• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 190 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Taipei, Taiwan
  • Duration:  13 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 190 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Belinda B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

Great tour, really worth the time and money. Beautiful scenary and great guide!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

5+++ stars! Wow, amazing? If you have a full day in Taiwan, you must do this trip. Tour guide in Taipei picks you up and helps you get checked in for the short morning flight. Another tour guide, Josephine, is there at the destination to pick you up. Very easy. Professionally executed. Josephine was awesome! She knows the ins and outs of this place. She says its her backyard and you would believe it. We were there two days after a typhoon hit, so some of the roads and trails were still closed. But there were many more waterfalls to see because of all of the rain water. Josephine was able to find some alternate routes to take to get us up close. Lunch was very good and a unique experience. The marble factory was interesting, and the gift shop had a lot of selection. The train ride back was a little long, but gave us a good opportunity for a well needed nap. Bring your camera, wide angle lense, and lots of memory. A must. Unlike anything else.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

There was so much to see in one day, which are all worth-seeing. More time should be allotted to this tour for everyone to totally enjoy the tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

The scenery was fantastic and we had a good time. The tour gave us a good overview of the Taroko gorge area within a short period of time. Bring sunscreen and caps in the summer as it was very sunny and hot. The pace was rather relaxing. But for serious hikers, I'd recommend staying in the Taroko Gorge area and exploring it yourself. I'd come back to do the hiking trails if I visit Taiwan again.

Patricia A
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

This tour is to be highly recommended to all travellers to your country. It certainly was a real full day and covered a lot of areas in Taiwan. The flight was good - so was the rail trip back - lunch a fantastic spot and good food- good tour guide in Hualien City who showed us all the highlights of the Tarako Gorge and surrounding areas. A REAL MUST SEE WONDER.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

The scenery is breath taking.. wish we can fly back to Taipei instead of the long train ride that's my only complaint. I dont think the paying tourist will mind to be alittle extra to fly back to Taipei.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Nice views!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

This is possibly the best organized tour on the planet! Edison Travel Services picked me up at my hotel exactly on time at 610AM for the short ride to nearby Songshan Airport Taipei City Airport. Rather than take the tour guests all over town, Edison uses two vans for the hotel pick-ups. The TransAsia Airways flight to Hualien via turboprop was just 30 minutes and most pleasant. Newspapers and starfruit juice were provided. In Hualien our mini-bus was waiting and we began the tour. Josephine was born and raised in Hualien we passed her house enroute to Taroko Gorge and she's absolutely the best. She is fluent in English and Japanese and she really knows the area. Her energy, enthusiasm and great sense of humor made the tour even more memorable. Although not exactly new, the bus was very comfortable. Lunch was served at an first rate aborigine restaurant atop the mountain at Buluowan. A wonderful meal consisting of salad, breaded fish and various other local delicacies in a beautiful setting. The restaurant is part of a log cabin lodge and was a pleasant surprise. As others have said, the stop at the marble factory and rice cake shop could have been omitted but I understand the tour operator gets a little commission from sales and that's factored into the tour price. After the tour, we were taken to the Hualien train station where we had assigned seats on the express train 2 hours 35 minutes back to Taipei. Knowing where we were sitting, Edison travel had three gentlemen waiting for us on the platform and we were whisked away to the underground parking garage at Taipei Main Station where two vans were parked. Got to my hotel in less than 25 minutes from the time the train arrived.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

Taroko Gorge is beautiful. Well worth the trip. Lunch was good too.

John B
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

The arrangements worked "as advertised" - a well organised tour. Taroko Gorge is well worth the money and the time, and we were lucky enough to have perfect weather. I would have liked more time in the Gorge, and forget the extra cost Aborigine show and the "rip-off" marble factory tour on the way back to the station. On the approach to land, there looked to be a much nicer beach park and temple just to the south of the airfield that would be a much better beach visit than the one we made. Overall though the beauty of the Gorge more than balanced these criticisms.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Very professionally arranged, I felt comfortable and safe to join the tour and enjoyed it very much!

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

The tour was very well organized! Our guide was a lady who grew up in the area, she was extremely knowledgeable and fun. Although the full day tour and the train back to Taipei were pretty long, the experience was fabulous because the scenery of the Taroko Gorge was just breathtaking!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

I liked the small group! The guides spoke in Japanese, Mandarin and English. They were very knowledgeable. Because this was a small group the tour driver made many accommodations for us especially to take pictures! The train ride back to Taipei was very comfortable. The guides must have forgotten to tell us to purchase snacks for the two and half hour ride back to Taipei. This was a memorable day. Well worth the price!

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

The trip is spectacular. The scenery is wonderful. The tour company is excellent and very well organized and specializes in small groups - a definite plus. The guide was very informative. There were opportunities to have short hikes in the gorge. It is well-worth getting up early to go on this trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

The Taroko Gorge was beautiful- a must see while in Taiwan. The tour is very long, but well worth it!

From USD $ 178.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 30711A

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message