3 star rating: Worth doing 30 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Taipei, Taiwan
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Yangmingshan National Park and Hot-Spring Half-Day Tour from Taipei. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 30 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2014

Only suitable in good weather.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2013

Our guide didn't seem very interested. He was not very knowledgable either. He left us at the hot-spring for about an hour. Once we were done with that he asked if we are interested in handicraft? If no, he suggested that we skip that part of the tour!

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2011

Didn't get to see much of the National Park at all; hardly a chance to even get out and walk. Not long enough. Only highlight was the private hot spring experience for 40 mins. However, I won't be recommending this tour to anyone.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2010

I was disappointed with this tour. We only had one stop at the Yangminshan National Park and reallly did not get much information or given more of a look at the park. The hot springs we went to were not very inviting and then we spent about 40 minutes at a massive tourist and souvineers market, lots of staff and pricey things for sale. The only good thing about that was they did have some pretty amazing pieces and statues on display.

Anonymous

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2010

Our tour guide was very impatient and rude. He actually raised his voice with an elderly man in the tour. After the trip, he detoured and brought us to a shop to buy pineapple cakes. We filled in the order form for 4 boxes of 10 and paid the tour guide as he said he would help us queue up and collect the cakes for us; 20 mins later, he came out of the store room and gave us a bag. I asked him why there were only 2 boxes, and he said that they were boxes of 20. They were sealed, so we didn't open them till we reached our hotel. They were only 10 inside each of them.

Anonymous

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2010

I liked the park and the hot spring bath, but the guide/driver didn't give us any information. I could have done the same tour by myself!

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2010

The hot-springs tour was fine. Nothing amazing but still nice to see. The hot spring bath was a nice thing to try, but just beware, you have to get naked!

Neil T
Singapore

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2010

Pickup from hotel was on time. The guide was very informative and had a good sense of humor. The National Park and Hot springs were reasonable. The thing we did not like was too many stops at tourist shops for shopping.

David H
Switzerland

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2008

Good and not so good. The guide was also the driver which meant that we didn't get much from him while we were on the road for which I'm thankful, I'd prefer him to concentrate on driving, but it did contrast with other tours where there was a guide and a driver. Also, the weather didn't help but why not have a back-up plan for the case that it's pouring with rain when you get to the National Park The guide/driver just said,"well, we have 30 minutes here to look around" but that's not much use in the pouring rain. At least there was a cafe with reasonable coffee. Also, he didn't seem to have much to say - was he mainly a driver and not a guide. The visit to the hot baths compensated for the rest of the tour - it was worth it just for that and I could still smell the sulphur the next day.

Anonymous

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2008

It was nice, but it was too short! We stayed in the national park for maybe 30 minutes, where we were then rushed to the hot spring again, we could only stay 1 hour.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2013

Nothing much to see. Maybe its because its the wrong season. Guide was not informative, he did not bring me up to the top for the view cos he said the weather is no good, can't see anything.
Hot spring is a total nightmare, so old and overcrowded and doesn't look clean.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2013

The tour was good, but the bus was not. It needed a new set of Shocks and tires. We bounced the entire tour. Yesterday's tour was the same. Not sure if we were on a different bus or not. No difference in the ride.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2011

The weather was rainy and blowing cold so we chose not to walk in the park. Also, the hot springs is not very inviting to just get into small pool with a lot of naked men, or women if you are a woman. Personally, did not enjoy this tour.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2010

Nothing special for me

Anonymous

Anonymous

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2010

Tour can't be blamed, but we saw absolutely nothing on Yangmingshan due to heavy fog. Also one thing that the tour is not explicit about is the hot-spring's portion of the trip. You are to bathe separated man and woman absolutely naked. Being a prude American, that's a big deal and I would not have done this tour knowing that fact. I therefore chose to go into a private family room with my husband for bathing except 5 minutes into being in the changing room my husband was attacked by ants! Absolutely gross! Would not recommend the hot springs portion of tour at all!!!!

From USD $ 51.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3071HF

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message