5 star rating: Highly Recommended 147 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Tokyo, Japan
  • Duration:  5 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 147 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Really good tour, guide had a high level of knowledge of Sump and spoke good english.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Amazing afternoon. A must see for everyone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Well worth it. A fascinating and memorable experience. The Chanko dinner was interesting , not so fussed about fish eyes..

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

An excellent tour embracing tradition, suspense, color and excitement. We were at the opening ceremony which was fantastic. We had our 10yr old daughter with us-she loved it but was frightened when she met one in the corridor. Our Guide was wonderful, she explained traditions, the rules and was so insightful-a great guide. This is a definite 'MUST do' when you visit Japan.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

It's amazing.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Awesome .

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Never seen or been to a Sumo Wrestling Tournament. A very different atmosphere to what I expected it to be. Really enjoyed the tournament.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

This was definitely a fantastic tour and one of the highlights of our trip. We were lucky we managed to see the very last day of the 15 day tournament and got to see the Makuuch Grade Dohyo....the best and most awarded Sumos. It really was quite a spectacle. We didn't really have much of an idea of how it worked beforehand but our guide was lovely and gave us plenty of information and history as we made our way to the stadium on the train and told us which was her favourite Sumo so we could cheer when he came out. One slight problem was the meeting point which we had a bit of trouble finding, but that was partly due to another tour participant sending us in the wrong direction. Thankfully he came back and got us when he found the others and we just made it in time. I would highly recommend this tour if you are in Tokyo at the right time of year, it is certainly something you wouldn't see anywhere else!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

A must do in Tokyo.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

It was a fun trip to see the sumo experience. I really enjoyed having the English commentary on the radios because it allowed a deeper insight into the program as a whole. Overall, I was satisfied with the service and the program. Thanks for developing it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Really enjoyed the sumo-our main reason for travelling at this time. Very well organised and seats were good. Chanko dinner was also good but we made a mistake when we got a hotdog from the stadium which was huge and very filling.
Sumo was great though

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Great drama - lucky to see the Grand Champion named on the 14th day of the tournament - quite exciting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

We had a fantastic time on this tour. Yoko was such an enthusiastic person, who was really passionate about the sport. It made the experience all the more interesting. If you ever have a chance to watch Sumo then you should jump at the chance, and this tour took all the stress out off organising it ourselves. Big thumbs up!!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

The ultimate experience of Japanese culture.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The experience was fantastic! I'm glad we were able to purchase tickets through viator!

From USD $ 84.87

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 6+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2142TYO_F550

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message