4.5 star rating: Recommended 108 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Tokyo, Japan
  • Duration:  2 days / 1 night or 3 days / 2 nights

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Kyoto and Nara 2-Day or 3-Day Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 108 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

I really loved Kyoto and Nara. The tour and hotel were good!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Amazing!

Alan B
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

I have sent a note of appreciation under separate cover. The Viator staff was extremely helpful, the tour was well organized and paced perfectly.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

The trip was an excellent way for the novice to get around Japan. The hotel pickups were wonderful and the guides where very informative.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

A great trip. Every thing went as scheduled.

Ronald F
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Pick up & delivery to trains excellent! Especially commend Yoki who took us in Tokyo to train. Train seats excellent as was Okura hotel. Lunches good both days. Tour of Nara good - tours of Kyoto even better guides, especially afternoon guide excellent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

In general this was a great trip. Everything was perfectly organized. Only bad thing was the booked "first" class hotel which had the standard of a 3 star hotel and therefore not worth the money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

Very dedicated and professional guides.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2009

This was a great tour, with excellent support services throughout.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2009

The tour guides were excellent for the most part. One spoke without waiting for the tour group to gather, so we missed a lot of what she had to say. The places we went were very interesting and beautiful. We loved the hotel--not only was it nice inside and out, but the service was excellent. We were well cared for, and everything went as planned. It was wonderful!!

Matthew G
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

This trip certainly packs a lot into a short space of time. If you don't have long and you want to see all the "must visit" places in Kyoto and Nara, then this trip is for you. The bullet train adds an extra dimension of cool to the trip! OK, you don't always get a great deal of time at some places, but this is compensated for by the amount that you get to see. The tour guides and transportation between places make it easy for you to maximise your sight-seeing time, rather than trying to make you own way round and getting lost! Overall, I really enjoyed the 2-day trip to the ancient capitals of Japan.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Great trip; the tour folks took us onto the bullet train in Tokyo and then met us at the other end in Kyoto.

Thomas L
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Great experience on the Shinkansen. The shrines, temples, Nijo castle, and the Imperial Palace in Kyoto are world-class sights. The New Miyako Hotel was very good as well.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2007

The trip was more than I expected from beginning to end. I stayed at the Okura Hotel and it was superb. The bullet train was exhilarating and the lunch at the New Miyako Hotel in Kyoto was delicious. The tour guides were knowledgeable and interesting. Despite the rainy weather, the trip was uplifting, informative and recommended to all! I loved having someone take me to the train track in both cities and having someone meeting me at the end of the train ride. A nice touch for a foreigner.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

A bit rushed at times but a very enjoyable visit. The hotel was excellent and all of the transportation was first rate. Not clear on your site was the fact that not only did we have hotel pick-up but Sunrise also provide taxi return to our hotel back in Tokyo.

Gary C
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

The tour is quite nice but the return trip to Tokyo should depart earlier so that you can arrange dinner plans in Tokyo. The return train trip should depart at 4:30 p.m. instead of 6:15 p.m. Shorten the tour by 2 hours on the last day.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Even though weather a the last day we had rain all day it was a great trip. Eve

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Fine tour if you are pressed for time. The tour is structured as 3 half-day tours, plus the roundtrip bullet train from Tokyo. After leaving Tokyo on the morning of the first tour you arrive in Kyoto where you have a Western style buffet lunch. Following lunch you have a 1/2 day tour. In my particular case the tour was of Nara. The next day you have another 1/2 day followed by lunch at Japanese restaurant, then another 1/2 day tour. In my case both 1/2 day tours were of Kyoto. The tour to Nara was about 90 minutes from Kyoto. In Nara you stop at a Buddhist temple containing the largest cast Budda in the world. Then you proceed to a Shinto Shrine. Following this there is a brief rest stop where you can use the toilet and buy snacks and souvenirs. The two Kyoto 1/2 day tours involved driving to someplace, spending about 20 minutes there, and driving someplace else. At any of the places I stopped on either of the 3 tours I could have easily spent much longer exploring-but then I would not have seen all that I saw. I really wished I had spent another day so that I could go back to some of the places for more leisurely sightseeing.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Well organized and efficiently managed. Very helpful and courteous staff at all points. Comfortable hotel.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Overall the tour was excellent. Door to door pickup and drop off (limo to hotel on return) was excellent. The afternoon tour to Nara was excellent. The morning and afternoon Kyoto tours were also excellent. Great variety of places visited ensured that it was not just another shrine type tour. The guide (we had the same one for the 3 tours) was very good, her knowledge and English excellent. Overall would recommend to anyone -- except the Hotel Monterey Kyoto. The public areas on the ground floor are very nice. But this is where it stops. The rooms are small with basic furniture, very poor selection of TV (for English speakers) and the air conditioning is hit and miss. The breakfast room is still in the eighties (and the last time the seats were upholstered). Food was even less appealing. Eat and drink outside the hotel as it is much better and cheaper.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Excellent tour, very informative with knowledgeable tour guides,and everything was very well organised to the minute from pick up from the hotel to the drop off at the train station and drop off to the hotel at the end of the 2 days tour, by taxi after arriving in Tokyo station welcomed by a tour employee.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The tour was nice and the tour guides were very supportive and knowledgeable.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

We thoughrally enjoyed this tour. Four stars

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Excellent tour. Very well organised with guides who were both knowledgeable and entertaining. Would highly recommend.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

The tour was very well organized. In particular, I appreciate the hotel pick-up and the taxi drop off service. One of the tour guides in Kyoto was very interesting and informative; his sense of humor kept the guests laughing throughout the day. The hotel in Kyoto was situated right across from the train station, but the quality was much better than a normal train station hotel; it was worth the 4-star rating. The sightseeing visits to the shogun palace, Shinto shrines and Buddhist temples were all enjoyable. Meals were good. Overall, this was a great tour.

From USD $ 549.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2142TYO_QT2_QT3

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message