Viewing All 124 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Surena H

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

Just awesome... the tour guide was very informative not only about Mt Fuji and Hakone but also Japanese etiquette and Tokyo, etc

anniehsu

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

Awesome trip to Mt Fuji. You will take the bus up the mountain. Then a boat ride across the lake and up an air rail car. After wards, they drop you off at the hotel of your choice. There is only 1 resturant at the hotel, so before you get there, if you want other foods, get it before or you will be spending between 2000 yen or more on food. On day 2, you are given the free pass. You have to plan your own trip around Hakone. There are lots to do and see, so be prepared. After that you take a rail car home. Overall great trip but just wish there was more choices on food.

Linda S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

The guided portion of the tour was excellent, I would highly recommend it as a must do while in Japan. My only issue was with the second day of the trip, I would prefer a guided or on both days. Trying to navigate around a place you never been on public transportation and not being able to speak the language was rather daunting. Beautiful area and excellent service.

Stephen F United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

The trip was good but we found better facilities the following day (i.e. cable car and boat trip).

Hwee Khim C Singapore

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

Hakone was gorgeous and is definitely a must-go. The hotel was not bad, and we were lucky enough to catch a glimpse of Mt Fuji while on the Komatage ropeway in Hakone--her first appearance in 12 days! Loved the locale, and the tour guide was adorable. Only caution is not to trust the timings given as they were all shorter than what we experienced. An "8-minute" walk to the train station turned out to be very far away, esp. with luggage, and a "40-min" train ride turned out to be more like an hour. Luckily we gave huge time allowances, so we still managed to catch our Shinkansen back. Also, food in the hotel was ridiculously expensive. The cheapest thing was a 6,000 yen buffet, and there aren't any nearby eateries. So, unless you're willing to take a bus down to Moto-Hakone for your meals, you'll have to make do with the convenience store next to the hotel, which thankfully has interesting Japanese quick micowave meals. Will recommend Viator to friends.

Cheng Huang Y

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2009

It's a bit sad not able to see mt Fuji due to foggy weather. No complaints as it is nobody's fault. But the stay at the Prince Hakone Resort is very good. Very peaceful and quiet place. Will definite visit again.

Ruoh Wei G Singapore

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2008

The tour was well organised and the tour guide provided good information on Mt Fuji. However, I was slight disappointed with the lunch at Highland hotel as food was cold and quality a bit lousy for the kind of price. Else, the tour is good.

James S USA

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2008

Great trip with wonderful views of Mufgi. One thing, and we were warned, try to avoid a national holiday. Culture Day caused some serious delays while on the bus.

Ruben P Portugal

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2008

The 1st day was great and we were lucky enough to be able to see Mount Fuji usually it's too clouded in summer. I wouldn't say the 2nd day was really part of the tour, they just dropped us of in the hotel in Hakone, and we had to get around and find the way back on our own. We ended up finding some nice things to see in Hakone, but it's not very easy to get around there, the town is not really aimed for foreign tourists.

Jia X China

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2008

The overall trip was exciting, and the tour guide was very professional. If I go to Japan to join any tours in the future, I'll definitely choose Viator.

Barbara S United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2007

The pickup was very badly organised. There were too many people for the coach, so the emergency extra seating had to be used. Not at all satisfactory when you are 6 feet 4 inches tall as my son is. It was very wrong that the two front seats were reserved for the tour guides!! I was very disappointed that we could not change our bullet train tickets. The time given was too late for us as we had to be in Kyoto on the Tuesday evening. We therefore had to forfeit our tickets and buy new ones, which was very expensive. Our tour guide was very helpful and tried to get them changed for us or to get them transfered to the Monday evening as two people on our tour would have liked to go back to Tokyo by train, but this wasn't possible either. As the bullet train goes both ways, it would be a good option to offer. We enjoyed the tour very much. Our guide was excellent. Thank you.

Katherine A

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2007

I really enjoyed the trip even though the weather did not cooperate and we never really saw Mt. Fuji. It was fun to play in the snow and the guide was great.

Tim L USA

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2007

Everything was good except for the waiting for others in the group to arrive.

Martha G

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

The trip was OK but there was no good direction about activities to enjoy at Hakone. Or, how to get around Hakone.
Additionally, our guide sent me to the wrong hotel. It was unnerving because I had to take another taxi to another hotel at a time when I was quite tired. Would have been fun to be on a longer bullet train ride.

jack k

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

Our tour guide was not helpful. His English was not understandable. We felt rushed, specially at lunch, which was delicious. The tour otherwise was very well organized. The Prince hotel was lovely. The tour in general was worth it even though we did not see Mt. Fuji due to weather condition

ritter13

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

We have all things to very fast.At the Visitor Center about 10 min to short .The same at the 5 Station 25 min you can not enjoy all the things.

Choi Yin F

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

The tour was good on the first day. Day tour was memorable. However, the hotel stay was not too pleasant. We were told by the tour guide dinner not included but breakfast is included. However, we were ask to pay for the breakfast.hotel staff were not happy when asked for clarification from tour comp

Randall L

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

The tour guide was good and the trip up to the 4th station on Mt. Fugi was good, but the hotel you reserved for us near Hakone was really bad.

stephen b

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

Overall i was happy with the experience. Where Viator could really stand to imporve on this particular trip is on the information for the day in Hakone. The area is large, there are lots of buses, but very little in the way of specific information. For instance, there is no way to find out how long it takes to get from place to place. I wanted to go from the hotel down to the lake, cross the lake on the ferry, take the gondolas up and over the mountains to the cable car and then take the train back to the bullet train station. There is no way to know if that takes one hour, two hours or 5 hours. (Turns out, from the ferry in Moto Hakone-Ko back to Odawara takes about 3 hours.) Anyway, i enjoyed it a great deal but feel that the service providers (Viator or Sunrise Tours) could provide better Hakone information.

Janny K

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

Good. Highly recommended!

Ho.onani

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

Traffic set us back, so didn't make it to the Ashi river boat ride nor the cable car. Both replacement tour (boat and cablr) were disappointingly smaller/shorter than expected. The better part of the trip was the overnight stay; however, telephonis access to translation service would've helped. Hotel, bus drivers and other staff seemed not to get their stories straight and several of the bus drivers were downright rude while others were helpful. In fact, the second day should've included taxi transfers for the price. Also a discounted Yunnesen would've been better. Tour guide Atsuko was ok as a tour guide but nothing to write home about. Hakone is beautiful nd we want to come back, maybe not with viator though.

Myrna D

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

It was good but too late to realized that one day tour should be enough. We went back to Tokyo in the morning anyway. You will be left on your own on the second day and you will see all in a day so thetr is no use staying overnight though we enjoyed our stay in the hotel.

KIM OANH Vietnam

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2012

The design of trip is great however we are unlucky on this trip due to bad weather.
Logistics arrangements are very good: good foods, bus,...

KIM OANH Vietnam

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2012

The design of trip is great however we are unlucky on this trip due to bad weather.
Logistics arrangements are very good: good foods, bus,...

KIM OANH Vietnam

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2012

The design of trip is great however we are unlucky on this trip due to bad weather.
Logistics arrangements are very good: good foods, bus,...

Viewing 4 of 5

Page: Previous | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next

From USD $ 292.84

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2142TYO_F810_F860

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message