4.5 star rating: Recommended 112 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Tokyo, Japan
  • Duration:  12 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 112 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Stephen C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

We really loved the trip...What a blast!

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

I thought every aspect of the day was excellent! I just wish I had planned for more time in Kyoto, like several days!

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

We loved the train ride in first class. Very relaxing and a treat. Lunch buffet was wonderful. Only advice - don't book the trip for the hottest and most humid week of the year in August which made it hard to concentrate on the beautiful sights. Guide was very nice and informative as we drove around the city.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This was an excellent tour. It's a long day, so they try to get as much in as possible. The Hamamatsucho bus terminal can be chaotic, but the Sunrise Travel staff was very cheery and helpful despite the throngs of tourists trying to get their tickets. We left the station on a bus for Tokyo Station. Once there, we were guided to our train platform where we waited for the Shinkansen to arrive. I was seated in the green car (first class) and would recommend it. It was spacious and not nearly as crowded as the other cars on the train. It was a clear day and we had a nice view of Mt. Fuji on the way down. The bullet train is a great experience. Upon arrival in Kyoto, we were greeted at the platform and led across the street to a hotel for a buffet lunch. From there, we were divided into groups and put on buses for the afternoon tour. We went to Heian Jingu Shrine first. Like many of these group tours that are limited on time, we felt a bit rushed here. You don't really have the time to explore the shrine or grounds unless you want to just leave the tour guide behind for 30 minutes. I felt we could have seen a lot more here. Back on the bus for stop #2 at Sanju-Sangendo temple. Again, we felt rushed. There was not enough time here because you go inside the temple to see the famous statues and hear the stories, but by the time you finish that portion, you have 5 minutes before the bus leaves. I ended up running around (literally) to take some pictures of this beautiful place before the bus left. Third and final stop was at Kiyomizudera temple. This is a very busy place with shops lining the streets nearby. I felt we had enough time to view and shop here. We even saw the sunset over Kyoto from high atop the mountain. Overall, a great tour and well organized, if rushed at times.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Great day trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

I took the 2 day tour 5 years ago and this one day version did not disappoint. I would recommend to any newcomer to Japan.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

It was a really great experience, the guides were really helpful an nice.
Though it was a very short trip to Kyoto, I would recommend this to those who don't have much time in Japan, but want to see some highlights of Kyoto :)

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

I enjoyed the Bullet Train experience. Staff were very good at being present to send you off and meet you at the stations. The afternoon tours of the various temples was OK, but I would have rather had other choices to see.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Smooth and efficient tour. The tourguide was knowledgeable and we gained a lot of interesting information about the places we visited as well as Japan. The other tour guides who accompanied us from station to station were also polite and helpful. Worth the tour if you have never been to Kyoto and/or your command of Japanese is poor.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Great tour! Wish there would have been more shrines but service and coordination was fantastic. I would highly recommend especially if you do not want to stay overnight in Kyoto.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

A long day. Finding Sunrise tours was much easier as this was our second tour with them. The bus terminal is extremly busy this time of the morning and we found ourselves against the flow of people. A short coach ride to the train station and onto the bullet train, the guide placed us exactly wher we need to board the train and we had reserved seats. Journey is about 2 hours
At Kyoto the hotel where we had lunch is right opposite the train station. Lunch was very good, a huge buffet plus a main course, drinks were included.
Onto a coach and the site seeing started. An excellent English speaking tour guide.
The afternoon passed so quickly and we were soon back on the coach heading for the hotel to be guided back onto the bullet train.
At the Tokyo end we were met again and taken outside of the train station, and given a taxi to take us back to our hotel.
Very well run. Faultless.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

The train ride was great in terms of travel time ( 2 hours each way) but it was cloudy, so no view of Mt Fuji. The hotel restaurant buffet was excellent. The 1/2 day tour was good (especially the 1000 buddhas) but I would advise to make the trip to Kyoto an overnight and do a full day tour which would include the golden and silver pagodas.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

on time, well organized and efficient! loved it! beautiful

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

sunrise agent was magnificent at all times; very good

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

A great way to experience the bullet train and Kyoto if you don't have much time. The tour is extremely well organised...we arrived at the wrong place to start the trip (our mix up) and they did a great job getting to the train on time!

From USD $ 396.28

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2142TYO_QT1

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message