4.5 star rating: Recommended 166 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Tokyo, Japan
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Tokyo Morning Tour: Meiji Shrine, Senso-ji Temple and Ginza Shopping District. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 166 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This tour was amazing!

Pauline G
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The tours to the Meiji Shrine and Senso-ji Temple were very informative. Found the Ginza shopping district section just a pass by on the coach and had no sense of what the area was about. Most of the shops we saw from the coach were no different from those found in London.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

A good general introduction to Tokyo

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

It was a great tour. Just be prepared to walk back to hotel or take the train.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

The tour guide (Mina) has a good sense of humor. She provided bits of information about the history of the places we pass by which made the places more interesting to further explore and bits about their culture and practices. My husband and I enjoyed the tour and decided to go back to some of the places in this tour. We tried dining at Tsukiji market and see what delightful meal awaits us. I would definitely try to research and book some tours through Viator on my next travel!

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Good tour - recommend half day

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

timing for the trip is too short for so many places

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Good tour, it would be nice if we were brought back to our hotel, instead of finding our way in the city that does not have street names. How do you navigate that ?

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2013

very good morning tour if in tokyo for a short time. good english speaking guide and were very helpful. definatley worth doing.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

Good tour although it was a bit rushed. Prefer smaller group tous

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

Great morning trip, bus and guide were excellent. Good way to see a bit a of Tokyo in 3 hours wihthout queing!

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2011

Did this tour in the pouring rain in November but the guide was excellent and made the best of the situation. Would recommend to those who want to get a good overview and then later go back and explore more on their own...which is what I did.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2011

It was a good tour though the actual sights of visit were only few. (But of course we knew that at the time of booking). Our guide Ms Mina was good, she speaks good English and was funny. She was informative, and helpful. I think if the tour can start an hour earlier, say 8 am instead of 9am, they may be able to squeeze in more sights for a little extra.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our morning tour. The tour guide was very interesting and entertaining. Perhaps a little too much was tried to be covered in too short a time, making some things feel a bit rushed, but overall it was definitely worth doing.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

The tour is a very good initial tour of Tokyo. The tour guide provided many info on the sights and history of japan.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

Get to see the highlights of Tokyo and worth doing the first day you are in Japan to get a good intro to the city.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

Great tour and total package. Hotel pickup is a plus! Our tour guide knew very good English and good information about Tokyo. Would suggest doing this tour one of the first days you are in Tokyo to get a lay of the land.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

Shrine and temple very interesting. Flowers at Imperial Palace gorgeous.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

The tour guide was good and the places were neat. It shouldn't really say a tour of Ginza since they don't really give your a tour, but only drop you off at this location. Also, it seemed a couple people were unaware they were getting dropped off and didn't know their way back home. All in all it was pretty good tour.

Albertine J
Philippines

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

The tour was good because you get to see the most famous tourist spots in Tokyo. Problem is the time was too limited in most spots. I remember our tour guide always rushing and reminding us of the time. All in all, it was good though.

Lucy J
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

This is a great few hours to show you a few interesting parts of Tokyo. As with some other tours they try to fit in a lot in the few hours you have but what they show you is beautiful. The Meiji Shrine is a stunning place to visit and we actually went back another day to spend more time there and to see more of it. During this tour we only got to spend 30 minutes here which isn't really long enough to take in what it has to offer and to explore everything else. Even though you spend a lot of time travelling to and from venues the tour guides are very knowledgeable about Tokyo and are constantly telling you what you are driving past and about the history of the area. You have a short walk through the Imperial Palace East Gardens which are beautiful and at this time of year the Cherry Blossoms are starting to come out. On the day we went id was raining which was a shame but we still saw the gardens and the blossoms. The tour ends in Ginza shopping district which is described as the New York of Tokyo. It has streets and streets of designer shops and department stores which you can spend hours in and thousands of yen! If you are interested here is where there is the Hello Kitty stores. There are about 4 Hello Kitty stores which have everything you could ever imagine! Very enjoyable but very busy!!

Lesley H
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2010

A very comprehensive and interesting tour. The guide was knowledgeable, interesting and professional with very good language skills. It covered a large number of areas which made the visits to individual places quite brief, but it did give you ideas of where to go again. Being able to leave the tour at Ginza was an excellent part of the trip as it allowed you more time to look at this area.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2010

Good introduction to Tokyo. I was sitting near the rear of the bus and had difficulty in understanding the tour guide.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

Wonderful experience, but not typical of functioning shrines!

Andrew S
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

This was a good tour that covered a lot of territory and included some great spots in Tokyo.

From USD $ 42.08

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2142TYO_A030

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message