Insider's Guide to Tokyo

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Viewing All 166 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Stephen G USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

If you like Miyazaki, this isa must see. Very cool place. Definately a great place to take kids! The tour guide was wonderful as ell!

Stephanie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

This tour was very enjoyable and I would love to go there again and see all the amazing things there again.

Jonathan L USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

I really enjoyed the tour. The guide spoke English beautifully and was really knowledgeable about the entire Studio Ghibli phenomenon. If you're going to Japan, you really should put this museum on your itinerary, and Viator's tour makes transportation easy. As long as you're not with a large group, you should have no problem with the amount of time given.

Carrie H USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

This is the perfect way to see Studio Ghibli without having to figure out all the logistics yourself. Even better, the guide takes you to each exhibit and explains it in English, since all the info is only available in Japanese. We wouldn't have gotten nearly as much out of our visit if we hadn't been on this tour. Our guide was wonderful - she spoke excellent English and displayed a true fan's appreciation for Miyazaki's movies and characters. She also took great care to be sure everyone knew how to get to their destination after the tour. The only thing I would suggest is extending the tour so that guests have more free time - one hour at the end of the day was not enough.

LEON K USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

Excellent guide, very helpful and considerate.

Martha W USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

This is a simply amazing tour! It's a lot of fun and I enjoyed it much.

Denis B Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

We had a great afternoon, meeting point was easy to find and the whole trip went as planned. The guide could not have been more enthusiastic and knowledgeable. It was obvious that she was a Ghibli fan and this spilled over into her enthusiasm for the trip.

Derek G Russian Federation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

The museum was really special, and having a guide to explain everything made the experience much more enjoyable! It is also very difficult to get tickets from convenience stores in Japan, I recommend this tour if you want to go. The only downside was that it took a long time to get to the museum from the hotel pickup.

Elizabeth H Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

Studio Ghibli was great, and having a guide along to explain the sign's and comments that were in Japanese was very useful.

Nicole A Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

If you are a Ghibli fan - this is a MUST do trip!!! The ride on the JR lines are great and you get to see some scenery along the way The museum is just so fantastic....you get lost in another world.

Fee Leng C Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

A great tour and a great tour guide!

Gregory Y USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

If you are a fan this is a must-see. I would recommend the tour because English signs are not common around the museum.

Chun chong L USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

This is the best trip ever. The tour guide is super friendly and helpful. She is awesome and did an amazing job in leading us throughout the entire experience. On top of that, she was super helpful in helping us find places to go.

Sebastian S United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

Excellent highly rated and the staff were so kind. the only thing that would make it better is if the coach took you straight there rather then following the guide onto a couple of trains and then the bus. I think we were there for just over 2 hours which was just about right prob, I went round myself as I'm an animator n new a lot of the history etc. but definitely recommend if you don't want to try and get your own tickets over there which you have to get from a lawson store and its all in Japanese and supposedly they sell out weeks in advance, so this Viator tour was perfect for me and so simple to book.

Sarah T United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2009

Studio Ghibli was a fantastic tour! The museum itself is covered in so many intricate little details that you may only notice some on the second walk around. There are many extraordinary exhibits, all fun and many hands on. It is a great place for children and adults alike, and if you enjoy drawing you are sure to be inspired. The tour was very well organized and we were taken care of from the word go. Nothing is neglected and our fabulous tour guide made sure every arrangement was taken care of. Our tour guide spoke very good English and knew a lot about the museum, so we could ask questions. We were given different options for walking round the museum, and chose to stay with our guide as she was so helpful. I would recommend this tour to everyone as it is a fascinating and crazy place. Even if you haven't seen any of the films you will enjoy it, but it would make a great deal more sense if you have seen at least some of the films, so I recommend seeing Spirited Away, My Neighbour Totoro and Laputa at least before you go.

Sirina C Thailand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

The place is magical, especially if you are Ghibli (pronounced the Japanese way ji-bu-ri) fans. It was impossible to find tickets locally at Lawson during the time we went to Japan because of the Obon festival school holidays but we were lucky we found a blog where Viator was recommended. Unless you know your way around Tokyo, use the metro. There are tickets available at Lawson ticket machines. The most important factor is that entrance tickets are not for sale at the museum and must be purchased in advance. This tour is the only way to get into the museum during high season.

Fraser M United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2009

The Studio Ghibli Museum is a unique and wonderful place, and an essential visit for any family or individual visitor to make. We had a really excellent tour guide who was knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. It was a real highlight of my first visit to Tokyo.

Christine A United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

The museum is unlike anything you have ever seen before. The place is designed firmly with children's imagination in mind. The design is to deliberately get you lost so you can discover small bits of whimsy. What ever they paid our guide it wasn't enough, She worked hard throughout to keep us informed and even personally escorted us to our relevant platforms at the end of the day. She was extremely knowledgeable about the museum, and animation. The only minor drawback is that it was two hours at the museum which isn't long enough to take it all in, and in the winter it gets dark while at the museum. A must see if you are in the area.

Jenny H Sweden

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Going along on a guided tour was really worth it since all the signs inside the museum were in Japanese. The guide had very good English and I can really recommend this tour!

Tyler J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This was the best part of my trip to Tokyo. My eleven year old son was amazed by everything there. Our guide was wonderful and not only did a great job giving us the personal tour at the museum but also gave us lots of info on the way and on the return. She was also helpful at helping us plan additional activities on some of our free days afterwards.

Diana S USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2008

This was a very fun tour. I was told from people that live in Japan that it is hard to get in if you live there. I would suggest doing this tour if you like Japanese anime.

Jan Philip C Germany

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2008

Thank you so much. This was amazing thanks to our tour guide. He was the best tour guide I've ever had, no joke! Thank you!

David M Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2007

Very well managed.

Ilona G United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2007

Excellent, well worth the trip and my adviser was excellent and very kind, whom she also spoke exquisite English.

Martin B

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Very good tour. My wife and I enjoyed it as we are fans of all the Ghibli productions. Great gift shop.

Viewing 4 of 7

Page: Previous | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | Next

From USD $ 53.52

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2142TYO_F600

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message