Insider's Guide to Tokyo

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Viewing All 239 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

shaun k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The Sumo wrestling tournament was fun....and we were very greatful for the english commentary headphones :) our guide was nice and friendly

asahione United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour. Must see if you are in Tokyo during one of the tournaments held each year at Ryogoku Kokugikan. Our guide was very friendly, informative and did a great job of explaining every aspects of sumo. Had a great time and enjoyed the chanko-nabe dinner. I would recommend this tour.

chanko-nabe

Lucas H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Tour guide was very friendly and fluent in English. She was quite knowledgeable of Sumo Wrestling as well.

Wilson Chow United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The sumo event was awesome. We were lucky enough to be there for the finals of the May event and it was a great atmosphere. The tour took us there efficiently and in a friendly manner.

Claire R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

So much fun! Our guide was really interesting and gave us plenty of information about sumo, so we understood what was going on a lot more. The sumo itself was a spectacle that needs to be seen to believed, we had a great afternoon!

Rory H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fantastic event. Guide was nice and easy to understand, and the tournament was more than I expected. The only issue I had with the tour was the meeting location it was somewhat difficult to find.

bartekbenke

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Amazing experience to see it live!

Veronica P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Very fun to watch and the event day itself was well organized. The only thing was that the detailed itinerary was not really clear after I booked. I have to call the tour company number once I am in town to find out more. They could have listed out the time and detailed itinerary, so that client knows the time was from 140pm to 6pm. Other than that, the tour itself was good and fun.

Timothy N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

If you are in Tokyo during one of the tournaments I highly recommend signing up for this tour. It is exactly as described and the tour guide was very knowledgeable and engaging with the entire group.

Shash

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Michael B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Incredible afternoon. I'd urge you to spend the money to attend if you are in Tokyo during one of the 5 Sumo tournaments held each year. The wresting is just part of the fun. These huge men are, well, yes huge, but also gifted athletes in terms of strength and flexibility. Combine this with the ceremonial part and you get a great Afternoon. And do have a draught beer from one of the young girls wandering around. Perfectly lured beer topped with the obligatory perfect foam.

Ryan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Had an awesome time. The guide was great. Very informative and spoke great English. Couldn't have asked for more. A truly memorable and once in a lifetime adventure!

Elena M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Nancy R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The sumo tournament was excellent. A must do if you are in town for any of the six tournaments. The tour gathered at the bus/train station (we got picked up from the hotel) and travelled as a group on the train to the tournament. Our guide was good and friendly, she gave us all the information we needed to understand the sport. The museum tour was quick and only took about 5 minutes.

Tristan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great tour, just as described in the description.

Tour guide very helpful.

Juha S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Excellent tour. Well organized and a great show. Highly recommended!

Anthony H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

A fantastic afternoon, sumo was great, our guide was very informative as well as being a sumo lover.

Matthew K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Fantastic tour! Our guide (Halle) did a great job explaining the sport and setting the backstory for the sumo matches we were about to see. The event was exciting and a ton of fun.

Jeremy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great guide who was very knowledgable. Well worth going on the tour

David L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This tour was amazing!

Kate M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing!

Jordan Rhys E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was awesome, highlight of my time in Japan. Awesome seats - good tour guide (we had Honda) who spoke decent English and was very informative. I will recommend this tour to all my friends who go to Japan.

Jan C M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Excellent tour not to be missed! Tour guide was also
excellent and explained many things about the sport.

Jan C M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I loved my tour with you to the Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament. The tour guide was extremely helpful
in her overall explaination when we started. She helped to direct and guide us in our travel by rail. She
made every efforrt to come around even to our seats. and explain during the tournament when we arrived.
She took us to the museum and explained as we went through before out seating when the tournament
began. Afterward we were taken to a traditional Japanese meal which was beautifully prepared and served. I thought the place chosen for the meal was excellent and also close in walking from where the
tournament took place. We were able to from the guides helpful directions find out way close by back to
the train to take our ride even with several transfers back to our hotel. I was very pleased with the entire
tour.

Dr.Rozanne Schmidtlein(traveled with Jan Miyamae

David R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic. If you are in Japan when one of these are on, definitely go The meal afterwards was fantastic.

Viewing 3 of 10

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next

From USD $ 86.23

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2142TYO_F550

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message