• USD ($)
  • English

5 star rating: Highly Recommended 111 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Tokyo, Japan
  • Duration:  5 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 111 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2008

It was a great experience and our tour guide made sure that we knew what was going on. He was really great and answered all the questions we had. We love Japan and the people.

Justin S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

What an experience! The tournament was fantastic, the seats were perfect, and our guide was very informative. We knew nothing about Sumo before going on this tour, and now I'm hooked! We had excellent transfers to and from the arena, and using the trains was an fantastic experience also. Booking on line was very easy, and the Viator group kept as very well informed as to the progress of our booking confirmation. We will definitely consult first with Viator the next time we're planning a holiday.

Stuart M
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2008

I had a great time. I thought I would have liked better seats, but the ones given were just fine. The information given was a great help to understand sumo in general, as well as who was fighting who and what their rank was. Excellent!

Adam M
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2008

A fantastic, quintessentially Japanese experience that I'd highly recommend to first-timers in Tokyo. It was well organized, and the guide was an absolute joy. She was very knowledgeable about Sumo, it's history, tradition, and its place in contemporary culture. She was extremely enthusiastic and impressed by my knowledge of the sport, so we were able to have some in-depth conversations about the current goings on of the tournament, which made the whole experience even better. Surprisingly, English-language commentary is available even for the higher-level matches. The guide provided us with radios to listen with, which was a nice bonus. The commentary wasn't brilliant, but it added variety to the experience as the format of the tournament is repetitive. The tour is pitched as a introductory kind of thing, which is appropriate. Now that I've been once with the tour, the next time I'm in Tokyo during Sumo season, I'll go independently. It's simple to get to, and buying tickets didn't seem to pose any trouble to the dozens of non-Japanese-speaking foreigners I saw in attendance. Next time I'll spring for seats closer to the ring. Still, if you're new to Sumo, this is tour is easily the best way to experience it. One last thing: it's a long day, so you may want to bring snacks with you. When I was there, the concession stands were completely sold out of bento lunch boxes, so I was pretty hungry by the end of the night.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2008

The tour tournament was lots of fun, would definitely recommend it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2008

Everything went very smooth. The Sumo matches were exciting, the crowds were boisterous and the guide was informative. Thank you for a wonderful time.

Chantal A
Netherlands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2007

We adjusted the whole trip to go to the sumo tournament and it was great! We loved every minute of it.

Gayle B
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2007

The sumo wrestling was amazing; it was so interesting and such an experience. I would love to go again!

Claire B
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2007

The only issue I had was that we were asked to meet at a bus station for the tour, so I assumed we were being taken by bus. Instead, we were all herded off on the subway, which is fine except it would make much more sense for people to meet out at the sumo venue. The guide was great and gave us lots of valuable insight into the sport. A really enjoyable afternoon.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2007

The tour guide explained all the rules and traditions of Sumo Wrestling. We learned a lot about the sport and have a greater appreciation after experiencing it first-hand.

Jamie L
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2007

Amazing experience. If you're in Tokyo while there's a tournament on, it's a must see!

Inge O
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2007

Very interesting cultural experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2007

The tour was much better than expected. Our tour group leader was very informative, knowledgeable, and really looked out for us the whole time we were watching the Sumo tournament. She was constantly giving us bits of interesting info on the sumo contestants. She even made sure people who thought they should have been in our seats, were redirected to their proper section. The museum was very small, yet quite charming. The brochures provided were very helpful. Overall, a great experience!

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2007

The wrestling is absolutely formidable. If you go to Japan, you must organize to see a match.

Jacqueline B
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2007

This was a very worthwhile thing to do. It was great entertainment!

From USD $ 98.18

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 6+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2142TYO_F550

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message