4.5 star rating: Recommended 91 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Tokyo, Japan
  • Duration:  2 days / 1 night or 3 days / 2 nights

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Kyoto and Nara 2-Day or 3-Day Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 91 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

It was a fabulous tour, meticulously planned and perfectly executed. Bus picked us on time, tour guide handed over detailed instructions and accompanied us to the railway platform to board the Bullet train. Another guide received us at the Kyoto railway station. The two day sight seeing tour was well planned with regular toilet breaks and enough time for leisurely lunches. Our overnight stay hotel had well appointed, big rooms. Food was tasty and special care was taken to cater to vegetarians. Tour guides spoke reasonable English and were well informed of the history and culture of Japan. The staff was very caring and respectful. We have travelled the world but no where have we experienced such personal attention and a helpful attitude.

When I booked the tour from India I felt it was quite expensive, considering travel in India is cheap. But the wonderful experience and the care of staff and quality of hotel I think we got good value for money.

We will recommend this tour to anyone who is visiting Japan.

Pradeep Kashyap
CEO, MART
India

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

From start to finish a great trip. The tour operator was very well organized, on time, guides knowledgeable and efficient. All in all an excellent experience. We will definitely use Viator again. Actually we are in September in Bergen, Norway! Thank you for an excellent 2 day tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Well organized to finest detail. The company manages it service in tourism well. thank you for your expertise.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

This is the perfect trip to see Kyoto and Nara if you've only got a short time in Japan. As a single traveller it took all the stress out of the trip because you can be picked up from your hotel, put on the train, transported to all these amazing sites and it makes it incredibly easy. The New Miyako hotel is excellent, as nice as several 5 star hotels I've stayed in so I would highly recommend this hotel as well, The lunch in Kyoto is no longer at the Handicraft Centre (and hasn't been for about a year) so the tour description needs slightly updating! The new lunch location is nice but you are left there for a couple of hours between the morning and afternoon tours of Kyoto which was definitely the worse bit of the tour because we were all just sat around waiting. The tour guides and knowledgeable and helpful, an excellent experience overall.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

I highly recommend the tour of Kyoto and Nara. The staff were very helpful in getting us onto the bullet train,and getting us settled into our hotel once we arrived.The tour sights were swamped with tourist but we managed.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

An excellent way to get a 'hassle free' look around the main tourist spots, in a relatively short time. Very reassuring to have someone local to show us how to get tickets, trains from Tokyo, etc. Guides were very good throughout. Be aware there is a lot packed in (which is good) but if you're disabled, or even fairly unfit, you may want to 'sit out' one of the sights, especially in August when it is hot and humid. . .but don't let that put you off - air conditioning is never far away!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

A great trip and great service by the guides on the ground. They had people meet me at each location and help get me to the next one--which I didn't need but was a great touch anyhow. The bullet train was awesome, very painless, and Tokyo and Kyoto were both fabulous. Visited a bunch of shrines and temples and each was different and worth it. Had a great time. Thanks again!

Antonio C
Portugal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

The organization was absolutely perfect, I would say at the second.I was taken to the carriage of the train and there was somebody waiting for us upon arrival in Kioto. The same to the return. The efficiency of the japanese trains is well known and once again it showed why: The tours were very well organized with intersting visits as, for instance, the Palace of the Shogun and the Kiyomizu Temple. The guides were nice and very well prepared. The Kyoto Hotel Okura was a real five stars hotel with a very eficient ant nice staff and a very convenient location. Only the lunch at the Handicraft Centre was netly inferior to the high skills of this tour. Congratulations.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

Excellent! Everything was precise! The employees directed us with efficiancy and with a smile! The tours were just right for time length, not too long and not too short. It was a wonderful experience. I highly recommend these tours!!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

I really loved Kyoto and Nara. The tour and hotel were good!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Amazing!

Alan B
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

I have sent a note of appreciation under separate cover. The Viator staff was extremely helpful, the tour was well organized and paced perfectly.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

The trip was an excellent way for the novice to get around Japan. The hotel pickups were wonderful and the guides where very informative.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

A great trip. Every thing went as scheduled.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Pick up & delivery to trains excellent! Especially commend Yoki who took us in Tokyo to train. Train seats excellent as was Okura hotel. Lunches good both days. Tour of Nara good - tours of Kyoto even better guides, especially afternoon guide excellent.

From USD $ 558.68

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2142TYO_QT2_QT3

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message