• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 223 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Tokyo, Japan
  • Duration:  8 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Tokyo Tower, Tea Ceremony and Sumida River Cruise Day Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 223 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This city tour is a must do!!! When my husband and I arrived in Tokyo it was hard to tell from my guide book, which sites we should see first and how we get around to them. Luckily, I booked this tour before we got there and so our trip was not dependent on me and my ability to glean information from a guide book. This tour hit most of the iconic sites that you would want to see if you only had a day in Tokyo and was at such a nice (quick) pace that my husband never lost interest even though we had been in Japan for 10 days already. First stop, Tokyo Tower, (get your pictures quick because it can be a bit of blitz up to the top and back). Then we were off to a traditional tea ceremony and Japanese garden. The ceremony was beautiful and our guide (Keiko) walked us through all of the steps on our way over to the ceremony so we knew what to do while there. Then off to our ishiyaki lunch (food grilled in front of you on a hot stone) which was super tasty and entertaining. Next, was a walk by the imperial palace (of course you can only see the gate but it's still beautiful) and then our river boat trip. The boat trip is relaxing but don't bother taking pictures of skytree tower in the beginning, the best pictures of the tower are at the end of the trip when you get to Asakusa. The tour end at the temple in Asakusa and it was absolutely stunning!! Huge red gates and lanterns with large golden statues. Really breathe taking (and again, this is after we've seen plenty of temples and shrines). For those of you who like to shop (don't we all?) there is a good sized open-air market at the temple with all the souvenir and food purchases you would need. I would also like to say that our guide, Keiko, was great. Very knowledgeable and interesting! This tour is a must!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Excursion itself was great, excellent!
For people who first time in Tokyo that all day trip is very helpful and pleasure!
We recommend it everyone who has not too much time in Tokyo this excursion.
The only problem was during booking with VIATOR! Application itself chooses for us as a meeting point wrong hotel. And was very big problem for us to get our tour in time.
But Japanese side did for us everything that we got excursion! Thanks them for superior service!
Leo

Note from Viator: Note from Viator: Thank you for your review. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your tour. We have contacted the tour company and have amended the meeting point. Thank you for helping us ensure the quality of our tours.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

A good trip if your time is limited in Tokyo. You get to see some of the more important sites in this great city.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Transfers bus from hotel to bus station worked well.The tour itself gave us wonderful overview of Tokyo.The Tea Ceremony in the Garden was unique.All other experiences were very enjoyable and our guide on the day was exceptional and she even assisted us obtaining the correct train tickets train lines back to our various hotels.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

A well paced tour with plenty of time given to see the wonders of Tokyo, enjoy a fascinating Tea Ceremony and a very sumptuous lunch with Japanese chefs cooking our meal for us in true Japanese style on our tables.
The gardens in Tea Ceremony area were filled with Bonsai and we were fortunate to witness many trees just about to blossom giving us an insight how beautiful the Cherry Blossoms must be. Recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

What a fantastic lunch cooked infront of us on a slab of lava from Mount Fuji, all in all a wonderful day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

This tour is highly recommended. If you've been to the Eiffel Tower, Empire State Building and any other significant highrise, then the views are similar. If you want a free view of the city, I'd recommended the Tokyo Government Metropolitan building in Shinjuku since the observatory deck is free and gives you a similar view.

The tea ceremony was a good experience if you want to observe and participate in one of Japan's traditions. You only get a sampling of the tea - which is green and frothy, but as with most Japanese teas, has a bitter after taste. When attending this ceremony, participants are asked to be respectful and abide with the local tradition. The teahouse is also surrounded by a garden, so it's best to go there during Spring or Fall. There is a 300+ and 500+ year old bonsai tree on the premises, so make sure to ask the tour guide if you are interested in seeing them.

The lunch was one of the highlights of the tour - it states a "BBQ" lunch, so don't be deceived if you are used to the concept of an American BBQ. It's actually a hibachi-style lunch, a la Benihana, but not with the volcano or cutting shows. The food is freshly prepared in front of you, so it's definitely worth the experience and was the best lunch out of all 3 tours I took in Japan.

The Sumida River cruise started at the Port of Tokyo to Asakusa, where you will be given about 50 min to an hour to browse around the local shops and bakeries. Most of the vendors do not accept credit cards, so if you want to shop for souvenirs and sweets to take home, make sure you have enough yen on you. Since there is a limited amount of free time in this shopping area, make sure you have a plan of action since the tour bus leaves timely.

Lastly, the tour ends at Tokyo station, and you are responsible for finding your own way back. The guide will help you with directions but you will need to have enough money to return by train/subway. Overall - it was a good tour if you are short on tiime.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

The lunch was excellent, being held at an excellent hotel. Highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Very well organized. Lunch was great.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Excellent tour guide. We got to hit a lot of different sites in one day and didn't have to worry about transportation or lunch. The lunch was delicious and such a great experience. We loved the tea ceremony and visiting the shrine in Asakusa. Great tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

We thoroughy enjoyed our tour. Our tour guide, Mai's English was very good, and she was very informative in everything we saw. Our lunch experience was excellent and very relaxing. I would highly recommend this tour to all my friends.

Robert W
Nederland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

Must do tour when in Tokyo. Good guide, great gardens and views and lots of info.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

My husband and I enjoyed this tour. Our guide 'K' was dressed in a kimono and was a very gracious hostess/guide. If your time is limited in Tokyo, this tour is worth the time and money, as everything is included. The lunch was delicious at a Four Seasons Japanese restaurant.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

This was an excellent way to spend the day in Tokyo. There is no way that I could have tried to do this by myself. This tour took all the hard work, and we just enjoyed the tour. Nobu was a great and informative tour guide-great sense of humor! The Lunch was better than I ever expected to have.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

This tour was a great introduction to the city. The local tour guide was interesting and informative and the tea was delicious. Definitely take this one on your first day in the city!

From USD $ 119.47

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2142TYO_A100

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message