4.5 star rating: Recommended 212 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Taipei, Taiwan
  • Duration:  13 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 212 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The tour was just as advertised - amazing! The views were stunning, the weather was perfect, the pace was great (not too slow, not too fast), group size was small and personable, the guide was phenomenal. A great way to see the gorge...the small shuttle allows you to get farther into the gorge and much earlier than the big tour companies, so you get to see all the scenery without the crowds. My only complaint - the obligatory stop at the "local" tourist shops and marble factory, amusing to some, corny to most, but adds some local character. Overall, a great trip, would definitely recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Excellent. The weather was less than ideal, but the tour company was well prepared so we lost nothing. Heartily recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

wonderful experience with guide and spectacular variety of sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This trip was run by the local company Edison Travel Services. Both Viator and Edison provided an excellent service. I fully endorse and extend all the positive reviews about the Edison tour guide, Josephine, whom was lively, cheerful, helpful and really well informed. The day was full and varied and not too much time was spent at the couple of souvenir shops but most of the day was spent in the gorge. Lunch was excellent and the transport (plane, bus, train) all worked really well. One small incident that really impressed me. I bought a box of confectionary at one of the stops and left it in the mini-bus on the way back to my hotel. It was a small loss and did not bother me too much, but I was delighted when coming home from a day out the following day the sweets had been delivered to my hotel room! Now that is what I call service! Perhaps not untypical for the Taiwanese, whom I found incredibly polite, honest and thoroughly decent. Thank you viator and Edison for a day to remember.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Makes for a long day, but great tour. Tour guide Josephine could talk under water with a mouth full of marbles, but very informative and made it a better experience. Spectacular views, fresh air and a really great lunch provided. Glad we did it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Josephine is a amazing tour guide and everyone in the tour has a great time. This one is by far the best tour amazing scenery and for what I paid and got in return it is a real bargain.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We really enjoyed the tour. The tour guide (Jocelyn) was very informative, spoke several languages, and she was also very helpful (answered questions on what to do after the tour, etc.) She definitely went above and beyond what was expected. The tour itself was great. We love hiking and outdoor activities and this tour met and even exceeded our expectations. It was definitely worth the trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Great tour, very enthusiastic host.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

I highly recommend the full day tour to Taroko Gorge! Josephine was a fabulous tour guide- full of enthusiasm and knowledge about the areas we toured. The transportation was well organized and comfortable, from the convenient hotel pick-up/drop-off, to the plane ride, air-conditioned bus, and train ride back. Taroko Gorge was stunning and we have many beautiful pictures! We also enjoyed the delicious lunch as well as the stops at the temple, beach, and marble factory.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Amazing trip !!! Highly recommended for those who are looking for "light" adventure, close contact with the nature and a plenty of beautiful sceneries to take pictures. Don't forget your camera and money for souvenirs.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Great tour not only do you get to see taroko you get to see a lot of the surrounding areas. Josephine the tour guide makes the experience even better. Although the day is packed Josephine is also really flexible with the time table- she included a visit to the river for the kids to swim. Recommended

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Very detailed tour of Taroko Gorge. I was expecting a watered down tour but was pleasantly surprised of such a detailed tour of Taroko Gorge. Many stops with many photo opportunities. Memorable moments include suspension bridge and mountain-side hotel. Two negatives: 1) you must share family-style lunch with other tour members; we were unlucky to sit with 3 other guests who constantly stuck their saliva drooled chopsticks in the shared food. And 2) after such an exhausted day I wish there was an option to fly home instead of a long 3 hour train ride home. Despite these, the tour was amazing. Would definitely recommend!! And if our tour guide did any other tour, we would try those as well.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Wonderful views in this beautiful national park! We enjoyed a great day and the return ride via a local train was also an interesting experience. All tour company representatives (pick-up personnel, drivers, tour guide) were professional and friendly.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

I'd love to take several days and hike/camp/bike around and through Taroko Gorge, but failing that, this tour is DEFINITELY the best way to see the really stunning Taroko Gorge in just one day from Taipei. There was a great combination of hiking, busing, history, nature, food (very nice lunch!), and insider views from our guide, who grew up in the region. Amazing value for money when you consider a plane flight and 2.5 hour train ride home (be prepared, get some food before you board!) are included. I would recommend this for anyone. Wish my kids could have joined me!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

I had an incredible time on the Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour because the sights that we saw were amazing and beautiful, but, mostly, because our tour guide, Josephine, made the tour so wonderful. She grew up in that area of Taiwan, so there is no tour guide who knows more about Taroko Gorge and the surrounding area than she does. More than that, Josephine is loads of fun and very gregarious and friendly. Best of all, she laughed at all of my corny jokes and had some of her own! She and I became great buddies on the tour since I sat up in front of the van with her! Josephine goes the extra mile to help out the people on the tour. For example, I needed to get stamps for the postcards that I was writing, so she made a special trip to the post office and accompanied me to help me buy the stamps. When the tour was over, and we were leaving on the train to return back to Taipei, she chased me down on the train platform to return my hat to me, which I forgot! She is special and amazing! I would highly recommend this tour to anyone going to Taiwan. The gorge and sights on this tour are not to be missed. Make sure that Josephine is your tour guide, since she'll make sure that you have a great time (don't settle for anyone else or second best)!

Special Offer

From USD $ 178.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 30711A

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message