4.5 star rating: Recommended 167 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Tokyo, Japan
  • Duration:  12 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 167 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Gila R
Israel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2009

Superb guide excellent English, lots of information, the train was amazing, lunch could have been shorter, was very good but we could have seen another sight. Cherry blossoms were amazing!! So much to see in Kyoto!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2009

We chose this tour as we had just one day to see Kyoto and we were delighted with our choice. The pick-up and transfer to the train were on time and so well organized, the views of Mt Fuji from the train were spectacular. On arriving in Kyoto we were met by a guide and taken for a fantastic lunch at the hotel right across the road from the station. The tour itself was wonderful, although a bit rushed due to the short time available, but we saw the highlights and loved it all. The guide was excellent. All in all we highly recommend this tour for anyone short on time - definitely worth doing despite the high price.

Stephen C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

We really loved the trip...What a blast!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

I thought every aspect of the day was excellent! I just wish I had planned for more time in Kyoto, like several days!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

We loved the train ride in first class. Very relaxing and a treat. Lunch buffet was wonderful. Only advice - don't book the trip for the hottest and most humid week of the year in August which made it hard to concentrate on the beautiful sights. Guide was very nice and informative as we drove around the city.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

It was a great tour. Tour guide had great information about everything. Only thing it was very rushed and hardly had time to really enjoy and see everything and go shopping at the end. That was very disappointing.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The tour directions were easy to follow and the guides, especially for getting onto and off of the Shinkansen, we're so helpful and courteous. My only suggestion is to offer Japanese food for the luncheon. I have been in Japan for over two weeks, and I prefer to eat traditional Japanese food than Western cuisine. Even a Bento box would be more authentic and enjoyable. At least give an option for Japanese or Western style meals.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Bullet train experience was first class. Lunch was rather disconcerting when after fifteen minutes we were told that the service was closed for 30 minutes. We had only 15 minutes left to eat and continue on the tour. We were herded onto a bus of over thirty other tourists. The guide was excellent and the temples are the highlight.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

excellent organisation

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The tour was very well organized and everyone was very careful to be sure we were in the right place at the right time. The explanations about the temple and shrine were good but we could have had more information about Kyoto itself as it is such a historical place. The bullet train ride was excellent not only for its efficiency but you get to see the countryside.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

A very pleasant trip. Tour guide were extremely helpful.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Nice tour. It is a challenge to cram all of Kyoto in one day. I would have like more sights and less free time. The guide was great and going on the bullet train was an experience.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The shrines on this tour were amazing, but this tour felt a little rushed. It tries to accomplish a lot in a limited time. The tour guide was excellent though.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Good information,good organization ,Good guide

Devon F
United States of America

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

This tour was informative and well organized. The tour operators were extremely helpful, taking us to the train platform to ensure we made it on the train and meeting us as soon as we got off. From the bullet train, we were able to see a very clear view of Mt. Fuji and got some great pictures! Ive heard that the weather doesnt always cooperate and we happened to go on a clear day. There was a good mix of temples and shrines to see and we even had time to do some shopping at one of the markets. We did get back late, but the tour included taxi transportation back to our hotel, which was a relief since we were ready for bed!

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Enjoyed the trip but almost missed the train back due to really heavy traffic in Kyoto. Travel agents extremely helpful and was an enjoyable day's experience.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

The trip on the Bullet Train was fabulous,but there wasn't enough time to look round Kyoto. We would spend 2 night there if we went back to Japan. An afternoon city tour would have been preferable to the shrine and temple tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Good snapshot of Kyoto if you have only a day to spend there. The itinerary is a bit rushed and going on a Saturday it was very congested at the sites, but definitely worth it. They stuck to the schedule and the logistics were very smooth. Make sure you coordinate pick up and drop off at the hotel.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We had a wonderful experience on this excursion. Bullet train was so smooth and fast. Guides who met us in both Tokyo and Kyoto couldn't have been nicer. Made sure we got to the train station on time and waited until we had boarded before they left. Guided tour in Kyoto was interesting but because of the number of tourists at some of the sites had to walk quite a ways. The local guide did not use a microphone when we were at the sites so could not always hear what she was telling us. The shrines and temples were very interesting. Wish we could have had a little more time at them but know we were on a timetable to get back for the train. The lunch that was included in Kyoto was excellent. We made this trip on our last day in Japan and were so glad we decided to do it.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This was an excellent tour. It's a long day, so they try to get as much in as possible. The Hamamatsucho bus terminal can be chaotic, but the Sunrise Travel staff was very cheery and helpful despite the throngs of tourists trying to get their tickets. We left the station on a bus for Tokyo Station. Once there, we were guided to our train platform where we waited for the Shinkansen to arrive. I was seated in the green car (first class) and would recommend it. It was spacious and not nearly as crowded as the other cars on the train. It was a clear day and we had a nice view of Mt. Fuji on the way down. The bullet train is a great experience. Upon arrival in Kyoto, we were greeted at the platform and led across the street to a hotel for a buffet lunch. From there, we were divided into groups and put on buses for the afternoon tour. We went to Heian Jingu Shrine first. Like many of these group tours that are limited on time, we felt a bit rushed here. You don't really have the time to explore the shrine or grounds unless you want to just leave the tour guide behind for 30 minutes. I felt we could have seen a lot more here. Back on the bus for stop #2 at Sanju-Sangendo temple. Again, we felt rushed. There was not enough time here because you go inside the temple to see the famous statues and hear the stories, but by the time you finish that portion, you have 5 minutes before the bus leaves. I ended up running around (literally) to take some pictures of this beautiful place before the bus left. Third and final stop was at Kiyomizudera temple. This is a very busy place with shops lining the streets nearby. I felt we had enough time to view and shop here. We even saw the sunset over Kyoto from high atop the mountain. Overall, a great tour and well organized, if rushed at times.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Great day trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

I took the 2 day tour 5 years ago and this one day version did not disappoint. I would recommend to any newcomer to Japan.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

It was a really great experience, the guides were really helpful an nice.
Though it was a very short trip to Kyoto, I would recommend this to those who don't have much time in Japan, but want to see some highlights of Kyoto :)

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

I enjoyed the Bullet Train experience. Staff were very good at being present to send you off and meet you at the stations. The afternoon tours of the various temples was OK, but I would have rather had other choices to see.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Smooth and efficient tour. The tourguide was knowledgeable and we gained a lot of interesting information about the places we visited as well as Japan. The other tour guides who accompanied us from station to station were also polite and helpful. Worth the tour if you have never been to Kyoto and/or your command of Japanese is poor.

From USD $ 369.71

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2142TYO_QT1

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message