4.5 star rating: Recommended 151 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Tokyo, Japan
  • Duration:  4 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 151 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

This is the best trip ever. The tour guide is super friendly and helpful. She is awesome and did an amazing job in leading us throughout the entire experience. On top of that, she was super helpful in helping us find places to go.

Sebastian S
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

Excellent highly rated and the staff were so kind. the only thing that would make it better is if the coach took you straight there rather then following the guide onto a couple of trains and then the bus. I think we were there for just over 2 hours which was just about right prob, I went round myself as I'm an animator n new a lot of the history etc. but definitely recommend if you don't want to try and get your own tickets over there which you have to get from a lawson store and its all in Japanese and supposedly they sell out weeks in advance, so this Viator tour was perfect for me and so simple to book.

Sarah T
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2009

Studio Ghibli was a fantastic tour! The museum itself is covered in so many intricate little details that you may only notice some on the second walk around. There are many extraordinary exhibits, all fun and many hands on. It is a great place for children and adults alike, and if you enjoy drawing you are sure to be inspired. The tour was very well organized and we were taken care of from the word go. Nothing is neglected and our fabulous tour guide made sure every arrangement was taken care of. Our tour guide spoke very good English and knew a lot about the museum, so we could ask questions. We were given different options for walking round the museum, and chose to stay with our guide as she was so helpful. I would recommend this tour to everyone as it is a fascinating and crazy place. Even if you haven't seen any of the films you will enjoy it, but it would make a great deal more sense if you have seen at least some of the films, so I recommend seeing Spirited Away, My Neighbour Totoro and Laputa at least before you go.

Sirina C
Thailand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

The place is magical, especially if you are Ghibli (pronounced the Japanese way ji-bu-ri) fans. It was impossible to find tickets locally at Lawson during the time we went to Japan because of the Obon festival school holidays but we were lucky we found a blog where Viator was recommended. Unless you know your way around Tokyo, use the metro. There are tickets available at Lawson ticket machines. The most important factor is that entrance tickets are not for sale at the museum and must be purchased in advance. This tour is the only way to get into the museum during high season.

Fraser M
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2009

The Studio Ghibli Museum is a unique and wonderful place, and an essential visit for any family or individual visitor to make. We had a really excellent tour guide who was knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. It was a real highlight of my first visit to Tokyo.

Christine A
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

The museum is unlike anything you have ever seen before. The place is designed firmly with children's imagination in mind. The design is to deliberately get you lost so you can discover small bits of whimsy. What ever they paid our guide it wasn't enough, She worked hard throughout to keep us informed and even personally escorted us to our relevant platforms at the end of the day. She was extremely knowledgeable about the museum, and animation. The only minor drawback is that it was two hours at the museum which isn't long enough to take it all in, and in the winter it gets dark while at the museum. A must see if you are in the area.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Going along on a guided tour was really worth it since all the signs inside the museum were in Japanese. The guide had very good English and I can really recommend this tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This was the best part of my trip to Tokyo. My eleven year old son was amazed by everything there. Our guide was wonderful and not only did a great job giving us the personal tour at the museum but also gave us lots of info on the way and on the return. She was also helpful at helping us plan additional activities on some of our free days afterwards.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2008

This was a very fun tour. I was told from people that live in Japan that it is hard to get in if you live there. I would suggest doing this tour if you like Japanese anime.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2008

Thank you so much. This was amazing thanks to our tour guide. He was the best tour guide I've ever had, no joke! Thank you!

David M
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2007

Very well managed.

Ilona G
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2007

Excellent, well worth the trip and my adviser was excellent and very kind, whom she also spoke exquisite English.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing!

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

This tour is a must if you love anime created by this studio, or anime in general. There were many things to see and you get a free souvenir too!! The only downside was you can not take photos inside the museum. However, there were places you can take photos outside. Overall very enjoyable.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Good experience overall. We were comfortable by this point with Japanese trains so had to spend a lot of time meeting a one place to go to another place to wait on slower people on the tour. I'd recommend meeting at the museum if possible. The museum is pretty cool -- worth it even if don't speak Japanese.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

This is a must see for fans but if you only have a passing interest in Studio Ghibli it might not be that exciting. The museum is a wonderful, whimsical place to visit, full of exhibits designed to inform and make you think. It is not on par with a Disney attraction. Come to learn about the history of the studio and the creators and definitely do it with an English speaking guide to get the most out of it.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This tour was amazing!

Debra E
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

This was a last minute holiday to Japan. I couldn't buy tickets to the Ghibli Museum through the authorised Australian outlet, so was very please to obtain them by going on this tour.
Travelling by train and local bus was fun. Our guide was good, though we did have difficulty hearing her in some of the museum rooms as they were a bit noisy. Nevertheless, it was good fun and we had a good afternoon.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Smooth and efficient tour. The tourguide was knowledgeable about Hayao Miyazaki and his animations and we gained a lot of information. Worth the tour if your command of Japanese is poor since the whole museum is in Japanese. Also interesting for animation enthusiasts.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

The museum was nice. For a big fan of Miyazaki, our 10-year old, it was time and money well spent! The tour guide was helpful, however, we wished he had given us more background information about the museum, about Miyazaki's life and work.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

I wish there was more time to explore everything earlier since the tour stars in the afternoon. Otherwise it was a fun and great experience. It is a bit pricey but worth it if you don't know much japanese. Our tour guide was really nice and informative.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

Shame could not take photos inside the museum but very good otherwise.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

The guide was really informative, which was really good as there were no English display boards in the museum. I would have loved having more time to explore the museum on my own, as there was just so many things to see!

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Everything is in Japanese, so if you cannot read it, you won't get much out of Studio Ghibli! The tour guide walked us through the main exhibits for half an hour, explaining the main ideas, and then gave us more than an hour of free time. It helps if you've watched and enjoyed Miyazaki's films :)

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

though tour guide was good. hated how tour guide waited for one of the families in the tour with a very rude child who took up all our time by running away and whining and complaining. Because of them we were late coming back .

From USD $ 53.88

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2142TYO_F600

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message