• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 98 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Tokyo, Japan
  • Duration:  12 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 98 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Smooth and efficient tour. The tourguide was knowledgeable and we gained a lot of interesting information about the places we visited as well as Japan. The other tour guides who accompanied us from station to station were also polite and helpful. Worth the tour if you have never been to Kyoto and/or your command of Japanese is poor.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Great tour! Wish there would have been more shrines but service and coordination was fantastic. I would highly recommend especially if you do not want to stay overnight in Kyoto.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

A long day. Finding Sunrise tours was much easier as this was our second tour with them. The bus terminal is extremly busy this time of the morning and we found ourselves against the flow of people. A short coach ride to the train station and onto the bullet train, the guide placed us exactly wher we need to board the train and we had reserved seats. Journey is about 2 hours
At Kyoto the hotel where we had lunch is right opposite the train station. Lunch was very good, a huge buffet plus a main course, drinks were included.
Onto a coach and the site seeing started. An excellent English speaking tour guide.
The afternoon passed so quickly and we were soon back on the coach heading for the hotel to be guided back onto the bullet train.
At the Tokyo end we were met again and taken outside of the train station, and given a taxi to take us back to our hotel.
Very well run. Faultless.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

The train ride was great in terms of travel time ( 2 hours each way) but it was cloudy, so no view of Mt Fuji. The hotel restaurant buffet was excellent. The 1/2 day tour was good (especially the 1000 buddhas) but I would advise to make the trip to Kyoto an overnight and do a full day tour which would include the golden and silver pagodas.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

on time, well organized and efficient! loved it! beautiful

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

sunrise agent was magnificent at all times; very good

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

A great way to experience the bullet train and Kyoto if you don't have much time. The tour is extremely well organised...we arrived at the wrong place to start the trip (our mix up) and they did a great job getting to the train on time!

Beverley M
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Very well organised. Chose green class which was very quiet and comfortable. Worth the extra for making a once in a lifetime trip extra special especially as it is quite a long day. Lunch in hotel on arrival was excellent exceeding expectations, three courses with western and Japanese options - the coffee jelly was amazing!

Tour guide was informative. The three stops were interesting with a decent amount of time at each. However, do expect a bit of a climb (about 10 mins) to reach the final temple. There are also a fair number of steps through out the tour. Notably at the final stop where there were no hand rails and we could not find any alternative access so do bear this in mind if taking a buggy or if this might be an issue for someone in your party.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Interesting to see Kyoto, but a long day and quite rushed at the three sites visited

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Very good experience. tour guide was excellent. very helpful.Good lunch. Have fallen in love with Kyoto. This is a country worth while coming again

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

The tour was good. Think it was a bit pricey for a one day tour but the bullet train is expensive. The first 2 shrines was escorted and narrated but the last temple we were on our own. The train was a good experience and saved a lot of time. It was organized and on time. Lunch was delicious.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

We hoped the bullet train would give us more time in Kyoto but other than that, the trip was great.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Had agreat time guides were prompt and efficient. Enjoyed the temples.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

staff before and after bullet train excellent.... host on bus tour of kyoto, could have been bit clearer...

Robert W
Nederland

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

Expensive but very well worth it

From USD $ 411.47

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2142TYO_QT1

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message