4 star rating: Recommended 93 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Tokyo, Japan
  • Duration:  2 days (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the 2-Day Mt Fuji, Hakone and Bullet Train Tour from Tokyo. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 93 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

Definitely worth doing. Guide v knowledgeable and entertaining. Mount Fuji spectacular when she appears and just the right amount of time spent at visitor centre and 5th station. Bad traffic in Hakone meant missing out the rope way during organised day 1 but we were able to do on day 2 with Hakone free pass. hotel OK - a bit 60's but comfortable. Food extortionate so go to FamilyMart next door. Make sure you plan ahead to make the most of day 2 - there is a lot to be seen but you need to work on the itinerary. Definitely recommend Owakadani and visiting the shrine visible by the Torii gates on Lake Ashi. Hakone Open Air Museum has some wonderful exhibits. Tozan railway offers excellent service and v. Reliable to get you back to Odawara to catch the Shinkansen, which is incredible. Try and arrive at Odawara a bit early so you can watch other bullet trains pass through. Fantastic time overall, if you have the time and money to do the 2 day trip over the 1 day trip it is worth trying to do, but make sure you read up on guidebooks/trip info before you get there!

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

This tour is quite well organized although the food isn't very good. You may want to purchase something yummy that you know you'll definitely enjoy. Apparently it's hard to get good pictures of peak of mt fuji but we were quite lucky to snap great pictures on both days. The second day you get a Hakone free pass which allows you to do almost anything. My only advice is to pick a hotel that has good access to transport.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

The tour was very good value and the guide was very informative and entertaining. Everything went very smoothly, except we were unfortunately caught in very heavy traffic and the single day travellers were not able to do all the activities on the first day. We, however, got to see everything advertised in the tour as we did the 2 day option. Very good value and a very beautiful part of Japan. I would recommend this tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Tour guide keep us entertained during the bus travel between destination. First day is the guided tour mixed with other Mt Fuji Tours. The second day you are free to explore the Hakone area or relax in the Hotel.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Very good trip , well organised despite poor weather on the afternoon visit to Hakone. Fuji was brilliant and timings worked well. Hotel room a little tired and a little disappointed with eating options in the evening, ended up using the convenience store just outside.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Agenda and hotel was nice. Only having our 1st experience that we had to go by ourself at the 2nd day for sight seeing and back to Tokyo withou any tour guide

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

Very good. Entertaining and knwowledgable guide. Overnight hotel excellent and good food.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

Tour guide was great and very informative and pretty easy to understand. We lucked out and got to see some Cherry Blossoms along the way to Mt. Fuji. Hotel in Hakone was very nice, but the local bus stops running at 7pm so we didn't have time to go out anywhere to explore and there is nothing close by. Next time would love 2 nights so we'd have more time to explore the area. Beautiful!!

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2011

Everything was good except the Prince Hotel Lakeside Annex which does not have non-smoking rooms. Not good for someone with breathing problems, I would not recommend this hotel.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

Just awesome... the tour guide was very informative not only about Mt Fuji and Hakone but also Japanese etiquette and Tokyo, etc

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

Awesome trip to Mt Fuji. You will take the bus up the mountain. Then a boat ride across the lake and up an air rail car. After wards, they drop you off at the hotel of your choice. There is only 1 resturant at the hotel, so before you get there, if you want other foods, get it before or you will be spending between 2000 yen or more on food. On day 2, you are given the free pass. You have to plan your own trip around Hakone. There are lots to do and see, so be prepared. After that you take a rail car home. Overall great trip but just wish there was more choices on food.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

The guided portion of the tour was excellent, I would highly recommend it as a must do while in Japan. My only issue was with the second day of the trip, I would prefer a guided or on both days. Trying to navigate around a place you never been on public transportation and not being able to speak the language was rather daunting. Beautiful area and excellent service.

Stephen F
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

The trip was good but we found better facilities the following day (i.e. cable car and boat trip).

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

Hakone was gorgeous and is definitely a must-go. The hotel was not bad, and we were lucky enough to catch a glimpse of Mt Fuji while on the Komatage ropeway in Hakone--her first appearance in 12 days! Loved the locale, and the tour guide was adorable. Only caution is not to trust the timings given as they were all shorter than what we experienced. An "8-minute" walk to the train station turned out to be very far away, esp. with luggage, and a "40-min" train ride turned out to be more like an hour. Luckily we gave huge time allowances, so we still managed to catch our Shinkansen back. Also, food in the hotel was ridiculously expensive. The cheapest thing was a 6,000 yen buffet, and there aren't any nearby eateries. So, unless you're willing to take a bus down to Moto-Hakone for your meals, you'll have to make do with the convenience store next to the hotel, which thankfully has interesting Japanese quick micowave meals. Will recommend Viator to friends.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2009

It's a bit sad not able to see mt Fuji due to foggy weather. No complaints as it is nobody's fault. But the stay at the Prince Hakone Resort is very good. Very peaceful and quiet place. Will definite visit again.

From USD $ 238.72

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2142TYO_F810_F860

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message