4.5 star rating: Recommended 123 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Tokyo, Japan
  • Duration:  12 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 123 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

If you only have one day to get to Kyoto from Tokyo, this is a great way to go. Unfortunately, Kyoto really needs more than the half day you get there.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

Very well organized. If you only have one day to see Kyoto from Tokyo, I highly recommend this trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

This was our first day in Japan and we could not have been more pleased with the tour we took with viator. It was extremely well organized, the tour guide was lovely and the selected sites were most impressive. My only less than positive comment would be about the buffet lunch served at the hotel before the tour started. It was fine, but it wasn't exactly a highlight of our trip.

Rolando R
Thailand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2009

Great experience if you don't have more time to stay in Kyoto.

Gila R
Israel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2009

Superb guide excellent English, lots of information, the train was amazing, lunch could have been shorter, was very good but we could have seen another sight. Cherry blossoms were amazing!! So much to see in Kyoto!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2009

We chose this tour as we had just one day to see Kyoto and we were delighted with our choice. The pick-up and transfer to the train were on time and so well organized, the views of Mt Fuji from the train were spectacular. On arriving in Kyoto we were met by a guide and taken for a fantastic lunch at the hotel right across the road from the station. The tour itself was wonderful, although a bit rushed due to the short time available, but we saw the highlights and loved it all. The guide was excellent. All in all we highly recommend this tour for anyone short on time - definitely worth doing despite the high price.

Stephen C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

We really loved the trip...What a blast!

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

I thought every aspect of the day was excellent! I just wish I had planned for more time in Kyoto, like several days!

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

We loved the train ride in first class. Very relaxing and a treat. Lunch buffet was wonderful. Only advice - don't book the trip for the hottest and most humid week of the year in August which made it hard to concentrate on the beautiful sights. Guide was very nice and informative as we drove around the city.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

The trip on the Bullet Train was fabulous,but there wasn't enough time to look round Kyoto. We would spend 2 night there if we went back to Japan. An afternoon city tour would have been preferable to the shrine and temple tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Good snapshot of Kyoto if you have only a day to spend there. The itinerary is a bit rushed and going on a Saturday it was very congested at the sites, but definitely worth it. They stuck to the schedule and the logistics were very smooth. Make sure you coordinate pick up and drop off at the hotel.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We had a wonderful experience on this excursion. Bullet train was so smooth and fast. Guides who met us in both Tokyo and Kyoto couldn't have been nicer. Made sure we got to the train station on time and waited until we had boarded before they left. Guided tour in Kyoto was interesting but because of the number of tourists at some of the sites had to walk quite a ways. The local guide did not use a microphone when we were at the sites so could not always hear what she was telling us. The shrines and temples were very interesting. Wish we could have had a little more time at them but know we were on a timetable to get back for the train. The lunch that was included in Kyoto was excellent. We made this trip on our last day in Japan and were so glad we decided to do it.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This was an excellent tour. It's a long day, so they try to get as much in as possible. The Hamamatsucho bus terminal can be chaotic, but the Sunrise Travel staff was very cheery and helpful despite the throngs of tourists trying to get their tickets. We left the station on a bus for Tokyo Station. Once there, we were guided to our train platform where we waited for the Shinkansen to arrive. I was seated in the green car (first class) and would recommend it. It was spacious and not nearly as crowded as the other cars on the train. It was a clear day and we had a nice view of Mt. Fuji on the way down. The bullet train is a great experience. Upon arrival in Kyoto, we were greeted at the platform and led across the street to a hotel for a buffet lunch. From there, we were divided into groups and put on buses for the afternoon tour. We went to Heian Jingu Shrine first. Like many of these group tours that are limited on time, we felt a bit rushed here. You don't really have the time to explore the shrine or grounds unless you want to just leave the tour guide behind for 30 minutes. I felt we could have seen a lot more here. Back on the bus for stop #2 at Sanju-Sangendo temple. Again, we felt rushed. There was not enough time here because you go inside the temple to see the famous statues and hear the stories, but by the time you finish that portion, you have 5 minutes before the bus leaves. I ended up running around (literally) to take some pictures of this beautiful place before the bus left. Third and final stop was at Kiyomizudera temple. This is a very busy place with shops lining the streets nearby. I felt we had enough time to view and shop here. We even saw the sunset over Kyoto from high atop the mountain. Overall, a great tour and well organized, if rushed at times.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Great day trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

I took the 2 day tour 5 years ago and this one day version did not disappoint. I would recommend to any newcomer to Japan.

From USD $ 320.58

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2142TYO_QT1

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message