5 star rating: Highly Recommended 160 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Tokyo, Japan
  • Duration:  5 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 160 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Adam M
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2008

A fantastic, quintessentially Japanese experience that I'd highly recommend to first-timers in Tokyo. It was well organized, and the guide was an absolute joy. She was very knowledgeable about Sumo, it's history, tradition, and its place in contemporary culture. She was extremely enthusiastic and impressed by my knowledge of the sport, so we were able to have some in-depth conversations about the current goings on of the tournament, which made the whole experience even better. Surprisingly, English-language commentary is available even for the higher-level matches. The guide provided us with radios to listen with, which was a nice bonus. The commentary wasn't brilliant, but it added variety to the experience as the format of the tournament is repetitive. The tour is pitched as a introductory kind of thing, which is appropriate. Now that I've been once with the tour, the next time I'm in Tokyo during Sumo season, I'll go independently. It's simple to get to, and buying tickets didn't seem to pose any trouble to the dozens of non-Japanese-speaking foreigners I saw in attendance. Next time I'll spring for seats closer to the ring. Still, if you're new to Sumo, this is tour is easily the best way to experience it. One last thing: it's a long day, so you may want to bring snacks with you. When I was there, the concession stands were completely sold out of bento lunch boxes, so I was pretty hungry by the end of the night.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2008

The tour tournament was lots of fun, would definitely recommend it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2008

Everything went very smooth. The Sumo matches were exciting, the crowds were boisterous and the guide was informative. Thank you for a wonderful time.

Chantal A
Netherlands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2007

We adjusted the whole trip to go to the sumo tournament and it was great! We loved every minute of it.

Gayle B
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2007

The sumo wrestling was amazing; it was so interesting and such an experience. I would love to go again!

Claire B
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2007

The only issue I had was that we were asked to meet at a bus station for the tour, so I assumed we were being taken by bus. Instead, we were all herded off on the subway, which is fine except it would make much more sense for people to meet out at the sumo venue. The guide was great and gave us lots of valuable insight into the sport. A really enjoyable afternoon.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2007

The tour guide explained all the rules and traditions of Sumo Wrestling. We learned a lot about the sport and have a greater appreciation after experiencing it first-hand.

Jamie L
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2007

Amazing experience. If you're in Tokyo while there's a tournament on, it's a must see!

Inge O
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2007

Very interesting cultural experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2007

The tour was much better than expected. Our tour group leader was very informative, knowledgeable, and really looked out for us the whole time we were watching the Sumo tournament. She was constantly giving us bits of interesting info on the sumo contestants. She even made sure people who thought they should have been in our seats, were redirected to their proper section. The museum was very small, yet quite charming. The brochures provided were very helpful. Overall, a great experience!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2007

The wrestling is absolutely formidable. If you go to Japan, you must organize to see a match.

Jacqueline B
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2007

This was a very worthwhile thing to do. It was great entertainment!

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2007

I was the envy of my friends when I told them I happened to be visiting Tokyo during a Sumo Tournament. This tour was a brilliant insight into Japanese sporting culture. (Tip: pop out to grab a drink from the kiosk during the Tournament and you may be lucky enough to come face-to-face with a Sumo Wrestler during the tournament, like I did!) I also found it really handy to have a guide explain the insider secrets about all things Sumo, that no guide book can ever tell you! Don't leave Tokyo during Tournament time without attending a match.

Brett N
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2007

The sumo experience is very unique and I found it quite exciting. Having the tour guide present was a bonus as he could explain particular rituals, fill you in on wrestlers' histories etc.

Denise K
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2006

Sumo was nothing like I'd ever imagined - it was better! I couldn't believe how superb the entire experience was. We enjoyed it immensely and would recommend it as a must do to all.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

very good experience,very nice to watch .
bad seating and bad english translation

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The Sumo was amazing and the background information was helpful. The tour didn't start on time si we mussed the very beginning. One of our group needed additional assistance and that hadn't been planned for in travelling to the venue.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Not enough Sumo, fairly poor seats but I am glad I did the tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

I was surprised how much I enjoyed this tour and how quickly the time went. I only booked because a friend suggested it, but my wife and I both lived it and we're glad we went. The meal afterwards added to the excitement of the day. Would highly recommend it.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We enjoyed the sumo. The guide was helpful and courteous. The seats were high up but we could still see.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

This was a great opportunity to see sumo wrestling which was a unique Japanese experience and well priced.
The explanation /background information given by the local guide was very good and the seats were good too.
I misunderstood the inclusions set out in the Viator information which mentioned "Pick up and Drop off included". This didn't mean drop off back to the hotel after the tour. It meant drop off at the bus station where we met the local guide. This was my mistake but I thought the wording should be less ambiguous.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Train was crowded on the way there. However once at the arena, the seats were comfortable.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

We really enjoyed the Sumo Wrestling. Our guide was knowledgeable about the sport and she did a nice job of explaining the rules and the importance of some of the matches as we went on day 12 of 15.
I would highly recommend it to any other foreign visitor to Tokyo, if they are there when one of the tournaments is taking place.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Awesom, better than we had expected
Sumiko was fantastic , all the information and knowledge .Amazing
We would have given 5 stars , except we were dissapionted with the venue of the meal at the end of the competition.We thought it was going to be in the Arena , but it was in a Hotel Restaurant down the street .
The mood had gone.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

The Sumo Wrestling portion was terrific in all respects. The guide was knowledgeable and the individual audio portion provided in English during the rounds was very helpful and made the tournament much more enjoyable. However, the dinner was terrible. It was billed as a "typical Sumo meal," but was anything but. Further, the guide did not even eat with us. We were in Japan for three weeks--worst meal that we had was with you. Had to go out to dinner afterwards. Highly recommend this tour -- WITHOUT DINNER.

From USD $ 82.75

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2142TYO_F550

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message