4.5 star rating: Recommended 289 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location:Tokyo, Japan
  • Duration:8 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Tokyo Tower, Tea Ceremony and Sumida River Cruise Day Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 289 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was certainly a great tour and introduction to the city of Tokyo, we had an excellant Guide called Quimone Ninja who was very informative and give us an understanding of what it was like to live in the city. We learned a lot about Japanese culture and its people. We really enjoyed the Tea Cermony abd the beautiful garden. We would certainly recommend it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Absolutely fantastic day. Guide was of the highest caliber.
Gary and Shu Hua

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Very fun and informative tour! Definitely recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Very good guide! Very good food ! You will got more than you expected! You will see every place in Tokyo!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

We did this tour last year and loved it again this year. The lunch is incredible and the guide was super informative. Lots of free time on your own and you hit a lot of sights in one day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This was a typically great Viator tour. As usual, an exceptional guide, nice treats, great itinerary, and interesting sights. It is a cost effective way to make the most of a tourist day in a strange city. Next stop???

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

I took this tour with my girlfriend, who was visiting from the UK, so that she could see some of Tokyo quickly. It was excellent and did exactly what I wanted it to do. The view of Mount Fuji from the Tokyo Tower was clear and an added bonus.
The Tea Ceremony was simple and serene experience and the gardens were stunning.
Lunch was fantastic and gave us an opportunity to talk to our fellow travellers and once again the gardens were spectacular. The tour guide was excellent. Her English was faultless, her knowledge was deep and her sense of humour just brilliant. I particularly enjoyed her explanation of the Japanese toilet functions!
The day was well organised and went ahead seamlessly. An altogether great tour. I would reccomend this tour to anyone visiting Japan for the first time or any time for that matter.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

A great tour which highlighted Tokyo's great 'must sees'. The Guide was exceptional. He was entertaining, informative, serenaded us, gave wonderful help and was definitely worth having. Definitely worth doing so you can see Tokyo's highlights on a time budget.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Amazing tour!! Wonderful lunch!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Loved this tour including the typical Japanese lunch cooked on a lava rock!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Good tour, highly recomended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

The Tokyo Tower has some lovely views.The Tea ceremony was short and sweet. The Sumida River Tour was great. Nothing like a map to follow along and figure out where you actually are in huge disorienting city. Oh please be aware when the tour is finished up you get your self back to the hotel. There will be 2 drops offs and the Tour guides are awesome getting oriented with maps and plan.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

we feel very lucky to have been able to witness the tea ceremony and walk through the beautiful garden. The lunch yummy and was in an amazing location. sitting on the boat relaxing was a great end to our holiday

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This city trip is pleasant and I enjoyed it very much. A tour of the world's
largest metropolitan area, and some of its' amenities...marvelous!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our tour guide was fantastic and made the day trip very enjoyable. The bbq lunch was absolutely delicious and we thoroughly enjoyed the day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

The only way to see Tokyo first and get your bearings - a really comprehensive tour - great tour and great lunch - tour guide was excellent - just do it

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

The Tokyo Tower,Tea Ceremony Tour was Sensational.... The best Tour guide ever!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The tour was great. The guide was very funny, entertaining, and knowledgeable. The lunch was terrific. I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Great way to see Asakusa and the surrounding districts on both land and water.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

The tour was wonderful. Our guide was excellent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

A really good intro to Tokyo, with an excellent guide. Well worth the money

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

We joined this tour on our 3rd and final full day in Tokyo. We thoroughly enjoyed it. We had travelled around Tokyo on our own the previous 2 days, but this tour covered alot of ground, provided some respite from the heat and was thoroughly interesting. Our guide Junko was excellent. Her English is impeccable, and she gave good explanations of where we were going and what we would see. She tought us about the customs and even taught us a few words of Japanese. She did a good job of managing the large group, and keeping us together. She even wrote out some directions for us in Japanese at the end of the tour. The tour was diverse and very interesting. First stop was at the Tokyo Tower. We had a clear day, with good views. The Happo-en garden was beautiful, with a wonderful assortment of bonsai trees. It was interesting to see the rituals of the tea ceremony. A wonderful bonus was seeing 3 bridal parties in the garden that day, some in traditional dress, some in white gowns. Lunch was at a beautiful hotel, with an extensive garden, with more brides! The BBQ was delicious [Oishi]. We walked around the Imperial Palace, and saw what we could of the manucured grounds and buildings from the gate.Through the GInza, and all the fancy shops. Then it was on the river on a short cruise, past some interesting sights, to Asakusa Cannon Temple via the Nakamise shopping street. The shopping street was interesting, lots of small shops and stalls, with samples of snacks and lots of kimonos to try on. The temple and the pagoda are beautiful. We thoroughly enjoyed our tour. It was the perfect of our time in Tokyo. It would have been very difficult, especially in the heat and himidity, to cover as much ground as we did in one day on one's own.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Wonderful experience with Tokyo Day Tour! Our tour guide was very knowledgeable of Tokyo and the Japanese custom... The tour had fulfilled and exceeded my family's expectations... Thank you for your service!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Excellent, tour bus was just about full but our tour guide made sure we all experienced all the highlights. Well worth experiencing.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This city tour is a must do!!! When my husband and I arrived in Tokyo it was hard to tell from my guide book, which sites we should see first and how we get around to them. Luckily, I booked this tour before we got there and so our trip was not dependent on me and my ability to glean information from a guide book. This tour hit most of the iconic sites that you would want to see if you only had a day in Tokyo and was at such a nice (quick) pace that my husband never lost interest even though we had been in Japan for 10 days already. First stop, Tokyo Tower, (get your pictures quick because it can be a bit of blitz up to the top and back). Then we were off to a traditional tea ceremony and Japanese garden. The ceremony was beautiful and our guide (Keiko) walked us through all of the steps on our way over to the ceremony so we knew what to do while there. Then off to our ishiyaki lunch (food grilled in front of you on a hot stone) which was super tasty and entertaining. Next, was a walk by the imperial palace (of course you can only see the gate but it's still beautiful) and then our river boat trip. The boat trip is relaxing but don't bother taking pictures of skytree tower in the beginning, the best pictures of the tower are at the end of the trip when you get to Asakusa. The tour end at the temple in Asakusa and it was absolutely stunning!! Huge red gates and lanterns with large golden statues. Really breathe taking (and again, this is after we've seen plenty of temples and shrines). For those of you who like to shop (don't we all?) there is a good sized open-air market at the temple with all the souvenir and food purchases you would need. I would also like to say that our guide, Keiko, was great. Very knowledgeable and interesting! This tour is a must!

From USD $ 102.82

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2142TYO_A100

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message