4.5 star rating: Recommended 140 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Tokyo, Japan
  • Duration:  4 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 140 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

My tour guide was excellent. I hope to come back one day!! :)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

It was a fun and personal afternoon tour to a very magical place. We had a group of 15 people, and most of them were Ghibli enthusiast. Naoko, our guide, she is very nice and informative. She gave us 1 hour free time after the tour, we mostly spent it on the museum shop and watching Ghibli's short film in the theater. Would be lovely to have another extra 30 minutes to sit down and have coffee/tea at the museum's cafe.
Overall, i totally recommend this, this museum is magical especially for those who grew up with Ghibli's lovely characters.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

We did this tour last year and would do it again in a heartbeat. Guide was wonderful and as always, the museum is enchanting. We decided to leave the group so we could spend more time in the museum but the guide gave us very good directions on how to get back to Tokyo. Would definitely recommend for Ghibli fans and animation fans.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

A must for any Studio Ghibli fan. It was magical.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This was a fantastic tour. The guide was great. Very friendly, personable, and incredibly knowledgeable, even offering information on the surrounding area, and good places to see throughout Tokyo.
The museum itself is a wondrous place if you enjoy Studio Ghibli's animations. It has a fair amount of hands on exhibits that really take you behind the scenes of Studio Ghibli and its animations but by no means rob it of any of its magic. You can even see a short Studio Ghibli animation that's never been shown outside the museum. On all counts, I really enjoyed this tour and would highly recommend it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Even if you know nothing about the museum it is a great experience. Wonderful guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Superb! One of the highlights in our recent Tokyo visit. Not only we enjoyed the magical museum, we also had a great time with our guide Ms. Miki. She explained in detail all the exhibits inside and also was very helpful in assisting with Tokyo subway directions. A must see for all Ghibli and non Ghibli fans.Wonderful place, had a great time, will definitely come back :)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

A must do.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

A great experience! Our tour guide Miki was wonderful and the museum was enchanting. This is a must for any fan of Miyazaki or anime for that matter and was the best tour I had during my stay in Tokyo. The only draw back was the group started by meeting at the Sun Route hotel which was a little tough to locate if you get out of the wrong side of the Shinjuku station and don't have a smart phone to guide you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Our travel guide was very polite and knowledgeable. The guide explained everything very carefully in English as all the exhibits are presented in Japanese inside of the museum. A great experience for all the fans of the Ghibli -studio.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Rainy day :-( but still , my daughter really enjoyed it. Perfect for her ,

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

I am not a fan of Studio Ghibli so I had to be dragged along by my girlfriend. I was glad I was. The museum is something very special indeed. It's hard to describe how good it is. The tickets themselves are film cells so if you can't afford anything in the gift shop you'll always have a unique souvenir to take away. I can't wait to go back another day. The tour guide had a huge knowlegde and passion for the place which added to the enjoyment.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Nicest tour guide we've ever had. She went out of her way to help us with directions for our next event that day. Museum was great - well planned and very happy to have gone!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Thank you for this tour, we were most grateful to have a tour leader meet us at the hotel and take through the maze at Shinjuku station and onto the Museum.
Unfortunately one of our group fell ill on the day and couldn`t join the tour, is it possible to receive a refund? The tour leader wrote a note which was signed by the ill person to verify this, do you have a cancellation policy?
thank you again, the tour was great and wont hesitate to use Viator again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

I love this tour. Definitely a must go if you're in Tokyo.

From USD $ 51.67

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2142TYO_F600

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message