• USD ($)
  • English

4 star rating: Recommended 82 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Tokyo, Japan
  • Duration:  2 days (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the 2-Day Mt Fuji, Hakone and Bullet Train Tour from Tokyo. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 82 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Yee Wai T
Malaysia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2007

The hotel provided, Prince Hakone, was excellent. But it was disappointing that we only got as far as the 1st stop for Mt Fuji. Wish we could have gotten closer but it is not their fault but a good experience overall.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2007

This is one of the best trip to date, thanks to the excellent service Viator has provided. It's a hassle-free booking site, and it promises to deliver. We don't even have to worry about meeting up with the local agents as everything is preplanned for us. Viator gives the best quality of tours and one of the most well planned itineraries around. Thank you Viator for making my trip so pleasant!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2007

This is one of the best trip to date, thanks to the excellent service Viator has provided. It's a hassle-free booking site, and it promises to deliver. We don't even have to worry about meeting up with the local agents as everything is preplanned for us. Viator gives the best quality of tours and one of the most well planned itineraries around. Thank you Viator for making my trip so pleasant!

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2007

Visiting Mt. Fuji and Hakone would be beautiful and fun regardless, but our tour guide happened to be wonderful also. He was informative about history and very funny. He also showed us how to make Mt. Fuji origami! Just be prepared to spend a lot on dinner as all of the restaurants in the area that we could find were very expensive.

Michael V
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2007

If anything, you undersold how good this tour would be. You should have a bit more detail on Hakone in particular as it is a fantastic place to visit. Your tour guide was excellent with very informative commentary throughout the trip not just about landmarks along the way, but continual information on Japan, its culture and history. Extremely satisfied!

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Two days was just the right amount of time to get to see the major stuff. The guide was friendly and informative. The whole trip was made by the perfect weather however, which i believe is not always the case. The stops were interesting, being first week of april, we didnt get above 1st station on fuji, but that was fine. We stayed in hakone at the english hotel, which was perfect. Caught the local busses around the district the next day, it was all very easy and plenty of help around at the towns.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The tour was good. The tour guide was funny and entertaining. We had a clear and beautiful day and had great views of Mt Fuji. I appreciated the vegetarian meal accommodation at lunch. After a full day of driving around Mt Fuji with the tour guide they put us in a taxi and sent us to our hotel, Hakone Yunohanaonsen Prince Hotel. Unfortunately the dinner at Hakone Yunohanaonsen Prince Hotel was not vegetarian and I didn't eat much. The Hakone Yunohanaonsen Prince Hotel was lovely. We had the Japanese style room (no bed) which was awesome! We loved the hot springs!! The hot springs are single sexed - so there is one for men and another for women. At this hotel very few people spoke English and there wasn't much explanation how to use the hot springs, we just copied others. They made the breakfast accommodation for me so it was vegetarian, and delicious. We did not utilize the Hakone Free Pass which is part of the tour. After breakfast we headed straight back to Tokyo. The Free Pass allows you to explore Hakone. You do this on your own and not with a tour or tour guide. You take buses and trains around town - this town is very "country-side" and not like Tokyo at all. It's cute but we really just wanted to experience the hot springs and hotel only. The hotel provided a shuttle to the bus stop, we used the Hakone Free Pass to board a bus to get to the bullet train train station. This bus ride was long, maybe 45-60 minutes. We were able to take an earlier train instead of the much later booked one.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

The tour was really good. The tour guide's english was really hard to understand, but all else was good. She entertained us the entire way. It was very windy the day of our tour so we went on another gondola not the one we were supposed to. It was very seamless and not a worry. The instructions on how to get from Hakone back to the Bullet Train were not quite accurate but we forged ahead and made it in time. It didnt take 45 minutes as they indicated so make sure you take at least 90 min or you can take a train with unreserved seats. Mt. Fuji was great and, although we spent too long at the souvenir shop, was enjoyable.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

Definitely worth doing. Guide v knowledgeable and entertaining. Mount Fuji spectacular when she appears and just the right amount of time spent at visitor centre and 5th station. Bad traffic in Hakone meant missing out the rope way during organised day 1 but we were able to do on day 2 with Hakone free pass. hotel OK - a bit 60's but comfortable. Food extortionate so go to FamilyMart next door. Make sure you plan ahead to make the most of day 2 - there is a lot to be seen but you need to work on the itinerary. Definitely recommend Owakadani and visiting the shrine visible by the Torii gates on Lake Ashi. Hakone Open Air Museum has some wonderful exhibits. Tozan railway offers excellent service and v. Reliable to get you back to Odawara to catch the Shinkansen, which is incredible. Try and arrive at Odawara a bit early so you can watch other bullet trains pass through. Fantastic time overall, if you have the time and money to do the 2 day trip over the 1 day trip it is worth trying to do, but make sure you read up on guidebooks/trip info before you get there!

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

This tour is quite well organized although the food isn't very good. You may want to purchase something yummy that you know you'll definitely enjoy. Apparently it's hard to get good pictures of peak of mt fuji but we were quite lucky to snap great pictures on both days. The second day you get a Hakone free pass which allows you to do almost anything. My only advice is to pick a hotel that has good access to transport.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

The tour was very good value and the guide was very informative and entertaining. Everything went very smoothly, except we were unfortunately caught in very heavy traffic and the single day travellers were not able to do all the activities on the first day. We, however, got to see everything advertised in the tour as we did the 2 day option. Very good value and a very beautiful part of Japan. I would recommend this tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Tour guide keep us entertained during the bus travel between destination. First day is the guided tour mixed with other Mt Fuji Tours. The second day you are free to explore the Hakone area or relax in the Hotel.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Very good trip , well organised despite poor weather on the afternoon visit to Hakone. Fuji was brilliant and timings worked well. Hotel room a little tired and a little disappointed with eating options in the evening, ended up using the convenience store just outside.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Agenda and hotel was nice. Only having our 1st experience that we had to go by ourself at the 2nd day for sight seeing and back to Tokyo withou any tour guide

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

Very good. Entertaining and knwowledgable guide. Overnight hotel excellent and good food.

From USD $ 273.79

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2142TYO_F810_F860

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message