4.5 star rating: Recommended 129 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Tokyo, Japan
  • Duration:  12 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 129 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

Well , This is the first time we have used Viator.com services. I must say , It was very good exp . The guide were friendly and helpful , the visit to Kyoto was well oragnised and the overall exp was great. I will recommend Viator

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

Tour was compact, timely; tour guide was excellent with clear English. We loved the international lunch buffet. If you can afford to pay for bullet train 1st class tickets (green cars) it will be a very good choice. Down turn very little time to spend in a nice area like this, if you can spend more than 2 days (do it). Still it was very good for me and my wife because we did not have time. Good value for money in expensive country like Japan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

We met awfully nice people on this trip. The tour guide was extremely funny with lots of information. We had a great time. After a long day trip like this, it was nice to have a private taxi to us back to the hotel.

Gunter
Deutschland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

If you do not have more time than one day then it is perfect. I would just only skip lunch and add one or two more places to see.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

If you only have one day to get to Kyoto from Tokyo, this is a great way to go. Unfortunately, Kyoto really needs more than the half day you get there.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

Very well organized. If you only have one day to see Kyoto from Tokyo, I highly recommend this trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

This was our first day in Japan and we could not have been more pleased with the tour we took with viator. It was extremely well organized, the tour guide was lovely and the selected sites were most impressive. My only less than positive comment would be about the buffet lunch served at the hotel before the tour started. It was fine, but it wasn't exactly a highlight of our trip.

Rolando R
Thailand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2009

Great experience if you don't have more time to stay in Kyoto.

Gila R
Israel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2009

Superb guide excellent English, lots of information, the train was amazing, lunch could have been shorter, was very good but we could have seen another sight. Cherry blossoms were amazing!! So much to see in Kyoto!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2009

We chose this tour as we had just one day to see Kyoto and we were delighted with our choice. The pick-up and transfer to the train were on time and so well organized, the views of Mt Fuji from the train were spectacular. On arriving in Kyoto we were met by a guide and taken for a fantastic lunch at the hotel right across the road from the station. The tour itself was wonderful, although a bit rushed due to the short time available, but we saw the highlights and loved it all. The guide was excellent. All in all we highly recommend this tour for anyone short on time - definitely worth doing despite the high price.

Stephen C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

We really loved the trip...What a blast!

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

I thought every aspect of the day was excellent! I just wish I had planned for more time in Kyoto, like several days!

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

We loved the train ride in first class. Very relaxing and a treat. Lunch buffet was wonderful. Only advice - don't book the trip for the hottest and most humid week of the year in August which made it hard to concentrate on the beautiful sights. Guide was very nice and informative as we drove around the city.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

The trip on the Bullet Train was fabulous,but there wasn't enough time to look round Kyoto. We would spend 2 night there if we went back to Japan. An afternoon city tour would have been preferable to the shrine and temple tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Good snapshot of Kyoto if you have only a day to spend there. The itinerary is a bit rushed and going on a Saturday it was very congested at the sites, but definitely worth it. They stuck to the schedule and the logistics were very smooth. Make sure you coordinate pick up and drop off at the hotel.

From USD $ 380.97

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2142TYO_QT1

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message