5 star rating: Highly Recommended 460 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Strahan, Australia
  • Duration:  5.5 - 6 hours

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Gordon River Cruise from Strahan. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 460 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our tour started at 8 AM on a lovely day,We were treated by a lovely attendant and shown our seats on the upper deck with the Captain The seats were the most expensive, but we wanted to give ourselves a treat ,it was worth every bit of the money,We had lovely window seats with uninterrupted seats,we were served by our lovely waitress any thing from Red wine White wine natural juices,on tap all day inclusive in the price, We had a lovely morning tea Lunch with the freshest smoked Salon with wonderful salads or vegetables, and afternoon tea, hot drinks any time too.Now all this with the Captain giving us a laugh and information as to where we were at that moment traveling, the sites are just out of this world, Sarah island too was a nice and informative stop over, and the small gold coin donation for the tour group was well worth the laughs we got from our female guide.We have done this trip over 50 years 3 times and seen the changes to the boats but the Gordon remains just as Beautiful each time, we hope we can come again one day, we loved the trip in style this time, Thank you to all on Board who make it special, Strahan is a lovely little Hamlet, a long way to get there but well worth while.The hotel in Strahan too has lovely food, as has the Fish and Chip shop.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

One of the best highlights of my 8 day trip to Tasmania, alongside walking in the Cradle Mountain National park. The entertaining and knowledgable guides for the rainforest walk and the Sarah Island historic convict site included in the trip, were great. Also meandering down the Gordon river alongside pristine forests was special. Thoroughly recommend the cruise if you're holidaying in Tasmania.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A very well organised and interesting tour and the boat used is very comfortable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

beautiful scenery, excellent service and fabulous guides

Dominic Y
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Very good cruise on the Gordon River ex Strahan. Cruise included morning tea and a sumptuous buffet lunch. Crew were all very friendly and helpful. We stopped at Heritage Landing where we had a very informative Boardwalk while the tour guide explained the native flora and vegetation. After lunch we stopped at the historical Sarah Island, which had been used as a convict settlement. Here the tour guide was again very competent and informative about the island's history. Highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent experience with a lot of variety - Hell's Gates, the Gordon River walk and Sarah Island tour. Very efficient operators. Great lunch. Comfortable vessel, lots of space because about one-third full.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fantastic definitely the best thing that we did in Tasmania!! Certainly worth every cent to upgrade to the Captains deck.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was a wonderful experience - the day produced both blue and grey skies and helped us to see and appreciate the differing moods of the magical Gordon River. The staff were great and helped to make the day. We enjoyed the "off" excursions - the cool dampness of the sub temperate forest and learning about Sarah Island. We are indeed thankful that we joined this tour. Thank you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Despite wild and woolly weather, the day was amazing. The best bit was the guided tour of Sarah Island - can't remember the name of the lady who took the tour, but she was interesting, knowledgeable and made the content fun and interesting. Would HIGHLY recommend the tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This cruise was excellent. It was true to description, had great food and amazing scenery. Reception was very nice, they recognised Viator voucher and promptly supplied our tickets. The price through Viator was also better than going straight to the supplier. Would highly recommend!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Enjoyed the trip. Expected to see more birds.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Thought it was fantastic, one of the best things we did whilst in Tasmania

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Although we had rain, we came away from this experience very satisfied.(Umbrellas were available and ponchos could be purchased) The scenery was beautiful and the reflections were awesome! We had window recliners, but all seating was good (I tested them!) The staff were friendly, helpful and very knowledgeable. They were very efficient in their handling of multiple roles. We enjoyed the informative commentary and guided walks . The food was fresh and tasty (loads of smoked Tasmanian salmon- Yum!). We travelled in the second half of September, during school holidays but the boat was not at full capacity. Travelling in peak summer season may not be as relaxing .

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A great cruise and well worth paying for the captains level

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We upgraded our seats to the upper deck and it was well worth the additional $$, we really enjoyed the cruise,commentary, food and the relaxing atmosphere.

From USD $ 70.80

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3895GRCRUISE

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message