4.5 star rating: Recommended 73 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Tokyo, Japan
  • Duration:  3 days (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the 3-Day Mt Fuji, Kyoto and Nara Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 73 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Everything was perfect except perhaps the hotel. It was not clear for me, when I ordered, in which kind of hotel I would stay. I thought I would stay in a ryokan in Kyoto, but I had to stay in a modern hotel... nevermind, I'll be back !!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Excellent! Everything went on as planned.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Excellent! Everything went on as planned.

Penelope J
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

I was fortunate and saw Mt Fuji to the top. The tour guide for Mt Fujo, Meko was thoughtful and attentive.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

Excellent opportunity to visit Mt Fuji and Kyoto when on a tight schedule. Guide service was exemplary! They took such good care of us! They all spoke English and worked to provide a lovely trip. They truly cared for us during the journey and activities. The tour hotel was wonderful. We enjoyed the sights and tours tremendously. We especially appreciated the drop-off and pick-up services at our hotels and train stations.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2009

Very well organized. Tour guides were thorough, friendly, and informative. The whole tour went off without a hitch. Guides met us at trains and escorted us to taxis. I was travelling alone with my 14 year old daughter, and we felt secure and comfortable at all times.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

The tour operator really has its act together. A representative met us at each station and took us to the next train. There were absolutely no problems whatsoever.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This trip takes you very close to nature, and our guide gave us an insight into Buddhist history. Spectacular!

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Great trip, loved Kyoto, sadly several fellow passages struggling to get back the coach on time. The guides were very informative with a good knowledge of Japanese history and we had some great views of Mt Fuji

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

All in all the tour was very good. The guides were very nice and knowledgeable. The only negative point I have is: the first day was about Mount Fuji and we did not see it at all. This part of the tour doesn't make sence if the weather is bad. I think it should be canceled in case of bad weather.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This tour was great!! We learned alot of history from the tour. Everything was very well organized to the minute. We were well take care off. I recommande this toir to everyone.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This tour was amazing!

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Great tour, but a bit too tight a schedule sometimes

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

I thought this was a great tour and incredibly well organised. We would never have seen so much on our own and definitely recommend this tour to others. We preferred the second day's tour of Kyoto temples, shrines and to Nara over the first day's tour of Mount Fuji and Hakone. The tour guides were all excellent.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Fantastic trip. Well worth the trip-saw so much. Loved the shrines and temples that were there. Learnt so much about the history of Kyoto and Nara. Weather dampened part of the trip but was worth it anyhow. Wished we could have had longer in Kyoto to see the night life as arrival was too late to see or do anything. Could have done with bit of extra guidance of where to perhaps see for our free day in Kyoto.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Well organised and covered all the must see sights in Kyoto.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

The first thing is your third Day there is nothing to do and you need to check out hotel at 11 and they booked your ticket at 7 pm and you can not change the time cause if u wanna change you need to pay again! The second thing is the hotel never give you king or queen bed its only twins bed !

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

The tour was well organized and executed. The tour guide was knowledgeable, enthusiastic, good humored and attentive. There was quite a bit packed into this tour. We had to deal with some weather issues that prevented us from seeing Fujisan, but who can control the weather? The bus driver was excellent and a true professional driving in the mountains with plenty rain. The hand off and directions from the bus to the bullet trains couldn't have worked smoother. The greeters/direction advisers were most cheerful and helpful. The sites in Kyoto where covered at rather a brisk pace, but they were very efficient. The bus driver in Kyoto/Nara was excellent as well. The sites in Nara were covered at a more leisurely pace. Overall, a great tour conducted by wonderful people. This tour is well worth taking, but make sure you are up for a couple of days of busy traveling. Wear comfortable walking shoes (slip offs will make things a little easier). Hotel accommodations at Kyoto Hotel Okura were 4-star for Japan, 5-Star in the USA. Don't forget to keep your umbrella handy. The deer at Nara know how to get your attention if you are passing out food, so be ready for the deer to nudge you in some tender places to get your attention.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The full day pace is intense.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Reis was goed georganiseerd. Alles op tijd, boekingen in orde, hotel prima. Eerste gids (Mount Fuji) was uitstekend. Tweede gids (Kyoto en Nara) praatte veel te veel en was moeilijk verstaanbaar. Trip is de moeite waard. Geeft naast het 'westerse' Tokio een beeld van het meer traditionele Japan.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

Excellent tour. Very well organised with great tour guides. I personally found the first day quite taxing and could have happily visited either the Owakudani Ropeway or Lake Ashi on the Pirate boat, both of which were interesting, but possibly not both. After that, the ride on the Shinkansen to Kyoto was nice, but in the dark and stopping at almost every station (in spite of being a "superexpress train", having to change trains at Nagoya, and not getting to the hotel until around 10 p.m made it a very long day, as I had to be up at 6 a.m. to get to the beginning of the tour. The Righa Royal Hotel in Kyoto was very comfortable and good quality for a tourist class hotel, but I was surprised to have to pay extra for breakfast at 25,000 yen each day for a buffet breakfast, even accounting for the high prices in Japan as a whole. Generally a good trip and to be recommended. If you travel, as I did, on your own, one of the highlights of the trip may be meeting others from many countries taking the same trip. I found that part very pleasant and interesting.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2011

We found our trip not only very educational,
but found our guides entertaining and engaging,
helping us with our Japanese. The staff meeting
at the bullet train was extremely efficient and
made us feel safe and secure knowing they
Were always on time to meet us.

Miriam and Gordon-Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

Our tour guide was absolutely excellent during the Mount Fuji portion of the tour. The Kyoto and Nara were standard large group bus tours. The third day - we were "on our own" - was not very good. I would rather have had more guided sightseeing.

Suzanne W
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2010

Viator books and communicates excellently. Our particular journey was fraught with a snowstorm on top of Mt. Fuji and unexpected 5 hour traffic jam. We should have been sent back to Tokyo but our tour guide did not do this - another group did and did not have to wait out the traffic jam. Otherwise the trip was excellent, and the snowstorm was unusual. It is quite a busy trip seeing places in a rush, not for those who like to take their time. For my purposes, it worked and was excellent. Guides speak reasonably good English.

Wilson T
Singapore

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

The only disappointment was not being able to go up to the 5th station at Mt Fuji due to weather. Lunch was good.

From USD $ 549.62

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2142TYO_SH3

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message