4.5 star rating: Recommended 159 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Tokyo, Japan
  • Duration:  4 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 159 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Debra E
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

This was a last minute holiday to Japan. I couldn't buy tickets to the Ghibli Museum through the authorised Australian outlet, so was very please to obtain them by going on this tour.
Travelling by train and local bus was fun. Our guide was good, though we did have difficulty hearing her in some of the museum rooms as they were a bit noisy. Nevertheless, it was good fun and we had a good afternoon.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Smooth and efficient tour. The tourguide was knowledgeable about Hayao Miyazaki and his animations and we gained a lot of information. Worth the tour if your command of Japanese is poor since the whole museum is in Japanese. Also interesting for animation enthusiasts.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

The museum was nice. For a big fan of Miyazaki, our 10-year old, it was time and money well spent! The tour guide was helpful, however, we wished he had given us more background information about the museum, about Miyazaki's life and work.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

I wish there was more time to explore everything earlier since the tour stars in the afternoon. Otherwise it was a fun and great experience. It is a bit pricey but worth it if you don't know much japanese. Our tour guide was really nice and informative.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

Shame could not take photos inside the museum but very good otherwise.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

The guide was really informative, which was really good as there were no English display boards in the museum. I would have loved having more time to explore the museum on my own, as there was just so many things to see!

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Everything is in Japanese, so if you cannot read it, you won't get much out of Studio Ghibli! The tour guide walked us through the main exhibits for half an hour, explaining the main ideas, and then gave us more than an hour of free time. It helps if you've watched and enjoyed Miyazaki's films :)

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

though tour guide was good. hated how tour guide waited for one of the families in the tour with a very rude child who took up all our time by running away and whining and complaining. Because of them we were late coming back .

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2013

It was great to have inside knowledge of everything in the museum which baffled other visitors.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

Good tour of Studio Ghibli, place was packed out when we went but still an interesting experience.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

We had the loveliest tour guide, Michiko, the name of the current empress! She was very helpful and very informative! The Studio itself is spectacular, even though it was ridiculously busy and tight in certain places, it didn't diminish the experience. You feel as though you are in an animation when you are there and seeing how it all works is quite spectacular! Even though we were under the impression that we would be getting a bus straight there, public transporting it was super easy with our guide leading the way and even allowed us to see a side of Tokyo we wouldn't have! Overall a must do for any animation enthusiast (or not!)!

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

This tour was very good. Our guide was very enthusiastic and knowledgeable on Studio Ghibli. Transport from Shinjuku involved catching a train and then a bus so we were glad we got to Studio Ghibli with the tour (as buses only have Japanese writing). The tour started with our guide explaining some of the history of animation and of Studio Ghibli which lasted about 10-20mins. We were then allowed about 1.5-2hrs of free time to roam the 3 floors of the museum. I recommend this tour for first timers in Japan who want to visit Studio Ghibli.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

Very good tour. The guide was wonderful and the museum was very nice. The only inconvenience was the changes of bus 1 to bus 2, to subway, and then to another bus. I think one of the reasons people take a bus tour is not having to go through all that. Overall it was a good experience.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

Good experience, only gripe was having to run twice to catch a bus.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

The tour is worth it for any Studio Ghibli fans! Firstly, I have to thank our tour guide Michiko for being the awesome person she is! You could tell she loved the films and all things Ghibli as much as we did. This place is magical and the trip on the local train was an experience in itself. Don't be upset by the fact that you're taken there by local transport, it all adds to the experience! The place is crowded but orderly (we are talking about Japan) but that didn't deter Michiko from taking us to every room to explain all the different displays. Really cool that you get to keep the ticket stub which has an original film strip incorporated into it. Make sure you give yourself plenty of time to go tithe gift shop and cafe as well! I would go back there in a heart beat!

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

We had an excellent time at the Studio Ghibli Museum, if you are a fan the tour will not disappoint you, my only concern was the time in getting started, we had to wait for people to arrive as the pick up location was unclear for some, and then catch public transport closer to the location, I would have been happier getting my own way there, meeting the tour guide and thus having more time to spare to look around at my leisure.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

Excellente Place, Wonderfull Guide. I enjoyed very much. If you´re fan of Ghibli this is a must in tokyo.

Sokha Y
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Great museum if you are a fan of his work. Amazing exhibits there, does get very crowded in there so it's good that they limit the amount of tickets for the place.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Our tour guide was great! Loved the animation area of the museum. They should make a whole amusement park for Studio Ghibli.

Davin C
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Great little museum. If you are a fan of Ghibli or have kids would thoroughly recommend that you add this to your itinerary. Our guide was fantastic and her English was excellent.

Our tour started from the bus station where we then caught a train to Mitaka and on to the Museum by bus from there.

The museum was busy but not as busy as some places in Japan as the number of tickets issued each day are limited.

It was nice seeing how the animation process is undertaken at Studio Ghibli.

We were given a tour around the museum and then had about 90 minutes free time to explore ourselves. Eveything is in Japanese so staying with the guide for the first part is recommended.

After the tour wee were taken by bus to another station where we could catch trains back to our hotels - the first train (to Mitaka) is included in the tour, the return train was at our own expense.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Thanks for saving the dream of my kids. Having the tickets thru you was a golden chance.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

The guide was lovely and polite and was very well versed in the history of the Ghibli museum. She got to know everyone and talked to us on our way over on the train. The only complaint is that there wasn't enough time in the museum. Besides that, however, great tour and a must see.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

I'm going to start by saying that if you can get here without going on a tour, then do it. This is a really great museum that deserves a heap of time to get through, especially if you're a fan of Studio Ghibli.

If you go here and a tour is the only way, then this is also a good tour to take. The guide I had was really knowledgeable about the museum and helpful. And the amount of stuff to see is amazing.

Because of this , like I said above, my only real criticism is that there isn't enough time to really explore everything fully. The next time I go to Tokyo I will be going here again.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

Enjoyable and fantastic experienced, the guide did a good job, she made it interesting for me and she was funny. I really enjoyed this tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2011

The Studio Ghibli Museum itself is fabulous, and I booked a tour in order to guarantee admission. I'm not sure what the cost for ticket only would be, but I did feel that although the lady guide was lovely and helpful, the guided element of the trip was unnecessary. The pickup from my hotel took an hour, whereas I could have walked it in less time, and taken local transport in even less. Then we didn't get as much time at the Museum as we would have liked. Anyone used to traveling independently, who is confident with public transport, doesn't need to book this tour - unless it's the only way of getting into the Museum!

From USD $ 53.69

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2142TYO_F600

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message