4 star rating: Recommended 112 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Tokyo, Japan
  • Duration:  2 days (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the 2-Day Mt Fuji, Hakone and Bullet Train Tour from Tokyo. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 112 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2009

Don't go on a cloudy day. The tour was a lot of bus riding, and not a lot of seeing anything. The second day is on your own, they give you a bunch of maps and a suggested route. Getting to the train station was a hassle at the end of the second day.

KOH H
Singapore

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2008

Everything is in a rush! From boarding the bus to resort, after which it's our own time. Not bad for the lunch though. Seems like it was only half a day to Mt Fuji, so not really considered a tour as we ventured the other 1.5 days ourselves. Good thing was we had a free pass to ride almost all transport.

Cynthia T
Singapore

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2008

It was over an hour trip from the hotel pick-up to tour bus at the station. The ride itself was comfortable. The guide was friendly and generally competent, although he gave a wrong instruction during the cable car ride, and lost 13 of the tour group in the process. By a stroke of luck, the group we were in was not lost only because the cable car warden insisted we had to get out of the carriage at one point. Lunch was very poor and forgettable as the food appeared to have been cooked hours before and were stale and cold. The tour during the day was enjoyable although very rushed and we hardly had any time to do much else, understandably perhaps. Accommodation at Hakone was comfortable, although the hotel staff at the reception were not the most friendliest we have seen. One lady was in fact impatient and rude. Otherwise, we had a good time at the onsen and enjoyed our walk at the hotel's garden, which was beautiful. The tour guide gave us no clue as to what to do with the free Hakone pass the next day, so we were very much left to fend for ourselves. In the end, we decided on visiting the glass museum, which turned out to be the correct choice. Overall, it was a pleasant trip, and Hakone is beautiful and well worth the trip.

Alex L
Singapore

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2008

Day one of the trip was great. Pick up was well organized, we got to see Mt Fuji, and the tour guide was good! However, I'd strongly suggest skipping the two day tour and just do the one day tour instead. At the end of the first day, we were literally dumped in our hotel. We were pretty much left to fend for ourselves. There's nothing much to do there at night, so we ended up eating an overpriced dinner and went to bed at 8:00 p.m. For the second day, it was supposed to be "explore Hakone on your own" with the Hakone free pass. Note that the pass is hardly free, it's just a discounted pass which allows you to visit some places of interest in Hakone, which unfortunately were not very interesting at all. Plus, getting around was going to be a hassle. The worst part is that we were automatically booked on the 6:00 p.m. bullet train back to Tokyo, which meant that we were going to be stuck in Hakone for almost the entire day. So, in spite of what our tour guide told us, that our tickets were not valid for any earlier train service, we just made our way to the train station early the next day and somehow found our own way back to Tokyo!

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

I highly recommend going on the one day tour to Mt Fuji and then returning back to Tokyo. The hotel, Hakone Hotel Kowaki-en, was moldy and disgusting with pricing only appropriate for a five star hotel. Additionally, to be very clear, there is no staff to assist you on the second day on the long trip from Hakone to Odawara and then Odawara to Tokyo. This tour is not for nervous travelers or those who prefer not to share their hotel room with black mold.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

I don't recommend it as the Hakone Hotel Kowaki-En is not up to my expectation. Air conditioning is not functioning well and we were informed to open the window for ventilation which caused mosquitoes entering our hotel room.Besides,no hotel drop off provided although stated in tour details.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2014

The reason I wouldn't recommend this tour is because the hotel rooms were horrid, had a bad smell and no AC. The next day we didn't do much because we had to lug our bags around and then we had to catch a bus for an hour while standing because it was packed all the way to the train. WE WERE ON OUR OWN!

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

Most of the trip, 6 out of 8 hours, was spent on the bus. The bus had no toilet and the seats were small. The tour guide was most concerned about moving to the next stop on the tour and had very little to say about the sights. All the stops were abbreviated. We had no more than 30 minutes at ant stop. It was so bad I decided to quit the tour and travel on my own. It was the worst tour I have ever been on.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

This trip was overprice for what it was:
1st day:
- bus with a guide who talked like a CD player during the whole journey.
- 3 stops of 10 to 25 minutes each, and that's all, we basically where in a bus the whole day.
- the hotel does not worse that price, it's an old hotel, full of group tour, pretty far from the Lake, and with no restaurant around to make sure that you will eat the expensive and average taste hotel food.
2nd day:
we were alone, that was the best part, Hakone is very nice to visit, calm and beautiful, we recommend!

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2013

Our trip to Mount Fuji was an unmitigated disaster. Because the weather was cloudy and rainy, we never saw Mount Fuji, so the tour was endless hours stuck on a bus driving winding mountain roads, making everyone noxious. Check the weather in advance and cancel if visibility will likely be impaired.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2008

The trip was from 7.55am to 4.30pm, practically 8 1/2 hours, only not a 2-day tour. We were without a tour guide on the 2nd day return. You dumped us at the hotel after the 8 1/2 hours tour, especially when we are totally strangers in the city and had to take 3 different buses and 2 different trains to return without our guide. Besides that, my husband had hard time walking after his foot surgery. But your guide Harry was an excellent tour guide. If this was to cut down your expenses, we could have easily paid extra money. I will not repeat such inconsiderate tour program again nor recommend to our friends.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2008

There is no assistance in the return trip which is very arduous. Lugging a suitcase even a small one on to at least 3 different buses before getting to the train station. Also I do NOT recommend the hotel in Hakone, a very old property that is seedy. The cable car station is very old and has had no upkeep. The steel girders are covered in rust.

From USD $ 245.67

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2142TYO_F810_F860

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message