• USD ($)
  • English

5 star rating: Highly Recommended 47 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Sydney, Australia
  • Duration:  Flexible

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Sydney Taronga Zoo's Australian Animals Tour and Sky Safari. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 47 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Janet H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2008

It was a fab day,we got the ferry across, so easy to do and we did the behind the scenes tour, it was a 'must'. Once you have managed to understand the map of the zoo, you must see the bird show, the backdrop of Sydney is brilliant. We had no children so can recommend for all ages, you must do the cable car across, BRILL!

Aik Leng O
Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

The guided tour was very informative, and we could get up close to some of the animals in the zoo. A great way to spend half a day at Sydney!

Bruce H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Very unexpectedly the VIP tour takes you behind the scenes and into compounds with some of the animals, the ones that don't want to eat you that is! We were in with the Koalas and Enchida's, tame older Kangaroo and 'Naughty' boisterous little young wallaby, in the education centre normally reserved only for school parties. In the feeding kitchen where all the animals food is prepared where a keeper showed us Dixie, a 2 month old baby wallaby that he was hand rearing, he kept it in a little rucksack lined with towels to imitate it's mother's pouch, cool!! Saw some reptiles first hand as well, all in all a very worthwhile experience. The zoo itself is fantastic with loads to wander round. We got there at 12 noon, took the 1.15pm VIP tour and were struggling to get around to the rest of the animals by shutting time at 5pm, so go see the non Australian animals in the morning, elephants, lions etc and that will leave you time for the others after the tour or take the 9.15am tour and you will then have the full day to go round. Take the bus to the top of the park when you get off the ferry and walk downhill through the zoo. Please note, all the food outlets close at 3pm. It's also worth buying a 7 day family 2 adults 2 kids Ferry/Bus/Train pass, you pay for 2 adults and 1 kid, other kid goes free this will cover you for Taronga, Manly, Olympic Stadium etc and is well worth it, buy it at the Ferry Kiosks at Circular Quay. Sydney's great and this is very worthwhile doing for a day, enjoy!

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Taronga Zoo visit was the highlight of my Sydney trip. Chris and Gerald were my tour guides and they were fantastic! I learnt alot about the Australian animals through this tour :)

Marc M
Switzerland

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

We had a nice time at the Zoo and the two guides made a great job. The view from the Zoo is fantastic.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Very nice views of Sydney from the zoo.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

We took the early tour so we had to get there early. The sky safari did not start until 11 so we had to take the bus up to the gate. Not so bad but we were looking forward to the sky safari, which we never got to. However, the tour we went on was amazing. Our guide started by asking which animals the kids wanted to see up close. And she tried to get all of them in. We got to touch and feed many animals. The rest of the day at the zoo was great, one place I would not want to miss if I was going to sydney.

John M
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

Enjoyed it but being Australian been there done that. For oversea visitors very interesting

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

Safari is only a trip than a tour.The Animals tour includes few animals,but I can reach the places that I cannot reach in a normal tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2011

It was really nice, one disappointment was that you didn't get closer to the Koala's.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

It was a very good tour. No problems with the booking. Most enjoyable

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2011

It was a good day and the best part was the VIP tour segment. We were able to get close to animals such as the Koala and Kangaroos

Lee W
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2008

The friendly, knowledgeable guides gave us a great tour around the Aussie animals, and we got to see parts of the zoo that normal visitors didn't. Well worth a punt!

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2012

Zoo was amazing the VIP tour was not what i expected it wasn't that good.

Kay
United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2012

Didn't get the Zoo Keeper as advertised but had two elderly ladies wh were friends of the zoo, although they were knowledeable there were questions unanswered. Didn't see the zoo kitchens

From USD $ 95.04

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 16+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2055VIP

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message