalas, so adorable, and unusually active that day, since they sleep for 20 hours of each day! One came down on the ground and was running from tree to tree, and in another area there was 2 small, 1 year old, koalas together. Our guide let us pat them on the side of their bodies. I definitely wanted to take one home with me! We visited "Gussie" the owl, and got to feed her. She was fed a whole baby chicken, didn't take her long to devour it. Our guide picked up a spiny echidna, and we got to touch it, also fed it live worms, it eats with a long snout. We visited many behind-the-scene areas, including a kitchen where food is prepared and weighed for each animal. Fed a wallaby, visited kangaroos and many other animals. At the end of the tour we had a coke and muffin at the Cafe Harbourview and were given a small gift. A beautiful peacock was walking around freely in the cafe area! The zoo closed at 5pm so we still had time to visit other areas after the tour. The giraffes have an awesome view of the harbor! Too many things to see and not enough time! We will just have to return someday! Loved it all!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

amazing day made more special with the behind the scenes tour. We came in a cruise ship and did'nt fly back until 10pm that evening so this was perfect to spend the whole day there. We just purchased a ferry ticket on the day but everything else was done for us by Viator

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

A highlight event, just brilliant and with a wonderful ranger guide.
Well worth doing, it brings a connection to and understanding of the wonderfully strange creatures that inhabit Australia. Amazing few hours.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great tour! It's a must in Sydney. Zookeepers were really nice, answered every question kindly and shared lots of info. Close encounters with local wildlife were great and you can tell they are very well taken care of. Lots of photo opportunities, so take a camera with you. Highly recommendable ;).

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The Zoo itself is excellent but it goes to a whole new level with the behind the scenes tour. We had an incredible time feeding the animals and also seeing what they are fed. Our guide, Paul, was extremely knowledgeable and I would heartily recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Excellent tour!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

It was an amazing way to really experience first hand with all the different animals and the staff was extremely knowledgable

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Tim out guide was awesome all the way through. Professional, knowledgable and entertaining. The behind scenes is the way to go. You are up and close with the koalas and kangaroo. I would do it again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Paul, the zookeeper of 32 years was awesome great tour memorable!
All the animals especially the kangaroos, Koalas and bilby's and the flying squirrels were so cute!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was one of the highlights of my trip to Sydney. The zookeeper was friendly and knowledgable, as part of our tour we had an opportunity to see many of the Australian native animals up close and personal. The koalas were my favorite! The Taronga Zoo is a must see and this tour is the cherry on top.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Our tour guide, Rob, was absolutely fantastic. we were allowed into enclosures and up really close to the animals. we got to stroke wallabies and feed Koalas. The tour took you around the animals native to Australia so there is still plenty to see afterwards.Afternoon tea was a muffin and a drink, great day out!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Great tour, with awesome behind the scenes activities (food prep for animals etc..) The guide also makes 100% sure you see the Animals you have come to see in Australia. You also get to bypass lines and special access to animals.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The entire experience was FANTASTIC! It was great to go behind the scenes and see how the animals were taken care of. I got to pet an echidna, and a honey-glider licked my finger. How can you beat that?

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Our guide was Tim and he was a very interesting and enthusiastic behind the scenes guide. We were fortunate on our visit up close and personal with a Koala to have her with her baby as well and she didn't mind at all that we took dozens of pictures, touched her gently. We could pet kangaroos and echidnas, got great pics of the hairy nosed Wombat and a slightly 'kooky platypus'. We were shown the kitchen with people preparing the measured meals for the critters. It was my 2nd excursion in Sydney and I loved it. Michele F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

It was a really interesting and fun tour!

From USD $ 98.45

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2055WILD

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message