Insider's Guide to Tokyo

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Viewing All 127 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Leticia M Mexico

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2008

A fast view of Tokyo!

David B

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2008

Fascinating city.

Venture C US Minor Outlying ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2008

I really enjoyed it. And they dropped you back off at your hotel. So, I didn't have to worry about getting lost.

Caroline L France

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2007

Marvelous!

Subhash S Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2007

This was a well-organized trip.

John A USA

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2007

Lots of great sites. Maybe spend a little more time on some history.

Tammie R USA

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2007

I enjoyed the tour. I felt safe.

Dennis W Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2007

Was enjoyable and probably captures a nice overview of the city from which you can then explore further. You stop and visit about 4 key places. 1. The Tokyo Tower and visit the Observation Deck 2. The Imperial Palace you stop at outside on the road but really don't see anything at all 3. The Buddhist Temple in Asakusa with it's little street bazaar of souvenir shops was a nice diversion for 40 min 4. The Pearl Jewelery producer where they explain how they produce pearls, grade them etc. but really its just an opportunity to try to sell you pearl jewelery.

Jill M United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2007

Generally a good trip and would recommend. More time at Tokyo Tower would be good and could cut out the standing around in the car park of the exterior of the gardens of the imperial palace - maybe this was because it was Monday and the gardens were closed. Temple was great and pearl experience OK.

Mark J United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2007

A good overview of Tokyo. We saw a lot of the sights and could get dropped off where we wanted.

Marise L

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Found it all a bit rushed, but worth doing if you don't have a lot of time.

Harmony N

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

The page said the tour left promptly at 9am. We had 2 people that were 30 minutes late from their hotel and instead of leaving as I expected based on the Arrive 20 minutes early comment we waited, thus losing 30 minutes of our time and being rushed through everything else all day, no compensation was offered. Imperial palace was closed due to holiday or special weekend and we weren't able to take the normal walk. then because of all the holiday traffic we were only given 20 minutes at Kannon Temple. Everything felt very rushed. The Guide was nice, and answered questions and helped with JR info as needed.

Catherine G

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

Very kind guide , well organised

Richard W

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

Trip should return you to your hotel and not leave you at the train station. Omit walk to imperial bridge shows you little. Guide was knowledgeable and gave us some historical background and was pleasant

Geoffrey L

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

We felt that tour was a waste of time , especially at the Imperial palace where you see nothing but the moat filled with weed. I must say the Tokyo tower was good.

Jennifer F

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

This tour was a bit disapointing. The stop at the Tokyo Tower was fine, except that 2 women were late getting back to the bus, so we wasted 15 minutes waiting for them. The stop at the imperial Palace was a complete waste of time, we didn't get to see the palace at all, we just walked past a guardhouse and the moat, then got back in the bus. I enjoyed the temple the most, although the guide initially tried to give us 15 less minutes to make up for the late people at the first stop- but people on the tour argued that was not fair, so we eventually got the extra 15 minutes. But even having 40 minutes there was not enough time, there was barely time to see the temple, see some shops, and get back to the bus the guide was clear that if we didn't get back to the bus on time they would leave without us, since we were already behind schedule. I know that I should not expect much from a half day tour, but this was just way too rushed and we didn't have enough time to shop. Also, the hotel pickup wasn't the actual tour bus, all it is is a bus ride to the central bus terminal, where you have to get off, wait in line, then get on another bus. If I would have known this, I would have taken a train or taxi and saved an hour sitting on the bus driving around picking up people from other hotels.

Pearl P C

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

A taste of Tokyo city, although I find the tour to be a bit rushed as it is only half day. I guess good for those who only have a few days in Tokyo. I found the Asakusa temple visit interesting so we stayed behind even after the tour is finished. We ended up having a nice traditional Japanese meal within the Nakamise shopping street area.

Ladelle J

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

The tour is ok if one has not enough time in Tokyo.

krista

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Hotel pickup took an hour and a half to get to the bus terminal. Terminal was crowded and a bit confusing. The tokyo tower was excellent, the imperial gardens was not impressive, they dropped us off in the parking lot for 10 minutes and did not see the gardens. Asakasa was short, so we stayed there. Keiko was funny and informative. Would not do again

Jan C M

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

A bit rushed to see all you want to see
unless you're a fast paced walker.

Jessica J

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

The Tokyo Tower and Akasuka were worth going to, since they're popular tourist attractions, but anyone who is willing to navigate the subway should be able to get there without any problem. However, I'm not really sure what the point of going to the Imperial Palace was, since we only spent 10 minutes there, and we didn't actually see anything worthwhile besides trees and a moat. If you're comfortable getting around Tokyo by yourself, I'd recommend just seeing all of this by yourself.

Andrew W

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Half day tours can be tough because they have to keep everyone moving and it ends up being rushed. This was no exception. It was well-run and worth doing, but in the end was way too quick. We went to Tokyo Tower, but were run through it at almost a jog. In and out. Next, they promised a stop at Imperial Palace, but we just walked around the sidewalk outside it near the Palace Hotel. We never entered the grounds or park area. We only saw one building. Finally, we stopped at Asakusa, which is well worth doing. Here, they told us we had 30 minutes. If you only spend 30 minutes there, you are cheating yourself. I decided to stay here and informed the tour guide I would not be taking the bus back. I caught the train from there (very convenient) after I was done shopping and eating lunch. Nice tour, but very fast paced and rushed.

ANIL W

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

If someone is on a tight schedule, this tour gives a brief overview of some of the tourist sites in Tokyo. The guide Mai san kept the tourists well informed

Angela M

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

If you are looking for a quick introduction to Tokyo on your first day, then this is a good tour. We've been on better in terms of actually learning more about the culture and the location. Note that the tour is a lot of bus time and when you go to the stops the tour guide just lets you go and wander. If you are looking for explanations and points of interest at the site... make sure you do your research prior to the tour or bring along a guidebook or app. You won't get it from your tour guide... at least we didn't.

Roberto P

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

A good overview of some of the high points of Tokyo.

Viewing 4 of 6

Page: Previous | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | Next

From USD $ 48.10

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2142TYO_A010

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message