• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 133 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Tokyo, Japan
  • Duration:  4 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 133 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

The museum is amazing, the bad thing is you are not allowed to take pictures inside, but it was fun and the store is unbelievable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

My husband and I went on this trip and had a great time. The museum was fantastic. It is definitely worth it to take this tour as it would have been basically impossible for us to have procured tickets and found our way to the museum.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

The Ghibli Museum is absolutely magical! Our guide, Haru-san, was a delight and very knowledgeable. While you can buy an admission ticket at certain conbinis in Japan and for much less money, I still highly recommend this tour. You don't have to worry about anything except enjoying yourself. And as a bonus, you share your experience with interesting, new friends and fellow fans. Only wish we'd had more time to wander around the museum and grounds. :)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Excellent tour, very informative and well planned. I appreciated the hotel pick-up service, too. Thanks.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Everything in the Museum is simply splendid and wonderful.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

This is a wonderful museum and is a must for any Studio Ghibli fans. I really enjoyed the guided tour as Maiko(?) was very nice and told us so much about the museum that we would not have understood from the signs. As this was one of the big highlights of the trip I am very glad we opted for this tour as it was well worth it. The only suggestion I would make it have everyone meet at the bus station as we found the meeting places confusing. Other then that wonderful :)

Tom J
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

Perfect arrangements from pick up to finish

Marvin F
Malaysia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

The trip to Studio Ghibli was such an amazing and magical experience. Our guide was a really nice lady who told us lots of stuff that we may or may not have known and also showed us all the hidden details of the museum that we might have missed as normal visitors. We also had ample time to visit every nook and cranny of the museum. It was really worth it. A must-go for all fans of Studio Ghibli and Hayao Miyazaki's work.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

Our guide Yoko was excellent. She translated the signs and explained the director's life story and the workings of the Studio. The children had seen so many of the movies that they were thrilled to go there.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

I didn't expect Studio Ghibli to be that magical. Every nook and cranny of the museum brings new surprises. My husband and I were lucky to have experienced being in the neko bus as this was the feature on the second floor. The feature movie also is so nice. Mei-chan is so kawaii!!! Special mention to our tour guide Hiromi San. It was on this day when the strong typhoon struck Tokyo but that didn't matter. Aside from the wonderful tour of the museum, Hiro San ensured that we got back to our hotel safely. Thanks Viator, Sunrise Tours and Hiro San! This tour is highly recommended!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

Incomparable - literally like nothing else I'd ever seen. My 15 year old daughter was enchanted. The pre booking system keeps numbers manageable so it was relaxed and comfortable and we had plenty time there. We didn't feel rushed at all. It was lovely.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

A great tour to a really amazing museum that is a testament to the imagination of those involved in Studio Ghibli! Not only that but our guide was wonderful. She asked us all our favourite ghibli movie, gave us a tour of the museum and some free time. She even helped us all navigate to our respective destinations at the end of the tour and gave us tips of where to go next. Including an observation deck near our hotel we didn't even realise existed! All in all a fun tour. Added bonus each ticket contained a unique film cell from a ghibli movie!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

This is a must! And hopefully you get your tickets before showing up at the entrance there as I believe they don't sell the tickets at the actual location. This place was magical! Brought out our inner-child. Highly recommended!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

Great tour! I would fully recommend it. Guide was so friendly. One thing I have been confused: during booking you´ve been asked for a hotel to pick you up. I chose one out of the pull-down menu, the ;Grand Palace Hotel which was situated near the hotel I had. – But checking the booking confirmation for the pickup-timetable there was no Grand Palace Hotel; anymore listed. Instead a Palace Hotel which exists but is closed for renovation actually. So I went to Grand Palace and it was the right decision. So: tour 5 stars BUT Viator, do your homework please.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

The guide we had for this knew the museum inside out and was so passionate about Ghibli it made the tour really informative. We were given the option to wonder around on our own or stick with the guide for a short tour and then have some free time after, we chose to stick with the guide and she gave a brief but detailed tour of the museum. We found this really useful as there isn't much English signage in the museum so an explanation of the exhibits was invaluable. Good details on how to get back to hotel were given also.

From USD $ 60.25

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2142TYO_F600

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message