5 star rating: Highly Recommended 130 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Tokyo, Japan
  • Duration:  5 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 130 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

If you are in Tokyo when they are having the tournament then you must go. Our guide was very knowledgable about Sumo wrestling and the wrestlers.

James L
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

The guide was awesome and whilst she was always on hand for questions she gave us our own space should we desire it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

The Sumo Tour is one not to be missed. The ceremony, excitement and thrills kept us entertained throughout. Having an English speaking guide gave us the lowdown on what was going on and, as an added bonus, a spectator in the row behind us gave us the play by play. We are now definitley Sumo fans.

Lee R
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

Excellent way to see the Sumo Wrestling Tournament. No hassles with queuing for tickets. Small group about 8 or 10 of us. Guide was very knowledgeable. Seats were quite high up in Arena but we could still see everything clearly. Had earphones with English translation of what was happening during tournament. Once in a lifetime experience for myself and two sons aged 9 and 14.

Bobbie V
Costa Rica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

The Sumo Wrestling Championship was the highlight of our trip, we loved every minute of it, however, the tournament is an all day event and the tour limits the hours of attendance. This was disappointing as we are really "sumo fans".

Fiona H
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

I and my 17 year old daughter had a great time, much more than I expected. The afternoon flew by and sumo was really easy to follow and enjoy. The booking in was chaotic due to numbers on tour but making own way to start point and home again from the Stadium was easy. I highly recommend it as an activity while in Tokyo. Sure you can buy your own tickets and hire the English radio broadcast at a lower price but with much more mucking around.

Murray S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

Fantastic, was one of our highlights! Definitely recommend and have been.

Elicia W
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

The Sumo wrestling was awesome. A must-do in Japan if you are there at the right time. It is fun and generally entertaining. Great value for money as well and the guide spoke great English and was very friendly. This is my second time to Japan and I'm glad I made it this time around.

Melanie A
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

An unbelievable spectacle! A must do tour if your in Tokyo while the Sumo tournament is on. The informative tour guide gave great insight into this amazing sport, and the English cometary on the head phones was very entertaining. Awesome!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2009

This was very, very interesting, especially for a European tourist.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2009

Excellent tour guide, marvelous event. Would do again. However, if you are familiar with traveling around Tokyo, recommend you buy tickets and try it on your own.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2008

This was a fantastic deal, the hotel pick-up made it so easy to find and we didn't worry at all about getting lost. The sumo tournament was very interesting, very much a 'local' experience. We felt like we saw something that many other travelers don't get a chance to see. Very recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

The price is almost double to take the tour vs. paying for a ticket at the door, but it's still worth it! Having a guide take you to the museum and explain the artifacts and having her there to answer all the questions you have during the bouts are well worth it! We had a great time!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2008

It was a great experience and our tour guide made sure that we knew what was going on. He was really great and answered all the questions we had. We love Japan and the people.

Justin S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

What an experience! The tournament was fantastic, the seats were perfect, and our guide was very informative. We knew nothing about Sumo before going on this tour, and now I'm hooked! We had excellent transfers to and from the arena, and using the trains was an fantastic experience also. Booking on line was very easy, and the Viator group kept as very well informed as to the progress of our booking confirmation. We will definitely consult first with Viator the next time we're planning a holiday.

From USD $ 91.41

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 6+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2142TYO_F550

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message