4.5 star rating: Recommended 205 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Taipei, Taiwan
  • Duration:  13 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 205 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Josephine is a amazing tour guide and everyone in the tour has a great time. This one is by far the best tour amazing scenery and for what I paid and got in return it is a real bargain.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We really enjoyed the tour. The tour guide (Jocelyn) was very informative, spoke several languages, and she was also very helpful (answered questions on what to do after the tour, etc.) She definitely went above and beyond what was expected. The tour itself was great. We love hiking and outdoor activities and this tour met and even exceeded our expectations. It was definitely worth the trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Great tour, very enthusiastic host.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

I highly recommend the full day tour to Taroko Gorge! Josephine was a fabulous tour guide- full of enthusiasm and knowledge about the areas we toured. The transportation was well organized and comfortable, from the convenient hotel pick-up/drop-off, to the plane ride, air-conditioned bus, and train ride back. Taroko Gorge was stunning and we have many beautiful pictures! We also enjoyed the delicious lunch as well as the stops at the temple, beach, and marble factory.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Amazing trip !!! Highly recommended for those who are looking for "light" adventure, close contact with the nature and a plenty of beautiful sceneries to take pictures. Don't forget your camera and money for souvenirs.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Great tour not only do you get to see taroko you get to see a lot of the surrounding areas. Josephine the tour guide makes the experience even better. Although the day is packed Josephine is also really flexible with the time table- she included a visit to the river for the kids to swim. Recommended

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Very detailed tour of Taroko Gorge. I was expecting a watered down tour but was pleasantly surprised of such a detailed tour of Taroko Gorge. Many stops with many photo opportunities. Memorable moments include suspension bridge and mountain-side hotel. Two negatives: 1) you must share family-style lunch with other tour members; we were unlucky to sit with 3 other guests who constantly stuck their saliva drooled chopsticks in the shared food. And 2) after such an exhausted day I wish there was an option to fly home instead of a long 3 hour train ride home. Despite these, the tour was amazing. Would definitely recommend!! And if our tour guide did any other tour, we would try those as well.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Wonderful views in this beautiful national park! We enjoyed a great day and the return ride via a local train was also an interesting experience. All tour company representatives (pick-up personnel, drivers, tour guide) were professional and friendly.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

I'd love to take several days and hike/camp/bike around and through Taroko Gorge, but failing that, this tour is DEFINITELY the best way to see the really stunning Taroko Gorge in just one day from Taipei. There was a great combination of hiking, busing, history, nature, food (very nice lunch!), and insider views from our guide, who grew up in the region. Amazing value for money when you consider a plane flight and 2.5 hour train ride home (be prepared, get some food before you board!) are included. I would recommend this for anyone. Wish my kids could have joined me!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

I had an incredible time on the Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour because the sights that we saw were amazing and beautiful, but, mostly, because our tour guide, Josephine, made the tour so wonderful. She grew up in that area of Taiwan, so there is no tour guide who knows more about Taroko Gorge and the surrounding area than she does. More than that, Josephine is loads of fun and very gregarious and friendly. Best of all, she laughed at all of my corny jokes and had some of her own! She and I became great buddies on the tour since I sat up in front of the van with her! Josephine goes the extra mile to help out the people on the tour. For example, I needed to get stamps for the postcards that I was writing, so she made a special trip to the post office and accompanied me to help me buy the stamps. When the tour was over, and we were leaving on the train to return back to Taipei, she chased me down on the train platform to return my hat to me, which I forgot! She is special and amazing! I would highly recommend this tour to anyone going to Taiwan. The gorge and sights on this tour are not to be missed. Make sure that Josephine is your tour guide, since she'll make sure that you have a great time (don't settle for anyone else or second best)!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Absolutely beautiful ! The tour guide was a local and I thorougly enjoyed her sharing her knowledge of the area. A great way to see more of Taiwan !

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

I booked this tour and went on it with my daughter. We had a great experience. We were picked up at our hotel at 6:00 a.m. and taken to the airport where we caught a plane to Hualien and met our guide for the rest of the day, the very vivacious Josephine. She spoke four languages: English, Japanese, Mandarin and Taiwanese, and kept up a spirited and lively chatter through out the trip. We got lucky with the weather, which was perfect. The bus made many short stops along road so we could take pictures and short hikes to see the spectacular features of the gorge and also visit some shrines. After a few hours we had a nice relaxing coffee break, where I picked up a cute little souvenir for one of my daughters, and then shortly after that we stopped and had a fabulous lunch at a fancy hotel. Before lunch we were given a half an hour or so to explore the nearby area. Near the hotel is a shrine, way up high, that my daughter and I climbed up many stairs to reach. It was beautiful, and I worked up quite a sweat. After lunch we went back to town to catch the train, and along the way stopped at a sweets/food/gift shop and a marble factory which had a lot of jade and marble for sale. We didn't buy anything, but there was plenty to look at, and lots of samples to taste at the sweets shop. At the end of the trip we stopped at a beach, but by then the weather had changed, and it was windy and raining, so that part got cut a little short. Of course, one can't control the weather. Up to that point though, the weather was fantastic. The train trip was two and one half hours back to Taipei, so be sure to pack a snack to enjoy on the longish trip back. We ate sushi triangles that we got at 7-11. Once back, tour guides met us at the station and dropped us back at the hotel. It was a long and satisfying day. Very fun. Well worth the price.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

This tour was my favorite during the two weeks I was in Taiwan. The gorge is amazing and the meal provided was exceptional in a beautiful location. The flight from Taipei to get to the east coast offered wonderful views of the mountain range and coastline.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

My wife and I were satisfied with the tour. It went off without a hitch, pick-up was on-time, flight left on-time, bus was waiting, tour guide was very good. Enough time was allotted to each stop for us to explore and not feel rushed. The gorge is impressive in its own way, not to be compared with deep canyons. The scenery in the gorge was very nice, even with the inclement weather. The Chinese meal was very good. The train ride back to Taipei was comfortable, and we were delivered back to our hotel with a van. Altogether the 14-hour day was well worth it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Highly enjoyable trip! Our guide was knowledgeable and, most important, her English was reasonably easy to understand.

Special Offer

From USD $ 178.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 30711A

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message