• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 132 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Tokyo, Japan
  • Duration:  4 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 132 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Nina A
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

It was great going on the train and local buses with a guide. Having a guide was invaluable at the studio as all the signs were in Japanese.We had a journey back on the trainbus and were back in town to enjoy the rest of the evening.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

I went on this tour for my niece. I know nothing about this company. But the guide did a good job, she made it interesting for me as well and in addition to being knowledgeable she was funny. I really enjoyed this tour.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

Magical afternoon, fantastic museum, enchanting tour guide. A gift for the initiated and uninitiated alike

Adrian L
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

Online registration was easy, thanks to Viator. We were collected from the hotel lobby, and since the bus was late, we were taxied to another hotel lobby which was covered by the pick-up guide. Then we were aboard a bus to the JTB office to register. Our tour guide, Haru-san, was tremendously helpful with her explanations, directions and enthusiasm. On the train she asked each of us about our favourite Miyazaki movies, and made sure that each of us arrived at our desired stations afterwards. Her comments throughout the tour were a great help for those who didn't understand Japanese, and she pointed out many things about the museum that were not evident at first glance. And the museum itself ... fantastic. The amount of work that Miyazaki and his team put into that place is unbelievable. From the gorgeous stained glass windows to the mysterious staircases and the animation displays, everything had a wonderful look and feel. A series of rooms showed artists' tables and sketches, mirroring real studios. Upstairs was a massive Neko-bus that children could play in, and a giant totoro greeted us from a mock ticket window as we entered. I was disappointed that we were not allowed to take photos, but the gift shop had some real treats including original film cels that made up for it. I also would have liked a bit more time in the museum to walk around, but we still saw and bought what we wanted. Well worth the money and time, and totally recommended for any Miyazaki or general anime fan. I plan to return one day, to get another look and perhaps some more museum-only goodies. Thank you to Haru-san, big thumbs up for JTB Sunrise Tours, and thank you Viator for making this available to other countries.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

So charming! A must see for Ghibli fans!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

If you like Miyazaki, this isa must see. Very cool place. Definately a great place to take kids! The tour guide was wonderful as ell!

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

This tour was very enjoyable and I would love to go there again and see all the amazing things there again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

I really enjoyed the tour. The guide spoke English beautifully and was really knowledgeable about the entire Studio Ghibli phenomenon. If you're going to Japan, you really should put this museum on your itinerary, and Viator's tour makes transportation easy. As long as you're not with a large group, you should have no problem with the amount of time given.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

This is the perfect way to see Studio Ghibli without having to figure out all the logistics yourself. Even better, the guide takes you to each exhibit and explains it in English, since all the info is only available in Japanese. We wouldn't have gotten nearly as much out of our visit if we hadn't been on this tour. Our guide was wonderful - she spoke excellent English and displayed a true fan's appreciation for Miyazaki's movies and characters. She also took great care to be sure everyone knew how to get to their destination after the tour. The only thing I would suggest is extending the tour so that guests have more free time - one hour at the end of the day was not enough.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

Excellent guide, very helpful and considerate.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

This is a simply amazing tour! It's a lot of fun and I enjoyed it much.

Denis B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

We had a great afternoon, meeting point was easy to find and the whole trip went as planned. The guide could not have been more enthusiastic and knowledgeable. It was obvious that she was a Ghibli fan and this spilled over into her enthusiasm for the trip.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

The museum was really special, and having a guide to explain everything made the experience much more enjoyable! It is also very difficult to get tickets from convenience stores in Japan, I recommend this tour if you want to go. The only downside was that it took a long time to get to the museum from the hotel pickup.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

Studio Ghibli was great, and having a guide along to explain the sign's and comments that were in Japanese was very useful.

Nicole A
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

If you are a Ghibli fan - this is a MUST do trip!!! The ride on the JR lines are great and you get to see some scenery along the way The museum is just so fantastic....you get lost in another world.

From USD $ 60.32

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2142TYO_F600

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message