• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 58 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Tokyo, Japan
  • Duration:  2 days / 1 night or 3 days / 2 nights

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Kyoto and Nara 2-Day or 3-Day Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 58 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Thomas L
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Great experience on the Shinkansen. The shrines, temples, Nijo castle, and the Imperial Palace in Kyoto are world-class sights. The New Miyako Hotel was very good as well.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2007

The trip was more than I expected from beginning to end. I stayed at the Okura Hotel and it was superb. The bullet train was exhilarating and the lunch at the New Miyako Hotel in Kyoto was delicious. The tour guides were knowledgeable and interesting. Despite the rainy weather, the trip was uplifting, informative and recommended to all! I loved having someone take me to the train track in both cities and having someone meeting me at the end of the train ride. A nice touch for a foreigner.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Excellent tour. Very well organised with guides who were both knowledgeable and entertaining. Would highly recommend.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

The tour was very well organized. In particular, I appreciate the hotel pick-up and the taxi drop off service. One of the tour guides in Kyoto was very interesting and informative; his sense of humor kept the guests laughing throughout the day. The hotel in Kyoto was situated right across from the train station, but the quality was much better than a normal train station hotel; it was worth the 4-star rating. The sightseeing visits to the shogun palace, Shinto shrines and Buddhist temples were all enjoyable. Meals were good. Overall, this was a great tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Great trip, well planned and perfectly executed. Excellent guides, although the lady on the second day was very difficult to understand. She was very knowledgeable, but her English left a little to be desired.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

I did the 3 day tour and it was great. There's loads to see in Kyoto definitely worth a visit if you have time.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Well organised except sight seeing tour is a bit rush. I think older adults and younger children might not be able to keep up to the pace.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

The 3 day tour was great. The tour guides were good and timely and orderly which I really appreciated. I would travel with your company again.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

We had a 2 day trip. Looked forward to riding bullet train. It was expensive compared to other tours, I think
this was because of inclusion of bullet train. After a few minutes ride, the bullet train did not seem any faster or special than Acela train in USA.! . We had Nara trip in the afternoon of first day. Buffet lunch was good. The guide provided full details of shrines etc. Enjoyed taking pictures of Kyoto gardens and shrines.
Pick up and drop off arrangements were very much appreciated. .

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

This was great tour. Everything went like clockwork. The tour guides and coordinators were efficient and very informative. One small glitch was the tour guide for the afternoon for Kyoto didn't have a microphone and at times it was difficult to hear him, since we had a large group.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

Everything went well. Air conditioner on the bus was not working properly

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

culture filled, and agency is nice with good background

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

I had a wonderful time on this trip and is well worth doing if able to see Kyoto, very different to Tokyo. Only criticism I would state is that the imperial palace is very strict so you are unable to have any free time, but you can take photos. The only other downside is that you do not get much free time at each place to do much gift/tourist shopping. However, I must say that the tour company is very good and as the trains are so punctual someone was there to put me onto the bullet train and then somebody was there to meet me on the platform at Kyoto. Everything to the trip was so organised and the English guides were very knowledgeable and helpful. Would recommend anyone to go on this trip as I know at some point I will definately return to Japan and even do these trips again.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

We found the organization, the service and the attention of the tour guides to be excellent. Where there seemed to be a drop in the excellent service was the meal and visit of the craft center. Otherwise: A+.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

I was very pleased with my Sunrise two day tour from Tokyo to Nara and Kyoto. The individual tours ran on time, the guides spoked excellent English and were very knowledgeable about the subject matter. The lunches were more than enough, the tour buses and accommodation were very good. My only quibble was in surfing the net to decide on a tour from Tokyo - I wish it had been mentioned that people who take the three day tour often use the third day to go to Hiroshima by train. Had I known that I would have booked the three day tour. Aside from that the tour I took was excellent. Thank you. I would definitely seek out Sunrise through Viator again. Regards, Kate Hannon.

Special Offer
$681.52 Save $44.08

From USD $ 637.44

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2142TYO_QT2_QT3

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message