4 star rating: Recommended 92 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Tokyo, Japan
  • Duration:  2 days (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the 2-Day Mt Fuji, Hakone and Bullet Train Tour from Tokyo. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 92 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Organisation of the tour was perfect. Very good hotel and a tour that was giving a quick insight to Japan outside of Tokyo.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2008

This was a key highlight during our one week trip in Japan. One of the most professionally organized and executed tours our family has ever taken! Our tour guide prepared so well for the trip that we didn't even want to nap during the bus trip. Well done, Viator!

Yee Wai T
Malaysia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2007

The hotel provided, Prince Hakone, was excellent. But it was disappointing that we only got as far as the 1st stop for Mt Fuji. Wish we could have gotten closer but it is not their fault but a good experience overall.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2007

This is one of the best trip to date, thanks to the excellent service Viator has provided. It's a hassle-free booking site, and it promises to deliver. We don't even have to worry about meeting up with the local agents as everything is preplanned for us. Viator gives the best quality of tours and one of the most well planned itineraries around. Thank you Viator for making my trip so pleasant!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2007

This is one of the best trip to date, thanks to the excellent service Viator has provided. It's a hassle-free booking site, and it promises to deliver. We don't even have to worry about meeting up with the local agents as everything is preplanned for us. Viator gives the best quality of tours and one of the most well planned itineraries around. Thank you Viator for making my trip so pleasant!

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2007

Visiting Mt. Fuji and Hakone would be beautiful and fun regardless, but our tour guide happened to be wonderful also. He was informative about history and very funny. He also showed us how to make Mt. Fuji origami! Just be prepared to spend a lot on dinner as all of the restaurants in the area that we could find were very expensive.

Michael V
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2007

If anything, you undersold how good this tour would be. You should have a bit more detail on Hakone in particular as it is a fantastic place to visit. Your tour guide was excellent with very informative commentary throughout the trip not just about landmarks along the way, but continual information on Japan, its culture and history. Extremely satisfied!

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Enjoyable tour. Friendly and informative guide. Didn't feel rushed.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Enjoyable tour. Friendly and informative guide. Didn't feel rushed.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

We had a good time on the trip, our guide was very helpful and told us lots of interesting facts. We didn't see Mt Fuji because of the weather which was disappointing but it was rainy season and we knew it was likely. We had a very Japanese experience at the hotel, using the Onsen, eating the different types of food and even did Karaoke. The 2nd day we made full use of the Hakone pass and used many forms of transport to get back to Tokyo.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Very well organized except for directions on how to get from Hakone to Odawara (we did overnighter in Hakone). Sunny-san was a great tour guide- very knowledgeable, considerate, professional, well prepared. Hakone area very pretty; lots to see/do. Beware of dinner buffet cost at hotel Kowaki-en; $56/each!! (and not worth it);hotel told us there were no other restaurants nearby but discovered not true the next day. Hotel is very old (100 years) and shows it but nice hot springs/public baths and gorgeous grounds/garden. Bullet train rain back from Odawara to Tokyo very short (45 mins) and doubt we ever got much over 100mph but still pretty neat. We were told could only take small bags/personal items on bullet train but saw a few small suitcases/medium size packs. All in all, well done and worth it.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Excellent tour, well organized and tour guide did great job to adjust to weather problems. The day on our own in Hakone was very good and we were glad we went with that option.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Two days was just the right amount of time to get to see the major stuff. The guide was friendly and informative. The whole trip was made by the perfect weather however, which i believe is not always the case. The stops were interesting, being first week of april, we didnt get above 1st station on fuji, but that was fine. We stayed in hakone at the english hotel, which was perfect. Caught the local busses around the district the next day, it was all very easy and plenty of help around at the towns.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The tour was good. The tour guide was funny and entertaining. We had a clear and beautiful day and had great views of Mt Fuji. I appreciated the vegetarian meal accommodation at lunch. After a full day of driving around Mt Fuji with the tour guide they put us in a taxi and sent us to our hotel, Hakone Yunohanaonsen Prince Hotel. Unfortunately the dinner at Hakone Yunohanaonsen Prince Hotel was not vegetarian and I didn't eat much. The Hakone Yunohanaonsen Prince Hotel was lovely. We had the Japanese style room (no bed) which was awesome! We loved the hot springs!! The hot springs are single sexed - so there is one for men and another for women. At this hotel very few people spoke English and there wasn't much explanation how to use the hot springs, we just copied others. They made the breakfast accommodation for me so it was vegetarian, and delicious. We did not utilize the Hakone Free Pass which is part of the tour. After breakfast we headed straight back to Tokyo. The Free Pass allows you to explore Hakone. You do this on your own and not with a tour or tour guide. You take buses and trains around town - this town is very "country-side" and not like Tokyo at all. It's cute but we really just wanted to experience the hot springs and hotel only. The hotel provided a shuttle to the bus stop, we used the Hakone Free Pass to board a bus to get to the bullet train train station. This bus ride was long, maybe 45-60 minutes. We were able to take an earlier train instead of the much later booked one.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

The tour was really good. The tour guide's english was really hard to understand, but all else was good. She entertained us the entire way. It was very windy the day of our tour so we went on another gondola not the one we were supposed to. It was very seamless and not a worry. The instructions on how to get from Hakone back to the Bullet Train were not quite accurate but we forged ahead and made it in time. It didnt take 45 minutes as they indicated so make sure you take at least 90 min or you can take a train with unreserved seats. Mt. Fuji was great and, although we spent too long at the souvenir shop, was enjoyable.

From USD $ 263.16

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2142TYO_F810_F860

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message