• USD ($)
  • English

4 star rating: Recommended 82 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Tokyo, Japan
  • Duration:  2 days (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the 2-Day Mt Fuji, Hakone and Bullet Train Tour from Tokyo. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 82 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

Tour guide was great and very informative and pretty easy to understand. We lucked out and got to see some Cherry Blossoms along the way to Mt. Fuji. Hotel in Hakone was very nice, but the local bus stops running at 7pm so we didn't have time to go out anywhere to explore and there is nothing close by. Next time would love 2 nights so we'd have more time to explore the area. Beautiful!!

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2011

Everything was good except the Prince Hotel Lakeside Annex which does not have non-smoking rooms. Not good for someone with breathing problems, I would not recommend this hotel.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

Just awesome... the tour guide was very informative not only about Mt Fuji and Hakone but also Japanese etiquette and Tokyo, etc

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

Awesome trip to Mt Fuji. You will take the bus up the mountain. Then a boat ride across the lake and up an air rail car. After wards, they drop you off at the hotel of your choice. There is only 1 resturant at the hotel, so before you get there, if you want other foods, get it before or you will be spending between 2000 yen or more on food. On day 2, you are given the free pass. You have to plan your own trip around Hakone. There are lots to do and see, so be prepared. After that you take a rail car home. Overall great trip but just wish there was more choices on food.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

The guided portion of the tour was excellent, I would highly recommend it as a must do while in Japan. My only issue was with the second day of the trip, I would prefer a guided or on both days. Trying to navigate around a place you never been on public transportation and not being able to speak the language was rather daunting. Beautiful area and excellent service.

Stephen F
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

The trip was good but we found better facilities the following day (i.e. cable car and boat trip).

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

Hakone was gorgeous and is definitely a must-go. The hotel was not bad, and we were lucky enough to catch a glimpse of Mt Fuji while on the Komatage ropeway in Hakone--her first appearance in 12 days! Loved the locale, and the tour guide was adorable. Only caution is not to trust the timings given as they were all shorter than what we experienced. An "8-minute" walk to the train station turned out to be very far away, esp. with luggage, and a "40-min" train ride turned out to be more like an hour. Luckily we gave huge time allowances, so we still managed to catch our Shinkansen back. Also, food in the hotel was ridiculously expensive. The cheapest thing was a 6,000 yen buffet, and there aren't any nearby eateries. So, unless you're willing to take a bus down to Moto-Hakone for your meals, you'll have to make do with the convenience store next to the hotel, which thankfully has interesting Japanese quick micowave meals. Will recommend Viator to friends.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2009

It's a bit sad not able to see mt Fuji due to foggy weather. No complaints as it is nobody's fault. But the stay at the Prince Hakone Resort is very good. Very peaceful and quiet place. Will definite visit again.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2008

The tour was well organised and the tour guide provided good information on Mt Fuji. However, I was slight disappointed with the lunch at Highland hotel as food was cold and quality a bit lousy for the kind of price. Else, the tour is good.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2008

Great trip with wonderful views of Mufgi. One thing, and we were warned, try to avoid a national holiday. Culture Day caused some serious delays while on the bus.

Ruben P
Portugal

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2008

The 1st day was great and we were lucky enough to be able to see Mount Fuji usually it's too clouded in summer. I wouldn't say the 2nd day was really part of the tour, they just dropped us of in the hotel in Hakone, and we had to get around and find the way back on our own. We ended up finding some nice things to see in Hakone, but it's not very easy to get around there, the town is not really aimed for foreign tourists.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2008

The overall trip was exciting, and the tour guide was very professional. If I go to Japan to join any tours in the future, I'll definitely choose Viator.

Barbara S
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2007

The pickup was very badly organised. There were too many people for the coach, so the emergency extra seating had to be used. Not at all satisfactory when you are 6 feet 4 inches tall as my son is. It was very wrong that the two front seats were reserved for the tour guides!! I was very disappointed that we could not change our bullet train tickets. The time given was too late for us as we had to be in Kyoto on the Tuesday evening. We therefore had to forfeit our tickets and buy new ones, which was very expensive. Our tour guide was very helpful and tried to get them changed for us or to get them transfered to the Monday evening as two people on our tour would have liked to go back to Tokyo by train, but this wasn't possible either. As the bullet train goes both ways, it would be a good option to offer. We enjoyed the tour very much. Our guide was excellent. Thank you.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2007

I really enjoyed the trip even though the weather did not cooperate and we never really saw Mt. Fuji. It was fun to play in the snow and the guide was great.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2007

Everything was good except for the waiting for others in the group to arrive.

From USD $ 274.52

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2142TYO_F810_F860

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message