4.5 star rating: Recommended 174 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Tokyo, Japan
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Tokyo Morning Tour: Meiji Shrine, Senso-ji Temple and Ginza Shopping District. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 174 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Albertine J
Philippines

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

The tour was good because you get to see the most famous tourist spots in Tokyo. Problem is the time was too limited in most spots. I remember our tour guide always rushing and reminding us of the time. All in all, it was good though.

Lucy J
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

This is a great few hours to show you a few interesting parts of Tokyo. As with some other tours they try to fit in a lot in the few hours you have but what they show you is beautiful. The Meiji Shrine is a stunning place to visit and we actually went back another day to spend more time there and to see more of it. During this tour we only got to spend 30 minutes here which isn't really long enough to take in what it has to offer and to explore everything else. Even though you spend a lot of time travelling to and from venues the tour guides are very knowledgeable about Tokyo and are constantly telling you what you are driving past and about the history of the area. You have a short walk through the Imperial Palace East Gardens which are beautiful and at this time of year the Cherry Blossoms are starting to come out. On the day we went id was raining which was a shame but we still saw the gardens and the blossoms. The tour ends in Ginza shopping district which is described as the New York of Tokyo. It has streets and streets of designer shops and department stores which you can spend hours in and thousands of yen! If you are interested here is where there is the Hello Kitty stores. There are about 4 Hello Kitty stores which have everything you could ever imagine! Very enjoyable but very busy!!

Lesley H
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2010

A very comprehensive and interesting tour. The guide was knowledgeable, interesting and professional with very good language skills. It covered a large number of areas which made the visits to individual places quite brief, but it did give you ideas of where to go again. Being able to leave the tour at Ginza was an excellent part of the trip as it allowed you more time to look at this area.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2010

Good introduction to Tokyo. I was sitting near the rear of the bus and had difficulty in understanding the tour guide.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

Wonderful experience, but not typical of functioning shrines!

Andrew S
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

This was a good tour that covered a lot of territory and included some great spots in Tokyo.

Sejil M
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

A very quick tour of Tokyo. If you have limited time, this tour is recommended!

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

If you've never been to Tokyo, this is a great way to get a quick overview. Our guide was very seasoned and shared a wealth of information. If you are not adventurous, you may be put off by being dropped off in the Ginza and having to find your own way back to your hotel, but we enjoyed this experience. It forced us to learn the subway system, which is relatively easy. People were very friendly and helpful. Once we got the hang of the system, we were hopping subways all over Tokyo.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2009

During both tours we were subjected to extreme heat inside the bus at various times especially during the loading of passengers. Perhaps drivers could start up the buses sooner, which would allow the air conditioning time to cool the bus off and keep it cool. Other than that, we thoroughly enjoyed the tours.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2009

This was an excellent way to see several of the major sites on our list quickly. If you want to spend a lot of time at each location, you should not take this tour. However, if you have a limited amount of time during your trip, I highly recommend it!

Natalie M
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2009

A great way to see a few of the sites of Tokyo in the morning. Not really for you if you can't do a lot of walking as the pace is quite fast, especially around the palace gardens. Our guide was great and knew lots about the city and the various areas and the place we weren't visiting. We chose the morning so we could do some shopping in Ginza. After this tour it was easy for us to find our way round the city and do the other sites ourselves.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2009

Bottom line, this covers some nice sights all over Tokyo that you could see on your own, but not this quickly. Good sights, gives you a good overview of Tokyo's geography so you can figure out what to do yourself afterwards. Tour guide speaks good English. Tips: If you get the hotel pickup in Shinjuku, you waste 2 hours driving into Ebisu, where the tour "starts", and then right back to the Shinjuku area, where the first sight is - try to meet the tour at the first sight instead. If you have a few days in Tokyo, you could just find the sights yourself. You'll learn the subway system quickly, and it will take you everywhere this tour goes. But it's so cheap, you may as well do the tour.

Martin L
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2009

With the limited time we had, this tour gave us a look at Tokyo & some of its special places. Well organised & very informative tour guide.

Anna M
Singapore

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2009

Great introduction to Tokyo's main areas.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2009

This is a great tour and would definitely recommend it. At the last temple, the Senso-ji Temple there are great markets for souvenirs and such - I would recommend staying there instead of going to the Ginze shopping district because Ginza was a bunch of overpriced stores.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2009

A must do for someone who only has a day or two to spend in Tokyo. Wished we had more time to spend to roam around but this tour covered a lot of places in half a day. It would probably be good if a full day tour could be offered for the same itinerary but more in-depth. Very organized. Pick up from hotel very convenient, but after we were able to figure out the train system, the meeting point would also have been easy to figure out. Highly recommended tour.

Geoffrey S
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2009

It was a good way to get a brief oversight of Tokyo in a limited amount of time. Locations were excellent, and the guide was great.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2009

A great quick overview of Tokyo for first time visitors. The morning tour leaves you with a half day to explore other areas of interest. The tour also gives you an idea of where you want to revisit next time. Hotel pick up also makes it extremely convenient.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2008

Tokyo surprisingly does not have that much to see however the guide was so fantastic that it made this little tour quite a pleasure.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2008

Guide very knowledgeable and personable person with lots of detail about the other tour stops but for some reason did not give us a detailed tour around the Senso-ji Temple grounds. Instead provided a five minute historical monologue about it and then said come back to bus in 50 minutes. One can do that by taking a public bus without a guide. Guide should give option to tour grounds by oneself or accompany guide for more details of the various parts.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2008

Perfect tour for the first day as we needed to get our bearings before heading out on our own. Only problem is not enough time at the individual stops at scenic points.

Paul M
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2008

A good introduction to Tokyo. Unfortunately it was raining. We left the tour at Asakusa, which I would recommend unless you must see Ginza. Our guide was most informative.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2008

Great morning full of interesting things and information!

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

The dinner was good and the views from the restaurant excellent. The nighttime views from Roppongi Hills were excellent as well. However, I feel we could have spent more time on the bus looking at the lights around the city. We saw Ginza, government buildings, and the bridges, because that combined with the guide's commentary was really fun. I thought it was a little silly to go and see the Statute of Liberty as most of the people on the tour were from America.

Derek B
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2008

Gave a real insight into Japanese culture and allowed us to see important areas of Tokyo. If you have limited time here, it's a very enjoyable tour.

From USD $ 41.47

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2142TYO_A030

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message