Insider's Guide to Tokyo

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Viewing All 86 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Kate D. USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

If you are going to Tokyo do this! Not early enough to see the fish auction and the tour guide was not allowed to take us inside. However, the market going on outside was awesome. Like a giant farmers market with fish as well as farm products. The sushi class was fun as well as educational. We had one of the few women sushi chefs and she was perfect!

Patricia V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had a lot if fun, enjoyed the learning experience and loved eating our finished sushi. We recommend this experience to anyone interested in Japanese food

sondra t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was great! the guide was so nice and willing to provide extra help/info. The sushi making course was great (beware, you dont make sushi rolls because those are not actually japanese!). One thing I wouldve liked is if the market tour was a little longer, but overall i recommend this!

John J R United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great fun while new to Tokyo. Guide was great.

Derek C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Another brilliant tour. We can't wait to try out our newly learned Sushi making skills.
The chef was very interesting to watch.

Nicholas J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

A little rushed at the start but the sushi making was brilliant. It covers everything including filleting fish. We completed it early and had the opportunity to go back to the fish markets for a more intimate tour.

Kourosh F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

It was a lot of fun:)

Corinne B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Great experience and I really learned how to make sushi! Although I still need to learn how to make the rice. It is an interesting class as you are mixed into a real class with local people also in attendance. The teacher doesn't speak English but the guide was great at translating for us. The fish was fresh and delicious! And you get a lot of fish so definitely worth the price. The only thing is that we did not actually go to the fish market before the class, we went to the outer market, which was really cool and had lots of fish and other fresh foods and local ingredients and tools but it would have been nice to also visit the fish market. But I loved every minute of it and would highly recommend it to anyone!!

maree m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

hi there,
I had a great fun and educational day at the tsukiji market and making my own sushi lunch. my companion for the day Yuko was fun to hang out with and was very helpful. I had a terrific day with her and would recommend your service without hesitation. g (31718957)

Mollie N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

I hadn't planned on doing a tour during my trip to Japan but stumbled across your tour while searching for activities in Tokyo. It was really worthwhile and I had a great time. I was met promptly at the agreed upon meeting spot and we stopped at other hotels to pick up other folks for various tours. Taken to the bus station to meet up with the tour guide, Takai (sp?). There were only 3 of us on this tour-which was a great. Takai had lived in New York, spoke excellent English and had a great, outgoing personality-perfect for this type of job. He walked us through the fish market and pointed out various foods/fish and after about an hour there, we went to the Sushi school. It was not a tourist racket but an actual school, we were the only Non Japanese in the place. Learned how to filet a fish, and to make Maki, Nigiri and handrolls as well as Tamago. It looks so simple but it takes years to master and while I probably wont be making Sushi at home, (cant' get good quality fish here where I live)-at least I'd be willing to try now. Afterwards, Takai helped us out with where we planned to go next-and walked me to my train station (definitely needed that assist). I made the arrangements online and had no problem whatsoever..and would use Viator's services again. The hardest part for me was getting to the initial meeting spot since I was staying an hour outside Tokyo and had to navigate the train system with transfers during rush hour to get to the hotel to meet up with our guide! Now THAT was an adventure.

alehtsan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

The tour guide was very good in telling us where to get cheap eats around the fish market. The sushi making class was fun and we get a certificate for completing the course to boot :).
I was really entertained.

Anisha S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

The sushi making class was too good !! A must for anyone who visits Tokyo.

Albert O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Guide was knowledgeable. The sushi making class was the highlight. We had a 13 yr old with us and he enjoyed it too. Recommended

Mark J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

The fish market, the sushi class and our tour was wonderful.

Yoko, our guide was amazing! She was very knowledgeable, respectful, kind and is great at her job. She also had a pair of the most unique and cutest shoes I have seen :)!

I really enjoyed seeing the variety of fish in the markets while also discovering other unique seasonings, pickles and items unique to Japan.

The sushi making class and instructor were both great. I had little idea the degree of preparation involved in making sushi and have deepened my admiration for good sushi chefs and sushi. We were able to make a lot of beautifully decorated rolls using a variety of fish, learned how to prepare a japanese omelet (which was delicious), nicely fillet a fish, and was able to hear other tips and tricks by the chef.

Yoko was the best.

The tour amazing.

The sushi excellent.

I highly recommend this experience.

Thanks so much for adding to my wonderful experience of Japan!

All the best.

Frank B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

We got to go to the inside of the market since we were a group of less than 5 people. The tour company is top notch.

Franco V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Amazing! loved the fish markets and the Sushi Marking course was great. I went back and brought all my utensils at the markets after. Have been recommending this tour to everyone that loves sushi.

Chun Liang S Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

Enjoyable, even for the kids.

Jennifer W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

Great class. Learned a lot, the instructor was fun, and the sushi was good.

Sam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Great tour. First we went to the fish market and had some free time to look around. Because it wasn't a big group that day the leader personally showed as around and explained what things where, we saw fresh wasabi, shark skin wasabi grinders, seafood etc. After we went to make the sushi and the chef was great. We made a variety of sushi then ate it for lunch.

David S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Tour of the fish Market which is excellent to get you in the mood, then make way to the lesson. Fantastic teacher and guide. One of the best things I have done for a long time. Picked up some really useful skills, made some great Sushi, then had it for lunch. met some great people. Highly recommended. 

Tara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Lovely morning, really enjoyed myself and would recommend to anyone wanting to give sushi making ago !

Martin C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

Worthwhile and had the best chef to teach us. The English speaking guide was very informative and everyone had a great time. The food was beautiful and fresh and I will do it again next time I get to Japan.

Sarah L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

The whole tour was fantastic, Viator was great, from ease of booking right through to organization of the tour pick up at the hotel, to Tsukiji market and finally with the sushi course. Having an English interpreter and a great sushi master made the course fun and I learned heaps. I am a pro chef myself and I found the course valuable! Thank you so much, highly recommended! This is a must do course whilst in Tokyo!

Susan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

Translator was excellent and very informative. The chef was fun to work with and very patient. Great way to experience the Market and have a delicious lunch!

James O USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

The chef was excellent and very funny. He was an excellent teacher, even though he spoke only in Japanese. Our tour guide was a good interpreter and we both had a fantastic time.

Viewing 2 of 4

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | Next

From USD $ 138.69

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2142TYO_CUL220

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message