4.5 star rating: Recommended 134 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Tokyo, Japan
  • Duration:  4 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 134 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

A must do.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

A great experience! Our tour guide Miki was wonderful and the museum was enchanting. This is a must for any fan of Miyazaki or anime for that matter and was the best tour I had during my stay in Tokyo. The only draw back was the group started by meeting at the Sun Route hotel which was a little tough to locate if you get out of the wrong side of the Shinjuku station and don't have a smart phone to guide you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Our travel guide was very polite and knowledgeable. The guide explained everything very carefully in English as all the exhibits are presented in Japanese inside of the museum. A great experience for all the fans of the Ghibli -studio.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Rainy day :-( but still , my daughter really enjoyed it. Perfect for her ,

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

I am not a fan of Studio Ghibli so I had to be dragged along by my girlfriend. I was glad I was. The museum is something very special indeed. It's hard to describe how good it is. The tickets themselves are film cells so if you can't afford anything in the gift shop you'll always have a unique souvenir to take away. I can't wait to go back another day. The tour guide had a huge knowlegde and passion for the place which added to the enjoyment.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Nicest tour guide we've ever had. She went out of her way to help us with directions for our next event that day. Museum was great - well planned and very happy to have gone!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Thank you for this tour, we were most grateful to have a tour leader meet us at the hotel and take through the maze at Shinjuku station and onto the Museum.
Unfortunately one of our group fell ill on the day and couldn`t join the tour, is it possible to receive a refund? The tour leader wrote a note which was signed by the ill person to verify this, do you have a cancellation policy?
thank you again, the tour was great and wont hesitate to use Viator again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

I love this tour. Definitely a must go if you're in Tokyo.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

We loved this tour, especially my teen daughter... Lots of memories... Beautiful place and the tour guide was extremely knowledgeable
Great tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

This was a wonderful tour in terms of quality, time saving and convenience.
Sometimes, these tickets are hard to get if you do not speak Japanese, and also they are hard to get for the time you want when you travel ahead of time. This tour solved this problem immediately by just selecting your date and having the ticket ready for the day and time you wanted! Also, the museum is in a suburb of Tokyo ahich would be tricky to find if you're not used to Japan, and again this problem is solved as you meet in an easy to fine location in Tokyo first. Also, even if you can get the ticket yourself, it is only for a certain time and if you're not sure how to get there you might waste some of your ticket time. Also, not only for convenience, but in terms of enjoying the museum, the guide was wonderful. She was happy for you to see the museum yourself, but I strongly recommend that you listen to the guide first, The guide pointed out the main features of the museum so you didn't miss anything and then left plenty of free time for you to explore by yourself before guiding you home. Don't get put off by the pictures used in advertising as no pictures from inside can be used - there is no photography allowed in the museum so that your visit is a complete surprise to you - and it's wonderful. This tour is tops in terms of quality and a real time saver if you are on a schedule. This is how tours should be run. PS when you're there, check out all the little details - ride in the elevator, go to the toilets etc - I know it sounds weird, but it's all wonderful!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Looove studio ghibli ! and this tour was great!. The tour guide spoke good english and was funny and informative. The place it self is a huge playground and wonderful just gave me so many emotions at the same time! the downside was that I was to old to play in the Catbus but... hey I was there at least hihi.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

LOVE IT!!! Must GO!!! Also I am a Ghibli fan. The tour guide was very good in explaining the sections of the museum. You get to see more than how the movie gets made. You actually get to see other short films they make exclusively for the museum. And lastly, you cannot miss the souvenir shop. It was packed, and you can get some other souvenirs that you can't find outside the museum.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Great guide, told us a lot of interesting details about Ghibli and Miyazaki and took very good care of us during the short train/bus ride to museum as well as afterwards!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

This tour was amazing! Our tour guide was really into the Ghibli films and she was so knowledgeable about Ghibli in general. Great way to see a different part of the city without having to worry about transportation or tickets. Highly recommended for Ghibli fans and kids.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Great fun for anime lovers!! 楽しくて、面白かったですよ!

From USD $ 58.97

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2142TYO_F600

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message