4.5 star rating: Recommended 140 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Tokyo, Japan
  • Duration:  4 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 140 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

Our guide Yoko was excellent. She translated the signs and explained the director's life story and the workings of the Studio. The children had seen so many of the movies that they were thrilled to go there.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

I didn't expect Studio Ghibli to be that magical. Every nook and cranny of the museum brings new surprises. My husband and I were lucky to have experienced being in the neko bus as this was the feature on the second floor. The feature movie also is so nice. Mei-chan is so kawaii!!! Special mention to our tour guide Hiromi San. It was on this day when the strong typhoon struck Tokyo but that didn't matter. Aside from the wonderful tour of the museum, Hiro San ensured that we got back to our hotel safely. Thanks Viator, Sunrise Tours and Hiro San! This tour is highly recommended!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

Incomparable - literally like nothing else I'd ever seen. My 15 year old daughter was enchanted. The pre booking system keeps numbers manageable so it was relaxed and comfortable and we had plenty time there. We didn't feel rushed at all. It was lovely.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

A great tour to a really amazing museum that is a testament to the imagination of those involved in Studio Ghibli! Not only that but our guide was wonderful. She asked us all our favourite ghibli movie, gave us a tour of the museum and some free time. She even helped us all navigate to our respective destinations at the end of the tour and gave us tips of where to go next. Including an observation deck near our hotel we didn't even realise existed! All in all a fun tour. Added bonus each ticket contained a unique film cell from a ghibli movie!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

This is a must! And hopefully you get your tickets before showing up at the entrance there as I believe they don't sell the tickets at the actual location. This place was magical! Brought out our inner-child. Highly recommended!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

Great tour! I would fully recommend it. Guide was so friendly. One thing I have been confused: during booking you´ve been asked for a hotel to pick you up. I chose one out of the pull-down menu, the ;Grand Palace Hotel which was situated near the hotel I had. – But checking the booking confirmation for the pickup-timetable there was no Grand Palace Hotel; anymore listed. Instead a Palace Hotel which exists but is closed for renovation actually. So I went to Grand Palace and it was the right decision. So: tour 5 stars BUT Viator, do your homework please.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

The guide we had for this knew the museum inside out and was so passionate about Ghibli it made the tour really informative. We were given the option to wonder around on our own or stick with the guide for a short tour and then have some free time after, we chose to stick with the guide and she gave a brief but detailed tour of the museum. We found this really useful as there isn't much English signage in the museum so an explanation of the exhibits was invaluable. Good details on how to get back to hotel were given also.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

did alot for the money

Nina A
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

It was great going on the train and local buses with a guide. Having a guide was invaluable at the studio as all the signs were in Japanese.We had a journey back on the trainbus and were back in town to enjoy the rest of the evening.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

I went on this tour for my niece. I know nothing about this company. But the guide did a good job, she made it interesting for me as well and in addition to being knowledgeable she was funny. I really enjoyed this tour.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

Magical afternoon, fantastic museum, enchanting tour guide. A gift for the initiated and uninitiated alike

Adrian L
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

Online registration was easy, thanks to Viator. We were collected from the hotel lobby, and since the bus was late, we were taxied to another hotel lobby which was covered by the pick-up guide. Then we were aboard a bus to the JTB office to register. Our tour guide, Haru-san, was tremendously helpful with her explanations, directions and enthusiasm. On the train she asked each of us about our favourite Miyazaki movies, and made sure that each of us arrived at our desired stations afterwards. Her comments throughout the tour were a great help for those who didn't understand Japanese, and she pointed out many things about the museum that were not evident at first glance. And the museum itself ... fantastic. The amount of work that Miyazaki and his team put into that place is unbelievable. From the gorgeous stained glass windows to the mysterious staircases and the animation displays, everything had a wonderful look and feel. A series of rooms showed artists' tables and sketches, mirroring real studios. Upstairs was a massive Neko-bus that children could play in, and a giant totoro greeted us from a mock ticket window as we entered. I was disappointed that we were not allowed to take photos, but the gift shop had some real treats including original film cels that made up for it. I also would have liked a bit more time in the museum to walk around, but we still saw and bought what we wanted. Well worth the money and time, and totally recommended for any Miyazaki or general anime fan. I plan to return one day, to get another look and perhaps some more museum-only goodies. Thank you to Haru-san, big thumbs up for JTB Sunrise Tours, and thank you Viator for making this available to other countries.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

So charming! A must see for Ghibli fans!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

If you like Miyazaki, this isa must see. Very cool place. Definately a great place to take kids! The tour guide was wonderful as ell!

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

This tour was very enjoyable and I would love to go there again and see all the amazing things there again.

From USD $ 52.38

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2142TYO_F600

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message