• USD ($)
  • English

4 star rating: Recommended 89 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Tokyo, Japan
  • Duration:  2 days (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the 2-Day Mt Fuji, Hakone and Bullet Train Tour from Tokyo. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 89 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Ruben P
Portugal

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2008

The 1st day was great and we were lucky enough to be able to see Mount Fuji usually it's too clouded in summer. I wouldn't say the 2nd day was really part of the tour, they just dropped us of in the hotel in Hakone, and we had to get around and find the way back on our own. We ended up finding some nice things to see in Hakone, but it's not very easy to get around there, the town is not really aimed for foreign tourists.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2008

The overall trip was exciting, and the tour guide was very professional. If I go to Japan to join any tours in the future, I'll definitely choose Viator.

Barbara S
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2007

The pickup was very badly organised. There were too many people for the coach, so the emergency extra seating had to be used. Not at all satisfactory when you are 6 feet 4 inches tall as my son is. It was very wrong that the two front seats were reserved for the tour guides!! I was very disappointed that we could not change our bullet train tickets. The time given was too late for us as we had to be in Kyoto on the Tuesday evening. We therefore had to forfeit our tickets and buy new ones, which was very expensive. Our tour guide was very helpful and tried to get them changed for us or to get them transfered to the Monday evening as two people on our tour would have liked to go back to Tokyo by train, but this wasn't possible either. As the bullet train goes both ways, it would be a good option to offer. We enjoyed the tour very much. Our guide was excellent. Thank you.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2007

I really enjoyed the trip even though the weather did not cooperate and we never really saw Mt. Fuji. It was fun to play in the snow and the guide was great.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2007

Everything was good except for the waiting for others in the group to arrive.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

Good. Highly recommended!

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

Traffic set us back, so didn't make it to the Ashi river boat ride nor the cable car. Both replacement tour (boat and cablr) were disappointingly smaller/shorter than expected. The better part of the trip was the overnight stay; however, telephonis access to translation service would've helped. Hotel, bus drivers and other staff seemed not to get their stories straight and several of the bus drivers were downright rude while others were helpful. In fact, the second day should've included taxi transfers for the price. Also a discounted Yunnesen would've been better. Tour guide Atsuko was ok as a tour guide but nothing to write home about. Hakone is beautiful nd we want to come back, maybe not with viator though.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

It was good but too late to realized that one day tour should be enough. We went back to Tokyo in the morning anyway. You will be left on your own on the second day and you will see all in a day so thetr is no use staying overnight though we enjoyed our stay in the hotel.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2012

The design of trip is great however we are unlucky on this trip due to bad weather.
Logistics arrangements are very good: good foods, bus,...

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2012

The design of trip is great however we are unlucky on this trip due to bad weather.
Logistics arrangements are very good: good foods, bus,...

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2012

The design of trip is great however we are unlucky on this trip due to bad weather.
Logistics arrangements are very good: good foods, bus,...

LKG
Singapore

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2011

This tour is definitely worth taking, but is not without risks. Access to Mt Fuji beyond the visitor center is subject to weather, and we are told by the guide this is possible only about 80+days a year. We were fortunate to be able to ascent, as the frozen road de-iced by late morning, after being told en-route from Tokyo that access for the day is closed. Hakone, especially Gora is definitely another highlight.
If you do choose to stay overnight, try not to stay at the lakeside annex of the Prince Resort. We did, thinking it would afford a nice view of Lake Ashi. However, this turned out to be the lowest point of our trip. The lakeside annex of the resort is certainly not up to standard and both the rooms (we had to change room once) were cramped and very dated. Stains were clear on the wallpapers, everything was very basic. Also be sure to make dinner reservations before arrival or your choice will be very limited.
Fortunately for us, Hakone and Gora especially made up for the accommodation low-point!
Overall, worth doing but choose the right accommodation please.

Anna
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2011

Great first day, we had amazing views of Fuji, the weather was clear all day and the guide was very knowledgeable. However, I was the only one of about 30 people who stayed on for the second night and as a result I was left to fend for myself in Hakone with vague advice from the guide as to how I might get back to Tokyo. Luckily, the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and arranged a shuttle bus for me. Still, I had to check out of the hotel at 11am and cart my luggage around until the Bullet train left at 6pm. Hakone is very beautiful though and if I had not been travelling alone I am sure it would have been a much more pleasant experience

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2012

Due to lack of planning time, I broke my own rule and booked this tour. I should have just spent the extra time and planned it myself. The trip was not an unmitigated disaster. Here are the good things: the bus was clean and the driver was very good; the tour included a ticket that covered local bus, train, cable car and lake cruises in Hakone. The bad side: Why would any agency choose to BUS people out of Tokyo!? The traffic was dreadful and we lost half a day (the sunny half). Our "guide" then decided to stop for lunch before continuing to Fuji -- which was a bad mistake because by the time we got there it was socked in with mist. We saw nothing and only had 15 minutes on the mountain - the reason for the trip (after 4 hours on the bus). The hotel we were booked at was adequate (and the room larger than typical) but not to our taste: fusty, old fashioned, the food (not included) way overpriced even for Japan. The saving grace was those free transport passes: took the bus to the "little train" which went to Gora, then cable cars over the top to FINALLY see Fuji, then the cruise on the lake for another view -- that all worked out okay. The transport tickets also got us on the little train to the station where we caught our Shinkansen back to Tokyo. But we could have done that without the bus tour! (By the way, the "guide" had recommended the bus to the train station, which would have been a disaster for anyone with luggage. The local train was the way to go).

Anonymous

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2010

The trip was nice but not worth staying in Hakone in the rain. Mount Fuji was no where to be seen in the fog.

From USD $ 274.67

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2142TYO_F810_F860

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message