Viewing All 238 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Yalina P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Amazing. We learned so much about Sumo! We would definitely do this again.

Kenneth T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

A must see when in Japan.

Sonya S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Watching sumo live in Japan is a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity. A must do! Our guide helpfully explained the rules and who's who etc which helped it all that much more enjoyable. Only suggestion, get the mid-range seats for better viewing. It's worth it!

Nicole S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our guide Miki was the best. This tour did not feel so much like a tour, but rather like we went to a sumo tournament with a friend who happened to know a lot about the event and its history. Miki was so nice, and it was a pleasure spending the afternoon with her. It was obvious she put a lot of effort into the program. She even made a chart for us which listed all the wrestlers and some fun facts on it for example, that so-and-so was Mongolia's best hope, that another wrestler's signature move was his forearm, and that everyone thinks one guy looks like Nicholas Cage, which definitely made things more interesting/fun. This tour was the absolute highlight of our entire trip, and I can't imagine not going on it. If you are lucky enough to be in Tokyo for a tournament, you absolutely cannot miss this. Next time we go back to Japan, we will plan our trip around this event.

David M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Fantastic day out - our guide, Hiro, was excellent at explaining all the intricacies of sumo and the atmosphere was terrific. A must see if you're in town during a big tournament.

Anna L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was an amazing tour! Miki, our tour guide was very knowledgeable on the topic and you could tell she had a genuine interest in the sport. Just seeing her enthusiasm was infectious and made me really enjoy the experience all the more. All the information provided to us by Miki, including what the rituals mean, the weight of the aprons, the history of the sport really created an extra depth to the sport and to be honest, helped me appreciate Sumo Wrestling all the more. I don't think I would have had as an amazing experience if I had not attended the tour. Thank you for this unforgettable memory!

Megan P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Informative and exciting tour. Highly recommended!

Patricia G V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Incredibly informative and entertaining! Really felt like I understood the basics of Sumo after this tour. Watched another day of the tournament waiting for our airplane the next day because we now knew the wrestlers and were very interested in the outcome!

Kenneth S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Very good

brad.kasell

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great experience that gets right to the heart of a uniquely Japanese cultural phenomenon. Really interesting, well organised, and one of the highlights of our recent trip to Tokyo.

Rafael V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Awesome Experience. !!!

mclaudw

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Very worthwhile doing the tour rather than on your own as the explanations of what was happening made it all the more an experience.

Kristen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable. Thanks so much.

Maz K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

A really enjoyable experience, and great value for money. Our tour guide Miki was very helpful and friendly, and the context she gave to the tournament both by providing us with spoken word descriptions and documents really helped us get a lot more out of the experience than we otherwise would have.

PAOLA M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was an incredible trip! The tour guides were so helpful! I totally recommend this.

Pablo W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great guide

Melanie P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

oh wow this was way better than we ever imagined!! Our tour guide Miki was wonderful, she was very knowledgeable and extremely friendly. The sumo wrestlers where amazing, so much power and strength and the whole ritual surrounding the ceremony was fantastic. The atmosphere was electric and the Japanese certainly love their sport which was wonderful to see.

J T DARLINGTON D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

facinating culture very pleased we booked if back in japan and its on we go again

Kaleb L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This package was amazing for both the value and experience! I really enjoyed learning about Sumo and the tour guide was very knowledgeable and spoke very good English which made it easy to follow along.

MOHAMMED Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Extraordinaire expérience, nous avons assisté à la première journée du tournoi.
Je n'y connaissais rien en Sumo mais j'ai appris beaucoup grâce à notre guide.
Le restaurant après le tournoi n'est vraiment pas terrible, si c'était à refaire je ne prendrai pas cette option-là...

Francisco Q

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We loved the experience and the tour.
The tour definitely enhanced the experience because, without it, we would not have been able to understand all the things that happened during the event. The conceptos are not complex but it is necessary that somebody explains them to you because the way the tournament works was completely new for us. For example, who would have known at which time was the best time to reach de stadium? it's half an hour before the professional wrestlers start fighting i recall. Or who wouldve known which matches were the most important?

Thank you for the tour!

John T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Truly outstanding. The guide was phenomenal. She was not only uncommonly knowledgeable with superb English, but highly enthusiastic about the subject matter. Our guide gave us terrific and very useful background information about Sumo--she came completely, thoroughly prepared with handouts, a booklet of information, and clearly explained what we were going to see. Without her mini-lecture and background information, I would have not enjoyed the Sumo match nearly as much. We had a a great time there and were fortunate enough to see an uncommonly exciting match: a champion was defeated which resulted in much pandemonium. Also, we had a truly delicious dinner afterwards and before we departed she gave us all maps and individual attention on how to get back to our hotels via JR lines and the subway. Wonderful and highly recommended!

Dianne R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide was so knowledgeable and enthusiastic. We had a wonderful day at the Sumo Tournament. If we lived in Japan we could easily become Sumo fans!

Paul B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was the highlight of my week long trip in Japan. The sumo tournament was sensational and the tour was well operated. A special mention goes to my tour guide Haruko Ohno. She spoke good English, was knowledgeable, prepared special info sheets for us and even stood in the food queues for us because she didn't want us to miss the bouts between the popular and or best sumos.

shaun k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The Sumo wrestling tournament was fun....and we were very greatful for the english commentary headphones :) our guide was nice and friendly

Viewing 2 of 10

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next

From USD $ 83.31

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2142TYO_F550

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message