5 star rating: Highly Recommended 143 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Tokyo, Japan
  • Duration:  5 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 143 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Great tour guide - very easy going. She explained a lot about sumo wrestling. Thank you!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Excellent guide English speaking,preliminary history and rules before plus headset in English at the venue made the event meaningful .seating good but vision over the row directly in front to see the ring was more difficult at times but did not detract from the spectacle ,highly recommended as good value for 3 hrs of some 20 bouts go for it !!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Fantastic topline introduction 2 the sport with an informative, knowledgeable and passionate guide. Thank U Haruno! Very open 2 questions and ensuring that all participants get as much as they can from the day. I am a fan now! Definitely recommended if U R new 2 this fascinating event.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

We have watch sumo before, but did not fully understand the rules, ranking, history etc, which is why we signed up for the tour. I'm so glad we did! Everything was explained and our tour guide had a pure love for sumo and was eager in explaining and answering any questions.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Very well organised and our tour guide was fantastic. Very knowledgable about Sumo's origins, history and current champions. Would definately recommend

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Excellent and informative guide , very well organized from the start of tour to the end , highly recommend .

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Did not think Sumo would be our "thing", but booked it for the Japanese cultural experience. However we were most happy with this tour - sumo turned out to be very interesting, and we got right into it. The guide was brilliant, most informative and a lot of fun.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Unforgettable unique experience, a definite must do during a visit to Tokyo. Thoroughly enjoyable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

This is a must! Besides going to an onsen this was the best expirence. The guides were friendly and informative, the actual event was breathtaking! We were lucky enough to go on the final day where the prime minster of Japan awarded the sumo cup! Do this if you have a few hours! Worth every penny!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Excellent tour. Very exciting and great cultural experience. If you are good with Japanese you may be able to purchase the tickets yourself just the same. But the guides went through some background and traditions so it was quite helpful. Definitely try to go on the last day so you can watch the final match and see the winner awarded.

Steven L
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

A truely remarkable experience for any westerner. I loved the day which was much helped by a wonderful guide who provided insightful snippets of information on sumo that only added to the experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

We had a great tour guide. He informed the group about what was happening and all of the history of sumo. He explained a lot and I am so glad I was able to attend Sumo. We also got to take a picture with a Sumo wrestler! Fantastic.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

Loved it!
Our guide was excellent and we were the only two people on the tour.
Highly recommend

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

My son and l went on this tour 14 Sep 2011, it was great the lady that took us was very nice she spoke very softly, don't need to do the dinner. make shore you know the way back to your hotel we got told the wrong way we checked as she wrote them down but thats ok Sumo is great fun a bit long for children but my 14yrold son did enjoy it and we got some great photos. so thank you and do the tour, its cheaper if you can take your self but l would not recommended it as its a little hard to find thanks for a great day from Sueween and Mirza

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

Great day, your local guide (Takki) was fantastic and provided really good information about the event. Transport to the event worked really well. I would recommend anyone in Japan during a Sumo tournament to use your services. Thank you.

From USD $ 93.78

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 6+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2142TYO_F550

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message