Viewing All 166 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

alehtsan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

LOVE IT!!! Must GO!!! Also I am a Ghibli fan. The tour guide was very good in explaining the sections of the museum. You get to see more than how the movie gets made. You actually get to see other short films they make exclusively for the museum. And lastly, you cannot miss the souvenir shop. It was packed, and you can get some other souvenirs that you can't find outside the museum.

Kirill S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Great guide, told us a lot of interesting details about Ghibli and Miyazaki and took very good care of us during the short train/bus ride to museum as well as afterwards!

Jaclyn K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

This tour was amazing! Our tour guide was really into the Ghibli films and she was so knowledgeable about Ghibli in general. Great way to see a different part of the city without having to worry about transportation or tickets. Highly recommended for Ghibli fans and kids.

Ocarina of Time

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Great fun for anime lovers!! 楽しくて、面白かったですよ!

Giovanna A Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

The museum is amazing, the bad thing is you are not allowed to take pictures inside, but it was fun and the store is unbelievable.

Christine H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

My husband and I went on this trip and had a great time. The museum was fantastic. It is definitely worth it to take this tour as it would have been basically impossible for us to have procured tickets and found our way to the museum.

Jan P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

The Ghibli Museum is absolutely magical! Our guide, Haru-san, was a delight and very knowledgeable. While you can buy an admission ticket at certain conbinis in Japan and for much less money, I still highly recommend this tour. You don't have to worry about anything except enjoying yourself. And as a bonus, you share your experience with interesting, new friends and fellow fans. Only wish we'd had more time to wander around the museum and grounds. :)

Mary S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Excellent tour, very informative and well planned. I appreciated the hotel pick-up service, too. Thanks.

Kim Han Julian C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Everything in the Museum is simply splendid and wonderful.

Lisa O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

This is a wonderful museum and is a must for any Studio Ghibli fans. I really enjoyed the guided tour as Maiko(?) was very nice and told us so much about the museum that we would not have understood from the signs. As this was one of the big highlights of the trip I am very glad we opted for this tour as it was well worth it. The only suggestion I would make it have everyone meet at the bus station as we found the meeting places confusing. Other then that wonderful :)

Tom J Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

Perfect arrangements from pick up to finish

Marvin F Malaysia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

The trip to Studio Ghibli was such an amazing and magical experience. Our guide was a really nice lady who told us lots of stuff that we may or may not have known and also showed us all the hidden details of the museum that we might have missed as normal visitors. We also had ample time to visit every nook and cranny of the museum. It was really worth it. A must-go for all fans of Studio Ghibli and Hayao Miyazaki's work.

Kathleen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

Our guide Yoko was excellent. She translated the signs and explained the director's life story and the workings of the Studio. The children had seen so many of the movies that they were thrilled to go there.

tutut

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

I didn't expect Studio Ghibli to be that magical. Every nook and cranny of the museum brings new surprises. My husband and I were lucky to have experienced being in the neko bus as this was the feature on the second floor. The feature movie also is so nice. Mei-chan is so kawaii!!! Special mention to our tour guide Hiromi San. It was on this day when the strong typhoon struck Tokyo but that didn't matter. Aside from the wonderful tour of the museum, Hiro San ensured that we got back to our hotel safely. Thanks Viator, Sunrise Tours and Hiro San! This tour is highly recommended!

Isabel W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

Incomparable - literally like nothing else I'd ever seen. My 15 year old daughter was enchanted. The pre booking system keeps numbers manageable so it was relaxed and comfortable and we had plenty time there. We didn't feel rushed at all. It was lovely.

Ruth H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

A great tour to a really amazing museum that is a testament to the imagination of those involved in Studio Ghibli! Not only that but our guide was wonderful. She asked us all our favourite ghibli movie, gave us a tour of the museum and some free time. She even helped us all navigate to our respective destinations at the end of the tour and gave us tips of where to go next. Including an observation deck near our hotel we didn't even realise existed! All in all a fun tour. Added bonus each ticket contained a unique film cell from a ghibli movie!

Jose O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

This is a must! And hopefully you get your tickets before showing up at the entrance there as I believe they don't sell the tickets at the actual location. This place was magical! Brought out our inner-child. Highly recommended!

Michael F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

Great tour! I would fully recommend it. Guide was so friendly. One thing I have been confused: during booking you´ve been asked for a hotel to pick you up. I chose one out of the pull-down menu, the ;Grand Palace Hotel which was situated near the hotel I had. – But checking the booking confirmation for the pickup-timetable there was no Grand Palace Hotel; anymore listed. Instead a Palace Hotel which exists but is closed for renovation actually. So I went to Grand Palace and it was the right decision. So: tour 5 stars BUT Viator, do your homework please.

Duncan P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

The guide we had for this knew the museum inside out and was so passionate about Ghibli it made the tour really informative. We were given the option to wonder around on our own or stick with the guide for a short tour and then have some free time after, we chose to stick with the guide and she gave a brief but detailed tour of the museum. We found this really useful as there isn't much English signage in the museum so an explanation of the exhibits was invaluable. Good details on how to get back to hotel were given also.

Kathy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

did alot for the money

Nina A United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

It was great going on the train and local buses with a guide. Having a guide was invaluable at the studio as all the signs were in Japanese.We had a journey back on the trainbus and were back in town to enjoy the rest of the evening.

Joshua M USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

I went on this tour for my niece. I know nothing about this company. But the guide did a good job, she made it interesting for me as well and in addition to being knowledgeable she was funny. I really enjoyed this tour.

Melinda G N USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

Magical afternoon, fantastic museum, enchanting tour guide. A gift for the initiated and uninitiated alike

Adrian L Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

Online registration was easy, thanks to Viator. We were collected from the hotel lobby, and since the bus was late, we were taxied to another hotel lobby which was covered by the pick-up guide. Then we were aboard a bus to the JTB office to register. Our tour guide, Haru-san, was tremendously helpful with her explanations, directions and enthusiasm. On the train she asked each of us about our favourite Miyazaki movies, and made sure that each of us arrived at our desired stations afterwards. Her comments throughout the tour were a great help for those who didn't understand Japanese, and she pointed out many things about the museum that were not evident at first glance. And the museum itself ... fantastic. The amount of work that Miyazaki and his team put into that place is unbelievable. From the gorgeous stained glass windows to the mysterious staircases and the animation displays, everything had a wonderful look and feel. A series of rooms showed artists' tables and sketches, mirroring real studios. Upstairs was a massive Neko-bus that children could play in, and a giant totoro greeted us from a mock ticket window as we entered. I was disappointed that we were not allowed to take photos, but the gift shop had some real treats including original film cels that made up for it. I also would have liked a bit more time in the museum to walk around, but we still saw and bought what we wanted. Well worth the money and time, and totally recommended for any Miyazaki or general anime fan. I plan to return one day, to get another look and perhaps some more museum-only goodies. Thank you to Haru-san, big thumbs up for JTB Sunrise Tours, and thank you Viator for making this available to other countries.

Alexis K USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

So charming! A must see for Ghibli fans!

Viewing 3 of 7

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next

From USD $ 52.50

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2142TYO_F600

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message