4.5 star rating: Recommended 138 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Tokyo, Japan
  • Duration:  4 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 138 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Looove studio ghibli ! and this tour was great!. The tour guide spoke good english and was funny and informative. The place it self is a huge playground and wonderful just gave me so many emotions at the same time! the downside was that I was to old to play in the Catbus but... hey I was there at least hihi.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

LOVE IT!!! Must GO!!! Also I am a Ghibli fan. The tour guide was very good in explaining the sections of the museum. You get to see more than how the movie gets made. You actually get to see other short films they make exclusively for the museum. And lastly, you cannot miss the souvenir shop. It was packed, and you can get some other souvenirs that you can't find outside the museum.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Great guide, told us a lot of interesting details about Ghibli and Miyazaki and took very good care of us during the short train/bus ride to museum as well as afterwards!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

This tour was amazing! Our tour guide was really into the Ghibli films and she was so knowledgeable about Ghibli in general. Great way to see a different part of the city without having to worry about transportation or tickets. Highly recommended for Ghibli fans and kids.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Great fun for anime lovers!! 楽しくて、面白かったですよ!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

The museum is amazing, the bad thing is you are not allowed to take pictures inside, but it was fun and the store is unbelievable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

My husband and I went on this trip and had a great time. The museum was fantastic. It is definitely worth it to take this tour as it would have been basically impossible for us to have procured tickets and found our way to the museum.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

The Ghibli Museum is absolutely magical! Our guide, Haru-san, was a delight and very knowledgeable. While you can buy an admission ticket at certain conbinis in Japan and for much less money, I still highly recommend this tour. You don't have to worry about anything except enjoying yourself. And as a bonus, you share your experience with interesting, new friends and fellow fans. Only wish we'd had more time to wander around the museum and grounds. :)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Excellent tour, very informative and well planned. I appreciated the hotel pick-up service, too. Thanks.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Everything in the Museum is simply splendid and wonderful.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

This is a wonderful museum and is a must for any Studio Ghibli fans. I really enjoyed the guided tour as Maiko(?) was very nice and told us so much about the museum that we would not have understood from the signs. As this was one of the big highlights of the trip I am very glad we opted for this tour as it was well worth it. The only suggestion I would make it have everyone meet at the bus station as we found the meeting places confusing. Other then that wonderful :)

Tom J
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

Perfect arrangements from pick up to finish

Marvin F
Malaysia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

The trip to Studio Ghibli was such an amazing and magical experience. Our guide was a really nice lady who told us lots of stuff that we may or may not have known and also showed us all the hidden details of the museum that we might have missed as normal visitors. We also had ample time to visit every nook and cranny of the museum. It was really worth it. A must-go for all fans of Studio Ghibli and Hayao Miyazaki's work.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

Our guide Yoko was excellent. She translated the signs and explained the director's life story and the workings of the Studio. The children had seen so many of the movies that they were thrilled to go there.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

I didn't expect Studio Ghibli to be that magical. Every nook and cranny of the museum brings new surprises. My husband and I were lucky to have experienced being in the neko bus as this was the feature on the second floor. The feature movie also is so nice. Mei-chan is so kawaii!!! Special mention to our tour guide Hiromi San. It was on this day when the strong typhoon struck Tokyo but that didn't matter. Aside from the wonderful tour of the museum, Hiro San ensured that we got back to our hotel safely. Thanks Viator, Sunrise Tours and Hiro San! This tour is highly recommended!

From USD $ 56.70

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2142TYO_F600

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message