4 star rating: Recommended 105 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Tokyo, Japan
  • Duration:  3 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Tokyo Morning Sightseeing Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 105 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

A bit rushed to see all you want to see
unless you're a fast paced walker.

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

The Tokyo Tower and Akasuka were worth going to, since they're popular tourist attractions, but anyone who is willing to navigate the subway should be able to get there without any problem. However, I'm not really sure what the point of going to the Imperial Palace was, since we only spent 10 minutes there, and we didn't actually see anything worthwhile besides trees and a moat. If you're comfortable getting around Tokyo by yourself, I'd recommend just seeing all of this by yourself.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Half day tours can be tough because they have to keep everyone moving and it ends up being rushed. This was no exception. It was well-run and worth doing, but in the end was way too quick. We went to Tokyo Tower, but were run through it at almost a jog. In and out. Next, they promised a stop at Imperial Palace, but we just walked around the sidewalk outside it near the Palace Hotel. We never entered the grounds or park area. We only saw one building. Finally, we stopped at Asakusa, which is well worth doing. Here, they told us we had 30 minutes. If you only spend 30 minutes there, you are cheating yourself. I decided to stay here and informed the tour guide I would not be taking the bus back. I caught the train from there (very convenient) after I was done shopping and eating lunch. Nice tour, but very fast paced and rushed.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

If someone is on a tight schedule, this tour gives a brief overview of some of the tourist sites in Tokyo. The guide Mai san kept the tourists well informed

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

If you are looking for a quick introduction to Tokyo on your first day, then this is a good tour. We've been on better in terms of actually learning more about the culture and the location. Note that the tour is a lot of bus time and when you go to the stops the tour guide just lets you go and wander. If you are looking for explanations and points of interest at the site... make sure you do your research prior to the tour or bring along a guidebook or app. You won't get it from your tour guide... at least we didn't.

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

A good overview of some of the high points of Tokyo.

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

Not much sightseeing with more free time at markets etc. Tour guide was quirky and interesting. Had good information about Tokyo in General. Worth doing. Viator a good operator.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

Nice introduction to Tokyo, but too rushed. Our guide, Naomi, was great with information on the bus, but too rushed at the sights. The best of the sights on the tour, Asakusa Temple, was glossed over. At times, I literally had to run to keep up with Naomi and missed her too short explanations.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

J'ai été déçu parceque c'est le même trajet de full day tokyo. Au moins j'ai profité de l'occasion que le bus s'est arrêté à côté de Asakusa pour assister au Sanja Matsuri

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2013

The tour we did good. Our tour guide was very good. I wish we had taken a full day tour!

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2013

This tour is well worth doing if you are non-English speaking and it's your first time in Tokyo. You do spend 45 mins on a bus driving to a central point to pick up other passengers, at the end we were dropped at Tokyo Central Train station to return to our hotels by ourselves with little direction

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2013

A very basic tour shows you a few highlights of tokyo, I went back after and revisited a few places on my own. This tour is good if your not sure what you want to see in tokyo and are planing to re-visit places on your own.

Wayne S
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2010

This tour is quite short. The tour guide was quite informative and had full control of the tour, at one time had to remind one rude woman to stop using her mobile phone whilst on the bus. Well done. Some people can be so inconsiderate.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

Tour started over half an hour late which meant pushed through the venues with little or no time. Luckily I stayed at the last stop and spent the afternoon at a beautiful temple that deserved the time.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

The guide didn't really share much valuable information and their were minimal sites shown. It served as an overview but was a bit disappointing.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

Yeah it was good. Felt the best part was asakusa markets and there wasn't a great deal of time. Tokyo Tower was also interesting.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2013

Tour guide speaks good english. Very informative.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2013

The tour outline was fine but the guide was real bad, uninterested, unenthusiastic and not very erudite. I took two tours with Viator in the past and like both of them but this one was a disappointing one

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2013

i just feel as if we did not have enough time at each stop, always felt rushed. the
biggest disappointment was when visiting the imperial palace he only took us to
see one of the watch towers and not the nijubashi bridge, that is where all the
tourist go.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2011

It was ok but I would not do it again or recommend it. Our guide spoke mostly about himself and minimally about Tokyo and the sites. In general he mumbled and whatever he had to say was lost never to be repeated. My companion and I were bored and the last hour was spent Googling the various sites we had visited for more information. The bus was air conditioned which was nice relief from the hot and humid day.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2010

This was too short and seeing the Imperial Gardens without the palace was a waste of time. Compared to the Kyoto tour, this tour lacked substance and was not very informative. I didn't feel it to be worth the money.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2010

Okay tour. It was a cheap way to see some major spots. The tour guide was funny but the only places we actually went into were the Tokyo Tower and the market. Everything else was a pass-by show though.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2010

Hard to understand the guide and could barely hear him at the back of the bus. No guiding around at the sites, you are left on your own to figure out what is going on.

Lawnlia G
Hong Kong

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2010

I have had better tours. It felt slightly rushed and the tour guide was not as informative or engaging as others I have had. Also did not feel that main sights passed along the way were pointed out or that we saw the best of what Tokyo had to offer.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2009

Would have enjoyed more time at culture locations, temple and palace rather then tower.

From USD $ 45.83

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2142TYO_A010

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message