4 star rating: Recommended 112 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Tokyo, Japan
  • Duration:  3 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Tokyo Highlights Afternoon Tour and Sumida River Cruise. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 112 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
October 2008

The guide was good, the sights were worth seeing, and we enjoyed the convenience of being picked up and delivered at our hotel. We were only in Tokyo for a short time, and this was a good way to get a glimpse of the city.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

Generally good.

Coral H
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2008

I had a very enjoyable afternoon out. Thank you.

SHAUN H
New Zealand

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2007

Worth doing but just another city tour that really needs something extra.

Roy A
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2007

The start in the bus terminal was a bit chaotic. Getting picked up from the hotel was good. Overall the tour was a good value.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2007

This tour was by far the best of all the tours we took. It was very well paced and gave us enough time to enjoy Japan at its best.

Jorge D
Puerto Rico

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2006

Very nice way to see a lot of places. Nice experience.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2006

As we only had a short period of time in Japan this tour was very good - it showed us quite a lot of Tokyo that we wouldn't have seen if we tried to do it ourselves.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

The panoramic tour is a better option.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

The tour was very interesting but unfortunately the river cruise wasn't worth the time. The boat itself doesn't allow up to see anything because we weren't able to go above deck and there wasn't any commentary during the trip.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

Did not care for the cruise part of this tour - way too crowded.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

thumbs up!!!

Vic
Philippines

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

schedule was prompt and took us to key tourist spots. river cruise was relaxing. my only comment is that time spent on each spot was so short at i had no time to fullybappreciate it. but nevertheless, it was generaly ok

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

Tour fairly good but not enough time at each spot - suggest if you r not nervous to do the spots via train (yourself) thus have time to absorb the atmosphere and do shopping etc. but if in Tokyo for a day or so then this tour will give u a taste . NB you do not see the palace ( it is only open to public once a year) so what u do see is wall behind which the royal palace is located

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

Another worth doing if a short stay in Tokyo but worth having someone drive you around the City to see how great different areas look. Subway is faster but you get to see outdoors in the good weather - just a little disappointed in the river cruise which didn't seem very scenic. It had been modified for April to a park visit but because cherry blossoms were early in 2013 (mid-April trip) the cruise was on; would rather have visited a park, we think! Overall, nice afternoon.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2013

The tour was just OK. I would have liked spending more time at Nakamise street and skip the Sumida River cruise. For most of the cruise there was nothiung of much interest to see and then finally about 5 minutes of the cherry blossoms.

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2012

Guides not very interesting or interested. Views of Imperial Palace a bit of a joke. Boat trip ok.

Barrie C
United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2012

We did this short tour on our arrival in Japan and it gave us a great feel for the city and the people. Our guide was interesting and spoke reasonable English. There was time for us to spend on our own, and seeing the Emperor's entourage leaving the Palace by horse and carriage was an unexpected bonus. The boat trip back to our starting point showed a different perspective on the City but added little to the experience.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2011

Too speedy. My mum walks very slowly with walking sticks and I was informed that this tour only was a bus tour. Even so we had to walk long distances and in a hurry. Not too impressed. But the views are great and it is probably a great tour for the one that is fit.

Ian T
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2010

The cruise was a bit disappointing, and the visit to the palace was disappointing as you basically saw the the gate and a wall.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

Tour was ok. But I was disappointed and unhappy that at the end of the tour we were just dropped off at Tokyo Station and left to our own means and not taken back to our pick up point . I have used Viator on many occasions for tours within Europe and this is the first time this has happened

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

The tour was boring - the tour guide did not talk about either Tokyo history, culture nor current trends. Instead she pointed out a few buildings from the observation floor at WTC, was quiet on the way to the palace tower ( palace is not incl) and very boring river cruise - will not recommend

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

okay

Amor
Panama

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

The tour is nothing you can not do by yourself, it was pretty simple and the boat ride was real boring, but i have to admit that the guide miss Kumiko (hope the name is right) was very knowledgeable so we are happy with all the information about Tokyo she gave us.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

Tour was ok, I would like to have more history explained during the tour.

From USD $ 45.28

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2142TYO_A020

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message