5 star rating: Highly Recommended 60 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Sydney, Australia
  • Duration:  Flexible

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Sydney Taronga Zoo's Australian Animals Tour and Sky Safari. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 60 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

Really excellent experience. Our guides, Darcy and Robin, couldn't have beeb better.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

AWESOME!!! If you want to get up close and personal with a lot of different animals, then pay the extra for this private tour!!!

HIEN V
France

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

In booking this tour I didn't know that it was a VIP tour. There were two guides for the two of us.! In about two hours, we learned so much about Australian animals thanks to the back stage visit. The Sky Safary was on maintenance the day we came. We also enjoyed the birds show. Highly recommended tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Great small tour with backstage access to animals. Could use more animal exhibits near the end, but our family of two adults and two teenagers enjoyed it very much.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

Superbe moment passé en compagnie des animaux, on a pût voir des koalas même un bébé, des wombats, des kangourous, des dragons, des serpents. On a également vu ou était préparé la nourriture pour les animaux. Pour ce tour on été accompagné de trois accompagnateurs sympathique. Ce tour en vaut la peine si on aime les animaux.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

we all had a great time and our guides were very informative and helpful and we would reccomend this tour to any one who wants to get behind the scenes at the zoo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

i love the zoo very much i had so much fun i would recommended .

Matthew B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

the zoo experience was great and brilliant thanks from all 4 of us .

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

Best zoo I have ever seen! Wonderful view of the harbor and city.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

We really enjoyed our time at the zoo. The Sky Safari was not running the day we were there. They said the winds were too strong. We didn't think there was any wind. However, the behind-the-scenes tour was great. We got to stand inches from a koala, pet a kangaroo, and see the kitchen where they make some of the food. We got to go into some classrooms and pet a python and see some lizards and other things that were not part of the general zoo admission. The zoo is on the side of a hill, so make sure you bring comfortable shoes and know there's lots of walking! The view back to Sydney from the zoo is great too. Again, the Viator way was the best. We had our printed voucher, and the ticket booth accepted it easily and there were no issues.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2009

Taronga Zoo is really nice.

ANTHEA M
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2009

Having a personal, behind the scenes talk with 2 guides was brilliant, especially being able to get really close to the koalas and kangaroos.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2009

This tour had to be one of our highlights in Sydney. We had been to Taronga before but had never experienced it like this. It was a small group of six with two guides so we really had a great the "personal" touch. We got in behind the scenes to see where food was prepared and got "up close and personal" with many of the animals - koalas. Also had a chance to see a baby possum. It was so small it was in a sock. We would definitely recommend this tour to anyone who is into animals. It was WONDERFUL!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2009

The best zoo I ever visit, volunteers just lovely.

Janet H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2008

It was a fab day,we got the ferry across, so easy to do and we did the behind the scenes tour, it was a 'must'. Once you have managed to understand the map of the zoo, you must see the bird show, the backdrop of Sydney is brilliant. We had no children so can recommend for all ages, you must do the cable car across, BRILL!

Aik Leng O
Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

The guided tour was very informative, and we could get up close to some of the animals in the zoo. A great way to spend half a day at Sydney!

Bruce H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Very unexpectedly the VIP tour takes you behind the scenes and into compounds with some of the animals, the ones that don't want to eat you that is! We were in with the Koalas and Enchida's, tame older Kangaroo and 'Naughty' boisterous little young wallaby, in the education centre normally reserved only for school parties. In the feeding kitchen where all the animals food is prepared where a keeper showed us Dixie, a 2 month old baby wallaby that he was hand rearing, he kept it in a little rucksack lined with towels to imitate it's mother's pouch, cool!! Saw some reptiles first hand as well, all in all a very worthwhile experience. The zoo itself is fantastic with loads to wander round. We got there at 12 noon, took the 1.15pm VIP tour and were struggling to get around to the rest of the animals by shutting time at 5pm, so go see the non Australian animals in the morning, elephants, lions etc and that will leave you time for the others after the tour or take the 9.15am tour and you will then have the full day to go round. Take the bus to the top of the park when you get off the ferry and walk downhill through the zoo. Please note, all the food outlets close at 3pm. It's also worth buying a 7 day family 2 adults 2 kids Ferry/Bus/Train pass, you pay for 2 adults and 1 kid, other kid goes free this will cover you for Taronga, Manly, Olympic Stadium etc and is well worth it, buy it at the Ferry Kiosks at Circular Quay. Sydney's great and this is very worthwhile doing for a day, enjoy!

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Really enjoyed seeing the zoo, it is an amazing setting for a zoo with great views of Sydney

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Tour was longer than stated and very informative - concentrated only on Australian animals

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Taronga Zoo visit was the highlight of my Sydney trip. Chris and Gerald were my tour guides and they were fantastic! I learnt alot about the Australian animals through this tour :)

Marc M
Switzerland

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

We had a nice time at the Zoo and the two guides made a great job. The view from the Zoo is fantastic.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Very nice views of Sydney from the zoo.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

We took the early tour so we had to get there early. The sky safari did not start until 11 so we had to take the bus up to the gate. Not so bad but we were looking forward to the sky safari, which we never got to. However, the tour we went on was amazing. Our guide started by asking which animals the kids wanted to see up close. And she tried to get all of them in. We got to touch and feed many animals. The rest of the day at the zoo was great, one place I would not want to miss if I was going to sydney.

John M
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

Enjoyed it but being Australian been there done that. For oversea visitors very interesting

From USD $ 73.66

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2055VIP

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message