4.5 star rating: Recommended 1981 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Tokyo, Japan
  • Duration:  11 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 1981 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Lake Ashi and Hakone were fantastic! We would have stayed there if we had known about such a beautiful place!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our tour guide was fantastic, she made the long bus ride entertaining and educational. We were lucky, Mt. Fuji was visible! We had a lovely lunch and went on to a thrilling tram ride in Hakone and boat ride on Lake Ashi. It was a spectacular experience and I'm not one for group tours.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The guide was excellent. She was very knowledgeable and shared many interesting facts about Tokyo, Japan and Mt Fuji.She also explained what it was like growing up in Japan and the many aspects of the Japanese culture. I was particularly impressed with how she made sure everyone knew what train and the platform they needed to be at to get back to the hotel at the end of the tour.

Unfortunately, the weather was not so good, so only had brief glimpses of the top of Mt Fuji. The cruise was breathtakingly beautiful albeit quite short. Disappointingly, the fog at the top of the cable car station meant the views were severely restricted. The bullet train was a good experience.

I would definitely recommend this tour, and I hope to get the opportunity to do it again during a different time of the year when visibility is better.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Definitely worth it! Excellent guide and very organised tour. Prepaid lunch could be better. Also time spent at the station to look at Mt Fuji is too little.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Lovly trip. Great guide. Lovely weather

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The entire day was incredible made more interesting and enjoyable by our tour guide named Amy , she was an absolute treasure. The weather was pretty bad, it rained and Fuji was hidden in the clouds but we managed a sneak view as the mist cleared for about 5 minutes. The lake cruise was disappointing solely because of the weather. The entire day was well manage from beginning to end. The Bullet train is well named and a thrill to behold as it thunders through the station on the way to Tokyo. I thoroughly recommend this days outing, it covers a lot of ground and if possible insist on getting Amy as your guide she really is special in so many ways.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Everything was efficient!
Getting to the meeting point (the bus station) was a little challenging, but we gave ourselves plenty of time to get lost and still get there on time.
Our tour guide, Mr Take was exceptionally. Great entertainer, comedian, singer, etc. he took care of all our needs. (My friend is vegetarian) he made sure she got the right plate. He even wrote down on a piece of paper our diet preferences for our future use.
Unfortunately, Mother Nature was not cooperative. Station 5 on Mt Fuji was extremely foggy. We only caught a glimpse of the mountain from the road.
Lunch was excellent.
Lake Ashi and the cable car ride was fun, although also foggy. It was fun to suddenly run into treasures you couldn't see. :)
Tokyo Station is huge and confusing. Wish we got to personally say goodbye and thank you to Mr Take. But I dropped something important and had to rush back. We lost sight of him and the other guests by the time we got back.
A very friendly woman helped us find our way back. She even walked with us to our exit even though she looked like she was in a hurry.
Wasn't expecting the Bullet train ride. Luved it! Luved the whole experience!
We got back late afternoon. Enough time for us to take the subway and see Ginza and Shabuya in action at night. Stumbled into a delicious Ramen restaurant in Shabuya, unfortunately I can't remember the name. I can still taste the soup. It was delish!
Great way to see and experience many things in a short amount of time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

It was very informative

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Everything was well-organized, we just had to be there on time. Our guide, Yoko, is very knowledgeable. Her comments were very informative if you're looking to learn about the areas you're passing through. And she made sure we all were enjoying ourselves. Highly recommend this especially to first-time tourist to Mt. Fuji.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

As usual with Viator, the trip was well organised and everything went to plan. We have total confidence in making bookings through Viator and certainly will continue to use your excellent service. Not only was the service excellent but the price was very reasonable. Best regards, Richard and Barbara Tighe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour was amazing, the tour guide was very informed and extremely helpful. The weather at Hakone did not cooperate fully but it was still an amazing experience.
Mt. Fuji was incredible.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

awesome tour and guide excellent way to see mt fuji lake and country side

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This is very interesting tour. Star early and very prompt. The bus ride was pleasant and there was wifi on the bus. We got to see Mt Fuji very clearly, as our tour guide said sometimes Fuji is famous to be shy. But we only short stop at Station 5. We need more time to explore. Hakone boat ride is also nice. Short but very interesting. The cable ride is also breathtaking. And the best of all, was the ride home to Tokyo with Shinkansen Bullet Train. Very interesting. Would like to do this again.....

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

very good and insightful.
Our english speaking Japanese guide Amy was very knowledgeable and took care of our needs well. she even taught us the 'Mt Fuji' song along our coach ride to the 5th station. As it was cloudy with occasional rain, we could not see the peak of Mt Fuji fully. The stop at 5th station was a little short to soak in the awesome view and shopping at the souvenir store.
The cruise along Lake Aishi and gondola ride to Mt Komagatake were picturesque. However, due to the clouds, we could get to view Mt Fuji from Mt Komagatake including the shrine at Komagatake.
The bullet train ride on the Shinkansen from Odawa to Tokyo was an experience. Amy was extremely helpful to get the pax to available seats as the tickets issued to us were without reserve seats.
Overall experience was great including lunch at Hotel Regina.
Gd value for $ too.:)

From USD $ 129.24

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2142TYO_F800_F820

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message