• USD ($)
  • English

5 star rating: Highly Recommended 111 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Tokyo, Japan
  • Duration:  5 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 111 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Excellent tour. Very exciting and great cultural experience. If you are good with Japanese you may be able to purchase the tickets yourself just the same. But the guides went through some background and traditions so it was quite helpful. Definitely try to go on the last day so you can watch the final match and see the winner awarded.

Steven L
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

A truely remarkable experience for any westerner. I loved the day which was much helped by a wonderful guide who provided insightful snippets of information on sumo that only added to the experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Highly recommended for anyone new to Sumo. Our guide was very knowledgeable about the sport and opened our eyes to the tradition and skill of Sumo. By the end of the day, we were hooked and didn't want to leave. Very skilful and tactical sport. Well organised tour and our guide had perfect english. Would have been improved by direct drop off at the event rather than the long process of bus pick up, assembly at the bus station and then commute by train.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

We had a great tour guide. He informed the group about what was happening and all of the history of sumo. He explained a lot and I am so glad I was able to attend Sumo. We also got to take a picture with a Sumo wrestler! Fantastic.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

Loved it!
Our guide was excellent and we were the only two people on the tour.
Highly recommend

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

My son and l went on this tour 14 Sep 2011, it was great the lady that took us was very nice she spoke very softly, don't need to do the dinner. make shore you know the way back to your hotel we got told the wrong way we checked as she wrote them down but thats ok Sumo is great fun a bit long for children but my 14yrold son did enjoy it and we got some great photos. so thank you and do the tour, its cheaper if you can take your self but l would not recommended it as its a little hard to find thanks for a great day from Sueween and Mirza

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

Great day, your local guide (Takki) was fantastic and provided really good information about the event. Transport to the event worked really well. I would recommend anyone in Japan during a Sumo tournament to use your services. Thank you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

Outstanding!!! This is the 2nd time Ive taken this tour and it was worth every penny. Thanks for a great experience

John H
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

Absolutely brilliant! This was both my wife's and my birthday, and we could not have wished for a better joint birthday present. The tour organisation was superb, everything happened on time, and we were well looked after for every moment by the guide. An awesome event in every respect.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

Guide was great at explaining everything. If you a chance should definitely book!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

I used to watch sumo on tv as a kid and mess around replicating it with my brother (not in nappies though). Superb day out very interesting. Guide is essential for knowledge of fighters and a general gist of what it's all about.

Alana H
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

You can not visit Japan without seeing the Sumo Wrestling! A fantastic day was had by all. Tour guide spoke very good English and was very helpful when departing the tour.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

i would like to thank viator for this tour.hotel pick up only ,easy to get back to your hotel by vast rail system.the guide was very nice we met sumo wrestlers,and tasted there food called chanko..

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

Highly reccommend checking out a Sumo tournament if your in Japan at the right time of year. My partner & i had an awesome time, the sumo bouts were fast and intense. Having our english speaking guide there to explain rules and the current ladder of champions was really helpful and added to the experience. Our guide was clearly a massive sumo fan! We spend 2 wks in Japan and loved every bit of it, sumo was one of our favorite things of all. I will definately attend sumo again next time im in Japan!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

Great experience to watch an ancient sport wonderfully played by professionals.

From USD $ 97.66

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 6+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2142TYO_F550

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message