5 star rating: Highly Recommended 521 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Strahan, Australia
  • Duration:  3.5 to 6 hours

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Gordon River Cruise from Strahan. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 521 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

A great day. The cruise was relaxing and well organised. The crew on board and the shore staff were very helpful and friendly. The boat has all the comforts and the buffet lunch was more than expected. The highlight was the tour of Sarah Island by Dave who was entertaining but very imformative. All in all highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great Cruise. Magnificent Scenery. Very Happy with VIATOR.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Absolutely recomend this cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a fabulous cruise. The staff were very friendly and helpful, service was excellent and the two tours were informative, interesting and engaging. We would strongly recommend this cruise to anyone visiting Tasmania. The whole experience was topped off by the amazing scenery.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Well worth the trip. Staff were very friendly and very informative. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed every moment. It was an amazing experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a wonderful cruise. Everything was explained to us before the boat left promptly at 8:30am. As we cruised we were told about the history of the area as well as the areas uses in today's world. It was great and not hard to listen to. The on board lunch ws scrumptious and plentiful. I would recommend this to anyone traveling to the area.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

So so relaxing and peaceful.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This tour was fantastic! It has everything - food, nature, good service, comfort and interesting local history/information. This is a must activity if visiting Strahan. Terrific value for money!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

One of the best tour I have been on. The staff were very professional and together with the Captain the whole experience was incredible. This is a part of the world everyone should see. I can not say enough about this adventure.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We were on Captains table, who told interesting and humorous stories. Kate was our waitress and the food was tasty and filling. The tours off ship were informative and funny.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The ground staff in Strahan were helpful and friendly the day before our cruise. The boat staff were excellent on the day, as were the actors who helped us to live through convict times on land. The food was excellent, the views were absolutely wonderful and it was one of the highlights of our Tasmanian holiday. The serenity of the Gordon River section was breathtaking, with wonderful reflections, and the stories of former days were thrilling but sad, and the walk through the rainforest experience was awe inspiring. Thank you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Fantastic day, great commentary, great food, so much to see.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great scenery, ideal vessel for viewing, delicious lunch and plenty!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

A fabulous day. The captain kept us informed and entertained. The staff were friendly and clearly enjoyed sharing their knowledge. The Gordon river is enchanting and mystical. I don't often give reviews but this trip was special. Well done and thanks.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

wonderful must do trip. everything was fabulous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Even though it was overcast and at times it rained it was a wonderful experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The Macquarie Harbour and Gordon River Cruise was the high lite of our 20 day Fly/Drive Tas. trip. We were extremely fortunate to have a "picture perfect " day, the vessel comforts and viewing platforms excellent. The ongoing commentaries from the Skipper most informative, catering excellent. The Sarah Is. visit , a piece of lost history with entertaining tour guides. An absolute must for Tas. tourists.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Fantastic Could you please email me the name of the book and author of the Sarah island history Thanks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This is a beautiful part of Tasmania, my husband and I had a most wonderful cruise, we learnt a lot about, the trees and plants that grow along this area, also about the convict history on Sarah Island, the lunch on board was also top notch. Loved all of it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Of all the attractions and things we did in Tasmania this was almost unanimously our number one receiving 39 points out of a possible 40. Great value and a memorable day all around. great contrasts - the wilds of the Southern Ocean with the tranquillity of the Gordon River; magnificent lunch; informative and entertaining tour of Sarah Island. Would recommend as a must do in a Tassie holiday

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Loved everything about the Cruise and tour. Ship was clean and spacious the crew friendly and informative. The food was good and there was plenty of it. Loved the shore trips particularly the one to Sarah Island the guide really made the characters live. All in all we had a wonderful time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed this tour. The captain (I think) was very informative. The scenery superb, the water reflections were amazing. Enjoyed the buffet, especially the salmon!! A highlight for me was Sarah Island and this was due to the guide who walked us through. She really made it come alive for us.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Loved every aspect of the trip, staff were very friendly, meal was fantastic

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

It was great! The seats I had were so comfortable, it was very spacious. The outdoor area on three levels of the cruise enabled breathtaking views. It was also very safe despite the dramatic wind conditions on the upper deck. Gordon River was beautiful and i mostly enjoyed the short tour into the rainforest. The stories of Sarah Island were personally not on my interest. I love how there was coffee available and the food was alright. There was a variety, but they were all cold foods.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Fantastic day on the Gordon River. Captain of cruise (Graeme) was very knowledgeable of area and has a great since of humour. Food and drink was terrific, and the ladies that assisted us though out the day were fantastic especially the American girl. Sarah Island was very interesting Cira was fantastic the way she acted
out the characters (convicts) on the history of the island. Very enjoyable day..

From USD $ 55.69

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3895GRCRUISE

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message