• USD ($)
  • English

5 star rating: Highly Recommended 111 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Tokyo, Japan
  • Duration:  5 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 111 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

The ultimate experience of Japanese culture.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The experience was fantastic! I'm glad we were able to purchase tickets through viator!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Trip was great - met at the specified location and were taken by the tour guide via the subway to the stadium. She explained a lot about sumo wrestling before we got seated, so we definitely learned more than if we went by ourselves!! She offered to take our group down to have the traditional Chanko meal that sumo wrestlers eat as well, before cheering for her favorite sumo wrestler! Overall, highly recommended!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

I had no idea about Sumo before the trip but afterwards I felt like I'd been a fan for years. The tour guide was passionate and very knowledgeable. Great fun! I loved the fact that you get to see so many bouts for the price you pay. Highly recommend

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This was our favourite tour in Tokyo. What a great day. Our guide was very knowledgeable, the tournament very exciting. And then the the dinner lovely too. We almost did not consider doing this till the last minute, and were lucky enough that the 15 day championship was on and co-insided with our trip, so glad we did. We had an awesome time.

Chris Hord
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

It was an interesting tour to see a different side of Japan. I agree with other reviewers that you cannot say to visit Tokyo without seeing sumo wrestling tournament.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Great tour guide - very easy going. She explained a lot about sumo wrestling. Thank you!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Excellent guide English speaking,preliminary history and rules before plus headset in English at the venue made the event meaningful .seating good but vision over the row directly in front to see the ring was more difficult at times but did not detract from the spectacle ,highly recommended as good value for 3 hrs of some 20 bouts go for it !!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Fantastic topline introduction 2 the sport with an informative, knowledgeable and passionate guide. Thank U Haruno! Very open 2 questions and ensuring that all participants get as much as they can from the day. I am a fan now! Definitely recommended if U R new 2 this fascinating event.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

We have watch sumo before, but did not fully understand the rules, ranking, history etc, which is why we signed up for the tour. I'm so glad we did! Everything was explained and our tour guide had a pure love for sumo and was eager in explaining and answering any questions.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Very well organised and our tour guide was fantastic. Very knowledgable about Sumo's origins, history and current champions. Would definately recommend

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Excellent and informative guide , very well organized from the start of tour to the end , highly recommend .

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Did not think Sumo would be our "thing", but booked it for the Japanese cultural experience. However we were most happy with this tour - sumo turned out to be very interesting, and we got right into it. The guide was brilliant, most informative and a lot of fun.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Unforgettable unique experience, a definite must do during a visit to Tokyo. Thoroughly enjoyable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

This is a must! Besides going to an onsen this was the best expirence. The guides were friendly and informative, the actual event was breathtaking! We were lucky enough to go on the final day where the prime minster of Japan awarded the sumo cup! Do this if you have a few hours! Worth every penny!

From USD $ 97.85

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 6+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2142TYO_F550

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message