Viewing All 116 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Tammie R USA

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2007

I enjoyed the tour. I felt safe.

Dennis W Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2007

Was enjoyable and probably captures a nice overview of the city from which you can then explore further. You stop and visit about 4 key places. 1. The Tokyo Tower and visit the Observation Deck 2. The Imperial Palace you stop at outside on the road but really don't see anything at all 3. The Buddhist Temple in Asakusa with it's little street bazaar of souvenir shops was a nice diversion for 40 min 4. The Pearl Jewelery producer where they explain how they produce pearls, grade them etc. but really its just an opportunity to try to sell you pearl jewelery.

Jill M United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2007

Generally a good trip and would recommend. More time at Tokyo Tower would be good and could cut out the standing around in the car park of the exterior of the gardens of the imperial palace - maybe this was because it was Monday and the gardens were closed. Temple was great and pearl experience OK.

Mark J United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2007

A good overview of Tokyo. We saw a lot of the sights and could get dropped off where we wanted.

Richard W

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

Trip should return you to your hotel and not leave you at the train station. Omit walk to imperial bridge shows you little. Guide was knowledgeable and gave us some historical background and was pleasant

Geoffrey L

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

We felt that tour was a waste of time , especially at the Imperial palace where you see nothing but the moat filled with weed. I must say the Tokyo tower was good.

Jennifer F

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

This tour was a bit disapointing. The stop at the Tokyo Tower was fine, except that 2 women were late getting back to the bus, so we wasted 15 minutes waiting for them. The stop at the imperial Palace was a complete waste of time, we didn't get to see the palace at all, we just walked past a guardhouse and the moat, then got back in the bus. I enjoyed the temple the most, although the guide initially tried to give us 15 less minutes to make up for the late people at the first stop- but people on the tour argued that was not fair, so we eventually got the extra 15 minutes. But even having 40 minutes there was not enough time, there was barely time to see the temple, see some shops, and get back to the bus the guide was clear that if we didn't get back to the bus on time they would leave without us, since we were already behind schedule. I know that I should not expect much from a half day tour, but this was just way too rushed and we didn't have enough time to shop. Also, the hotel pickup wasn't the actual tour bus, all it is is a bus ride to the central bus terminal, where you have to get off, wait in line, then get on another bus. If I would have known this, I would have taken a train or taxi and saved an hour sitting on the bus driving around picking up people from other hotels.

Pearl P C

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

A taste of Tokyo city, although I find the tour to be a bit rushed as it is only half day. I guess good for those who only have a few days in Tokyo. I found the Asakusa temple visit interesting so we stayed behind even after the tour is finished. We ended up having a nice traditional Japanese meal within the Nakamise shopping street area.

Ladelle J

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

The tour is ok if one has not enough time in Tokyo.

krista

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Hotel pickup took an hour and a half to get to the bus terminal. Terminal was crowded and a bit confusing. The tokyo tower was excellent, the imperial gardens was not impressive, they dropped us off in the parking lot for 10 minutes and did not see the gardens. Asakasa was short, so we stayed there. Keiko was funny and informative. Would not do again

Jan C M

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

A bit rushed to see all you want to see
unless you're a fast paced walker.

Jessica J

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

The Tokyo Tower and Akasuka were worth going to, since they're popular tourist attractions, but anyone who is willing to navigate the subway should be able to get there without any problem. However, I'm not really sure what the point of going to the Imperial Palace was, since we only spent 10 minutes there, and we didn't actually see anything worthwhile besides trees and a moat. If you're comfortable getting around Tokyo by yourself, I'd recommend just seeing all of this by yourself.

Andrew W

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Half day tours can be tough because they have to keep everyone moving and it ends up being rushed. This was no exception. It was well-run and worth doing, but in the end was way too quick. We went to Tokyo Tower, but were run through it at almost a jog. In and out. Next, they promised a stop at Imperial Palace, but we just walked around the sidewalk outside it near the Palace Hotel. We never entered the grounds or park area. We only saw one building. Finally, we stopped at Asakusa, which is well worth doing. Here, they told us we had 30 minutes. If you only spend 30 minutes there, you are cheating yourself. I decided to stay here and informed the tour guide I would not be taking the bus back. I caught the train from there (very convenient) after I was done shopping and eating lunch. Nice tour, but very fast paced and rushed.

ANIL W

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

If someone is on a tight schedule, this tour gives a brief overview of some of the tourist sites in Tokyo. The guide Mai san kept the tourists well informed

Angela M

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

If you are looking for a quick introduction to Tokyo on your first day, then this is a good tour. We've been on better in terms of actually learning more about the culture and the location. Note that the tour is a lot of bus time and when you go to the stops the tour guide just lets you go and wander. If you are looking for explanations and points of interest at the site... make sure you do your research prior to the tour or bring along a guidebook or app. You won't get it from your tour guide... at least we didn't.

Roberto P

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

A good overview of some of the high points of Tokyo.

John D

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

Not much sightseeing with more free time at markets etc. Tour guide was quirky and interesting. Had good information about Tokyo in General. Worth doing. Viator a good operator.

Reni B

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

Nice introduction to Tokyo, but too rushed. Our guide, Naomi, was great with information on the bus, but too rushed at the sights. The best of the sights on the tour, Asakusa Temple, was glossed over. At times, I literally had to run to keep up with Naomi and missed her too short explanations.

Mohammed B

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

J'ai été déçu parceque c'est le même trajet de full day tokyo. Au moins j'ai profité de l'occasion que le bus s'est arrêté à côté de Asakusa pour assister au Sanja Matsuri

Jeni W

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2013

The tour we did good. Our tour guide was very good. I wish we had taken a full day tour!

Monique B

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2013

This tour is well worth doing if you are non-English speaking and it's your first time in Tokyo. You do spend 45 mins on a bus driving to a central point to pick up other passengers, at the end we were dropped at Tokyo Central Train station to return to our hotels by ourselves with little direction

Franco V

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2013

A very basic tour shows you a few highlights of tokyo, I went back after and revisited a few places on my own. This tour is good if your not sure what you want to see in tokyo and are planing to re-visit places on your own.

Wayne S Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2010

This tour is quite short. The tour guide was quite informative and had full control of the tour, at one time had to remind one rude woman to stop using her mobile phone whilst on the bus. Well done. Some people can be so inconsiderate.

Karyn H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

Tour started over half an hour late which meant pushed through the venues with little or no time. Luckily I stayed at the last stop and spent the afternoon at a beautiful temple that deserved the time.

Karen L. P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

The guide didn't really share much valuable information and their were minimal sites shown. It served as an overview but was a bit disappointing.

Viewing 4 of 5

Page: Previous | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next

From USD $ 43.75

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2142TYO_A010

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message