4.5 star rating: Recommended 246 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Taipei, Taiwan
  • Duration:  13 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 246 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

The trip is spectacular. The scenery is wonderful. The tour company is excellent and very well organized and specializes in small groups - a definite plus. The guide was very informative. There were opportunities to have short hikes in the gorge. It is well-worth getting up early to go on this trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

The Taroko Gorge was beautiful- a must see while in Taiwan. The tour is very long, but well worth it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

If you only have 1 day to spare, this is a great trip to see some of the countryside and how the non city people live. You fly there from Taipei and return by train unfortunately most of the train ride was after dark and the scenery was probably spectacular. The gorge is beautiful but all the trails off the main road were closed to walkers because of rain for a few days. I understand they had a small landslide recently that injured a tourist. The tour ended at a marble factory with a huge retail store of jade and marble jewelry and sculptures. It is the largest selection I saw in Taiwan and prices are negotiable. Hard to say though if the final price is cheaper here that what you would get in Taipei.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

Had the unique experience to see the gorge after/during a heavy rainfall, tremendous waterfalls and different scenery. Logistics were good with a short flight and excellent tour guide. Visit to the Marble Store was excruciating! Horrible, persistent, stalking salesladies. Bad reflection on wonderful Taiwan. This tour for Sunday should be sold separately since it is not as presented in Viator's website and voucher with a shorter duration and no trip to the Marble Factory.

John G
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Transport for the whole day was excellent. Tour bus driver very careful. Our tour guide had a sense of humor, and kept us interested the whole day with her excellent knowledge of the area. The gorge is absolutely breathtaking we highly recommend this tour .

Neil T
Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

This was the highlight of our short stay in Taiwan! The guide was great fun! Her explanations in English were very clear and understandable.The sights of the Marble Gorge were fantastic! The return train trip was quick, but it gave us a good view of the countryside.Well worth the money!

Edward Lee
Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2009

Easily one of the more interesting natural sights in Taipei. Had great fun doing lots of walking.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2009

Wonderful scenery and an excellent local guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2009

This was one of the best tours we have ever taken. Our tour guide was fun, had a sense of humor, and kept us interested the whole day. I highly recommend this tour to everyone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2009

Great amount of hiking, knowledgeable local guide, OK shopping stops.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2009

Excellent. Great guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This was the best part of our trip to Taiwan! We were only in Taiwan for a long weekend and were at first a little unsure about taking a whole day out for a tour, but we are so glad we did. The gorge was amazing! Our tour guide was great! Everything was so easy, the hotel pickup, quick flight, etc. Everything was very well-arranged and was effortless for us. I would recommend this to anyone.

CATHERINE L
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

We arrived at Taipei domestic airport and 20 minutes later we were in the air. It really was that fast!!!! The flight lasts 45 minutes. On arrival you are driven to a marble factory for a quick tour. Then off to the gorge. WOW!! It really is breathtaking. To think the canyon is sandstone. This little river has cut through 600 meters of marble VERTICAL!!!!! The buffet lunch was also very impressive with a wide range of food, top notch. We were taken to the beach for a while then taken to the train station for the 3 hour ride back to Taipei. We heard that for an extra 30 we could have flown back. As it was the train ride was a good experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

We greatly enjoyed the sightseeing from the flight to the Taroko and the lunch were satisfying. Our guide gave great details and was very friendly. We would visit again!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2007

This was the BEST tour I went on during my vacation in Taiwan. I HIGHLY recommend this tour. The Marble Gorge was absolutely amazing and the scenery was unbelievable! The tour guide even took us to a beach, where we rolled up our pants and went into the water in February! It was fantastic.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Josephine was our guide for Taroko Gorge, she really knows the area and took us on little hiking trips along the way that gave us a closer look and better appreciation of the scenery.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Josephine was very helpful. Lost our camera on our train to Hualien. We just met her less than 5 mins but she immediately made contacts to different people, and eventually got hold of our camera about half an hour later. We are very grateful for that. Trip was smooth, got lovely views of Taroko.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

This Taroko Gorge Day tour is great. Josephine is an amazing guide!! However, as a whole this tour company leaves much to be desired. My Taiwan tour company has much better customer service and just all around is more professional. However, if you want to see the Taroko Gorge and only have 1 day, the option and the tour itself is great...one you arrive at Hualien. The scenery itself makes the whole tour worth it. We did 3 tours while in Taiwan and this by and far was the most breathtaking.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

We enjoyed the tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Friendly and experienced tour guide, Queen of Taroko (Josephine). Great tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

The scenery is nice and lunch was awesome. The guide was friendly and helpful but I feel that more information can be given about the sites visited. However, seeing that she was introducing things in two languages (English and Japanese), not giving enough information can be overlooked. Overall a good experience.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Overall pretty good tour. However, I went dry season so it wasn't as exciting.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

the Gorge is Beautiful, it was a great day. You can walk and stair as much or as little as you like.
Lots of wonderful scenery. The lunch was superb. there was a visit to a marble factory where they try the hard sell at the end of the tour- this is always disappointing. the train trip back was good ntil the sun went down.
Overall highly recommended.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Tour arrangement was very organized. Guide from Taipei and Taroko Gorge were both very friendly and cheerful. Although the trip was long with 45 minutes chartered flight and back by 2 and half hour train but worth it. The Gorge was indeed very serene and beautiful.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Tour was good. Guide was informative. Got to do some hikes and activities outside the bus. Provided lunch was OK, but food quantity could have been ore considerations the size of the group. Bus was comfortable. Driver was good.

From USD $ 149.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 30711A

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message