• USD ($)
  • English

5 star rating: Highly Recommended 122 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Tokyo, Japan
  • Duration:  5 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 122 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

This was definitely a fantastic tour and one of the highlights of our trip. We were lucky we managed to see the very last day of the 15 day tournament and got to see the Makuuch Grade Dohyo....the best and most awarded Sumos. It really was quite a spectacle. We didn't really have much of an idea of how it worked beforehand but our guide was lovely and gave us plenty of information and history as we made our way to the stadium on the train and told us which was her favourite Sumo so we could cheer when he came out. One slight problem was the meeting point which we had a bit of trouble finding, but that was partly due to another tour participant sending us in the wrong direction. Thankfully he came back and got us when he found the others and we just made it in time. I would highly recommend this tour if you are in Tokyo at the right time of year, it is certainly something you wouldn't see anywhere else!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

A must do in Tokyo.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

It was a fun trip to see the sumo experience. I really enjoyed having the English commentary on the radios because it allowed a deeper insight into the program as a whole. Overall, I was satisfied with the service and the program. Thanks for developing it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Really enjoyed the sumo-our main reason for travelling at this time. Very well organised and seats were good. Chanko dinner was also good but we made a mistake when we got a hotdog from the stadium which was huge and very filling.
Sumo was great though

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Great drama - lucky to see the Grand Champion named on the 14th day of the tournament - quite exciting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

We had a fantastic time on this tour. Yoko was such an enthusiastic person, who was really passionate about the sport. It made the experience all the more interesting. If you ever have a chance to watch Sumo then you should jump at the chance, and this tour took all the stress out off organising it ourselves. Big thumbs up!!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

The ultimate experience of Japanese culture.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The experience was fantastic! I'm glad we were able to purchase tickets through viator!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Trip was great - met at the specified location and were taken by the tour guide via the subway to the stadium. She explained a lot about sumo wrestling before we got seated, so we definitely learned more than if we went by ourselves!! She offered to take our group down to have the traditional Chanko meal that sumo wrestlers eat as well, before cheering for her favorite sumo wrestler! Overall, highly recommended!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

I had no idea about Sumo before the trip but afterwards I felt like I'd been a fan for years. The tour guide was passionate and very knowledgeable. Great fun! I loved the fact that you get to see so many bouts for the price you pay. Highly recommend

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This was our favourite tour in Tokyo. What a great day. Our guide was very knowledgeable, the tournament very exciting. And then the the dinner lovely too. We almost did not consider doing this till the last minute, and were lucky enough that the 15 day championship was on and co-insided with our trip, so glad we did. We had an awesome time.

Chris Hord
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

It was an interesting tour to see a different side of Japan. I agree with other reviewers that you cannot say to visit Tokyo without seeing sumo wrestling tournament.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Great tour guide - very easy going. She explained a lot about sumo wrestling. Thank you!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Excellent guide English speaking,preliminary history and rules before plus headset in English at the venue made the event meaningful .seating good but vision over the row directly in front to see the ring was more difficult at times but did not detract from the spectacle ,highly recommended as good value for 3 hrs of some 20 bouts go for it !!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Fantastic topline introduction 2 the sport with an informative, knowledgeable and passionate guide. Thank U Haruno! Very open 2 questions and ensuring that all participants get as much as they can from the day. I am a fan now! Definitely recommended if U R new 2 this fascinating event.

From USD $ 98.78

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 6+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2142TYO_F550

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message