4.5 star rating: Recommended 151 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Tokyo, Japan
  • Duration:  4 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 151 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
May 2013

It was great to have inside knowledge of everything in the museum which baffled other visitors.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

Good tour of Studio Ghibli, place was packed out when we went but still an interesting experience.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

We had the loveliest tour guide, Michiko, the name of the current empress! She was very helpful and very informative! The Studio itself is spectacular, even though it was ridiculously busy and tight in certain places, it didn't diminish the experience. You feel as though you are in an animation when you are there and seeing how it all works is quite spectacular! Even though we were under the impression that we would be getting a bus straight there, public transporting it was super easy with our guide leading the way and even allowed us to see a side of Tokyo we wouldn't have! Overall a must do for any animation enthusiast (or not!)!

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

This tour was very good. Our guide was very enthusiastic and knowledgeable on Studio Ghibli. Transport from Shinjuku involved catching a train and then a bus so we were glad we got to Studio Ghibli with the tour (as buses only have Japanese writing). The tour started with our guide explaining some of the history of animation and of Studio Ghibli which lasted about 10-20mins. We were then allowed about 1.5-2hrs of free time to roam the 3 floors of the museum. I recommend this tour for first timers in Japan who want to visit Studio Ghibli.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

Very good tour. The guide was wonderful and the museum was very nice. The only inconvenience was the changes of bus 1 to bus 2, to subway, and then to another bus. I think one of the reasons people take a bus tour is not having to go through all that. Overall it was a good experience.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

Good experience, only gripe was having to run twice to catch a bus.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

The tour is worth it for any Studio Ghibli fans! Firstly, I have to thank our tour guide Michiko for being the awesome person she is! You could tell she loved the films and all things Ghibli as much as we did. This place is magical and the trip on the local train was an experience in itself. Don't be upset by the fact that you're taken there by local transport, it all adds to the experience! The place is crowded but orderly (we are talking about Japan) but that didn't deter Michiko from taking us to every room to explain all the different displays. Really cool that you get to keep the ticket stub which has an original film strip incorporated into it. Make sure you give yourself plenty of time to go tithe gift shop and cafe as well! I would go back there in a heart beat!

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

We had an excellent time at the Studio Ghibli Museum, if you are a fan the tour will not disappoint you, my only concern was the time in getting started, we had to wait for people to arrive as the pick up location was unclear for some, and then catch public transport closer to the location, I would have been happier getting my own way there, meeting the tour guide and thus having more time to spare to look around at my leisure.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

Excellente Place, Wonderfull Guide. I enjoyed very much. If you´re fan of Ghibli this is a must in tokyo.

Sokha Y
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Great museum if you are a fan of his work. Amazing exhibits there, does get very crowded in there so it's good that they limit the amount of tickets for the place.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Our tour guide was great! Loved the animation area of the museum. They should make a whole amusement park for Studio Ghibli.

Davin C
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Great little museum. If you are a fan of Ghibli or have kids would thoroughly recommend that you add this to your itinerary. Our guide was fantastic and her English was excellent.

Our tour started from the bus station where we then caught a train to Mitaka and on to the Museum by bus from there.

The museum was busy but not as busy as some places in Japan as the number of tickets issued each day are limited.

It was nice seeing how the animation process is undertaken at Studio Ghibli.

We were given a tour around the museum and then had about 90 minutes free time to explore ourselves. Eveything is in Japanese so staying with the guide for the first part is recommended.

After the tour wee were taken by bus to another station where we could catch trains back to our hotels - the first train (to Mitaka) is included in the tour, the return train was at our own expense.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Thanks for saving the dream of my kids. Having the tickets thru you was a golden chance.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

The guide was lovely and polite and was very well versed in the history of the Ghibli museum. She got to know everyone and talked to us on our way over on the train. The only complaint is that there wasn't enough time in the museum. Besides that, however, great tour and a must see.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

I'm going to start by saying that if you can get here without going on a tour, then do it. This is a really great museum that deserves a heap of time to get through, especially if you're a fan of Studio Ghibli.

If you go here and a tour is the only way, then this is also a good tour to take. The guide I had was really knowledgeable about the museum and helpful. And the amount of stuff to see is amazing.

Because of this , like I said above, my only real criticism is that there isn't enough time to really explore everything fully. The next time I go to Tokyo I will be going here again.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

Enjoyable and fantastic experienced, the guide did a good job, she made it interesting for me and she was funny. I really enjoyed this tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2011

The Studio Ghibli Museum itself is fabulous, and I booked a tour in order to guarantee admission. I'm not sure what the cost for ticket only would be, but I did feel that although the lady guide was lovely and helpful, the guided element of the trip was unnecessary. The pickup from my hotel took an hour, whereas I could have walked it in less time, and taken local transport in even less. Then we didn't get as much time at the Museum as we would have liked. Anyone used to traveling independently, who is confident with public transport, doesn't need to book this tour - unless it's the only way of getting into the Museum!

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

The Ghibli Museum was a breathe of fresh air. It was whimsical and detailed. You can watch a 15 minute movie and eat at the cafe. We were there when they had the cat bus. It was such a treat. Had a great old english 18th/19th century feel to the place. My favorite tour in Japan.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

A joy for fans of movies produced by Studio Ghibli. Our tour guide was knowledgeable and friendly. All of the museum's exhibits are in Japanese, so it was helpful to have an English-speaking guide. I'd rate it 5 stars, but the process of being picked up at our hotel was confusing and somewhat chaotic.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

had a great time

JEONG HYEON L
South Korea

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

As a fan of Ghibli's animation, this tour is just a must do in Tokyo. Of course you go there by yourself, but remember Japan is not quite an English-oriented country. Never expect an English description in the Ghibli Museum, which means you may need this tour even if you can organize all.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2009

Engagingly fun tour for Japanese animation fans. Our tour guide was thoughtful and helpful. The attention to detail was greatly appreciated. The exhibits and museum were beautiful. Hotel pick-up was a big help.

Kevin S
Ireland

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2009

Katsu was a lovely tour/guide and even though it was a rainy day, The Ghibli museum doesn't disappoint. Thanks Viator for the tour!

Matthew R
New Zealand

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2009

I enjoyed the tour very much. I will visit the Museum again one day, but next time will go alone. Here's why 1. I booked the tour because I was unsure about getting to the Museum and was told to book ahead as it gets busy. I chose to be collected by Hato Bus at Stop 7 at Tokyo Station - this bus then drove to another bus terminal which was the designated starting point for the tour group. We then got another bus... back to Tokyo Station! This hour of going 'round the houses' was unnecessary. 2. I am an animator so had a particular interest in seeing the Museum. All sign-posting is in Japanese only, which is fine. The tour guide gave an excellent tour and explained the different features of the museum. However, as I knew what I was looking at, once I was there I didn't really feel the need to be on a tour. 3. Our time in the Museum was too short, to be honest. One hour with tour, one hour by yourself, one hour either side for travel. I could happily spend a whole afternoon in there which is what I'll do next time. In conclusion, the Museum is FANTASTIC and the tour is worth doing if you're not familiar with the processes involved in creating animation. If you know what you're looking at then you don't need a guide. Also, Tokyo Station should really be the starting point for the tour group to meet at - I see no reason not to do this. Getting from Tokyo Station to the Museum is one train ride and then a short bus journey - not very difficult - we could have saved an hour or had an extra hour at the Museum.

Alex M
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2008

The museum was absolutely fantastic. My only frustration was the amount of time it took to get there; it seemed like we went from one end of Tokyo to the other & back again before we got on our way. There definitely could have been a more effective use of time & travel. Perhaps a more central meeting point. The guide was great.

From USD $ 53.62

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2142TYO_F600

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message