Viewing All 186 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

rich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

The tour was excellent. Everything went as planned and exactly on time. The guides were friendly and very helpful. The lunch was superb. Kyoto was very nice. The unexpected view of Mt. Fuji from the Shinkansen (Bullet) train was an added treat.

tatsuzakius Bolivia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

the experience for the ride in bullet train was great!!! our guide in Kyoto was great too, he was very funny and gave us a lot of information about all those gorgeous temples. the only thing was the lunch .....we prefer Japanese traditional food, instead of western style lunch. it was disappointing that we couldn't try the famous Kyoto tempura.

Sridhar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

Well , This is the first time we have used Viator.com services. I must say , It was very good exp . The guide were friendly and helpful , the visit to Kyoto was well oragnised and the overall exp was great. I will recommend Viator

Hatem Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

Tour was compact, timely; tour guide was excellent with clear English. We loved the international lunch buffet. If you can afford to pay for bullet train 1st class tickets (green cars) it will be a very good choice. Down turn very little time to spend in a nice area like this, if you can spend more than 2 days (do it). Still it was very good for me and my wife because we did not have time. Good value for money in expensive country like Japan

MYSHEL G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

We met awfully nice people on this trip. The tour guide was extremely funny with lots of information. We had a great time. After a long day trip like this, it was nice to have a private taxi to us back to the hotel.

Gunter Deutschland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

If you do not have more time than one day then it is perfect. I would just only skip lunch and add one or two more places to see.

Karin R USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

If you only have one day to get to Kyoto from Tokyo, this is a great way to go. Unfortunately, Kyoto really needs more than the half day you get there.

Alison L USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

Very well organized. If you only have one day to see Kyoto from Tokyo, I highly recommend this trip.

Leslie Z USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

This was our first day in Japan and we could not have been more pleased with the tour we took with viator. It was extremely well organized, the tour guide was lovely and the selected sites were most impressive. My only less than positive comment would be about the buffet lunch served at the hotel before the tour started. It was fine, but it wasn't exactly a highlight of our trip.

Rolando R Thailand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2009

Great experience if you don't have more time to stay in Kyoto.

Gila R Israel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2009

Superb guide excellent English, lots of information, the train was amazing, lunch could have been shorter, was very good but we could have seen another sight. Cherry blossoms were amazing!! So much to see in Kyoto!

Sharon M Israel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2009

We chose this tour as we had just one day to see Kyoto and we were delighted with our choice. The pick-up and transfer to the train were on time and so well organized, the views of Mt Fuji from the train were spectacular. On arriving in Kyoto we were met by a guide and taken for a fantastic lunch at the hotel right across the road from the station. The tour itself was wonderful, although a bit rushed due to the short time available, but we saw the highlights and loved it all. The guide was excellent. All in all we highly recommend this tour for anyone short on time - definitely worth doing despite the high price.

Stephen C Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

We really loved the trip...What a blast!

Anne J USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

I thought every aspect of the day was excellent! I just wish I had planned for more time in Kyoto, like several days!

Michael B USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

We loved the train ride in first class. Very relaxing and a treat. Lunch buffet was wonderful. Only advice - don't book the trip for the hottest and most humid week of the year in August which made it hard to concentrate on the beautiful sights. Guide was very nice and informative as we drove around the city.

Anthony M

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

I enjoyed this tour very much even though the rain spoiled somewhat the evening part of the tour. I would reccommend a longer stay in Kyoto. The one day is just too short.

Connor F

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Overall, this was a good tour trip, but our trip almost didn't happen due to poor communication by both Viator and the tour provider regarding hotel pickup time. There were no details in the confirmation, and the website only said: Departure time Selected hotels: 8am to 9am. So when we went to our hotel lobby a few minutes before 8, our ride had already come and gone at 7:45. Fortunately the driver was kind enough to leave a note with all the details, and we were able to take a taxi to the station. The pickup time was never communicated. Please improve this aspect. Other than that, every other aspect of the tour was excellent. Great guides, great sites, great lunch, great bus rides, great train rides. Thanks again!

Tony R

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Our Kyoto tour by bullet train from Tokyo was great. Tour staff were efficient, helpful and friendly, even walking us to our door to the train. Kyoto is a lovely city and the afternoon tour was interesting and worthwhile. Upon return to Tokyo at 9pm we were met again by tour staff.

Lisa S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

It was a great tour. Tour guide had great information about everything. Only thing it was very rushed and hardly had time to really enjoy and see everything and go shopping at the end. That was very disappointing.

Mary Jayne C

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The tour directions were easy to follow and the guides, especially for getting onto and off of the Shinkansen, we're so helpful and courteous. My only suggestion is to offer Japanese food for the luncheon. I have been in Japan for over two weeks, and I prefer to eat traditional Japanese food than Western cuisine. Even a Bento box would be more authentic and enjoyable. At least give an option for Japanese or Western style meals.

sharon m

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Bullet train experience was first class. Lunch was rather disconcerting when after fifteen minutes we were told that the service was closed for 30 minutes. We had only 15 minutes left to eat and continue on the tour. We were herded onto a bus of over thirty other tourists. The guide was excellent and the temples are the highlight.

Jurgen B

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

excellent organisation

Margret M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The tour was very well organized and everyone was very careful to be sure we were in the right place at the right time. The explanations about the temple and shrine were good but we could have had more information about Kyoto itself as it is such a historical place. The bullet train ride was excellent not only for its efficiency but you get to see the countryside.

Tau Yap C

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

A very pleasant trip. Tour guide were extremely helpful.

Michael R

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Nice tour. It is a challenge to cram all of Kyoto in one day. I would have like more sights and less free time. The guide was great and going on the bullet train was an experience.

Viewing 4 of 8

Page: Previous | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | Next

From USD $ 399.26

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2142TYO_QT1

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message