5 star rating: Highly Recommended 269 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location:Vancouver, Canada
  • Duration:11.5 hours

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Vancouver to Whistler by Train Rail Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 269 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent tour. The train journey on the Rocky Mountaineer was superb with fantastic scenery. Whistler was lovely and very interesting. Our bus journey back to Vancouver was equally good - more wonderful scenery and our driver/guide Lisa was very knowledgeable and entertaining.
Would definitely recommend this trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The train ride was amazing, staff was very helpful. The guide did a great job of explaining all the significant sights on the way. Highly recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I've already done. Just forgot to put stars.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Simply fabulous. The train ride and hospitality were superb. We took a jeep ride from Whistler up the ski slopes towards the top of the mountain and spotted a black bear, what a treat. Whistler itself is nothing special but the train trip, bus journey home, and bear spotting throughout the day made this a truly memorable day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Warwick our host was really enthusiastic and remembered everyone's first names. He really made the trip back down from Whistler really enjoyable and informative.

The trip on the Rocky Mountaineer was as good an experience as I had expected - plenty of stunning views - waterfalls, deep ravines, rivers and high mountains. The food on board was okay and the service was great. Good commentary and a chance to ride in the observation car. A good way to sample the Rocky Mountaineer before booking a longer trip. We had plenty of time to walk around Whistler. The First Nations exhibition centre was fascinating. Warwick picked us up on time and although it rained on the way back it stopped by the time we got to Squamish and the falls. They were truly stunning. It was the last day of a wonderful holiday and truly memorable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent all round. Great guide for the initial round up and for the Whistler and return aspects. And the Rocky Mountaineer experience was excellent. Highly recommended.

Raymond W
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

First class service - everything was perfect

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Whistler trip by train and returning by bus is AWESOME. Adding an extra hour is recommended to this tour. Rocky Mountaineer coach attendant are very much informative and are perfect guides. Sorry for not remembering our bus driver as well as guide but hats up to him too. This tour is worth visiting.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Tour guide was wonderful.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Had a great time. Everything worked well. The local tour company operating the tour were friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Thanks to our guide Greg. We thought that training it one way, and going back by bus to stop at some of the sights was a good way to go. Recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Unforgettable!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

At 0630 Brent the driver was on time and patiently waiting outside. Dropped at station Brent assured us he would be at the other end. Comfy seats and good commentry en route. After breakfast the Henry Pickering observation car was opened for glass free viewing. Lakes, logs, fancy houses, fancy gardens, trees, bridges, mountains and mist thundered by and we arrived in Whistler about Midday. Brent was there, advised us where and what was on offer and on time took us back via the Shannon Falls and other views. Full day out. Great recommended trip and 10 out of 10 for Brent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Absolutely fantastic. Highlight of our trip!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Lovely day out lots to see and great service. Guide was fantastic and very helpful went out of his way to accommodate everyone's wishes.

KAZ
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This tour is by no means cheap but it is well worth the money. We were picked up at our hotel and taken to the station. We had a light breakfast on the train while travelling through the beautiful countryside to Whistler. The commentary given by the guide on the train was excellent and so was the service. We had a few hours in Whistler and then back on the bus to Vancouver, stopping at the waterfalls on the way home. Our driver/ guide was great value and we had a very enjoyable drive back into Vancouver. Would highly recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Amazing trip, well worth the money. You get to see the fabulous scenery on the train and then get to spend time exploring Whistler.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Enjoyed the ride! Enjoying the route view from train and coach.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Beautiful train ride and scenery. Enjoyed the open car sections of the train which allowed a great experience of the natural surroundings. The hosts and guides were both friendly and informative along the way.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Excellent all around!!!!!!! A MUST DO in Vancouver. Train ride was excellent! Service on board fantastic! Food good! Whistler and the Peak-2-Peak fantastic!!!! Wish I was there now! LOL.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This trip to Whistler on the Rocky Mountaineer train was excellent and the train host very good. If you do the chairlift in Whistler then you would need the four hours there but as we had already done a few before, we had lunch and walked around the village and saw as much as we could, but I found the allotted time there a little bit too long. Overall it was a lovely day and have ticked that box on my bucket list.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Absolutely fantastic, Landsea tours were brilliant we were picked up at 6.45 am and taken to the train station with about 20 other people on small coach. The train journey was spectacular with lovely scenery, the host very informative and very helpful. Greg our Landsea tour guide picked us up from train station and drove us to Whistler where we went to top of Whistler in cable car and then on the peak to peak gondola (Purchased tickets from Greg) We had ample time to then have lunch and a wander round. We travelled back on the coach and stopped twice for photos, Shannon Falls were fantastic. Arrived back in Downtown about 7pm the whole day was amazing and definitely made more enjoyable by Greg our guide as he was informative, entertaining and very helpful.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I have used Viator for trip to Paris Champagne tour and now in Vancouver for the Vancouver to Whistler by Train and back by bus tour. I can trust Viator when travelling to unknown areas to have done the research and found the best tour company in the area at good prices. Never disappointed when book through them. We took this Whistler tour in August, Land and Sea picked us up at hotel. I was worried, but no problem, tour bus showed up within 5 minutes of the time scheduled. I confirmed with the tour company our hotel as directed after booking the tour. The driver came out of the bus and right into the lobby to pick us up. We arrived with time to spare at the train station. The train ride up was comfortable and included a breakfast sandwich, yogurt and some fruit. Coffee and soft drinks were served throughout the ride. The train has an open cart, without windows which allowed us to take beautiful pictures. The tour guide was fun and interesting and met us at the train station at Whistler, he had pre-booked tours (such as plane rides) on Whistler based on peoples interests. He also had discounted tickets for Peak to Peak for those that had requested them. We had 4 1/2 hours to ourselves to tour in Whistler, guide had provided us maps of the village and written the key time and circled the two locations where we could meet him. We were then driven back, We stopped at one lookout and then Shannon Falls. We headed back to Vancouver where each traveler was dropped off at their hotels. Some of the group was reloaded into a second bus to speed up dropping us all off at hotels throughout Vancouver or even Skytrain stations. Very well taken care of during the tour. Plus, beautiful views from Whistler-Blackcomb mountain. Worth going!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

A great way to travel to Whistler. We had 4 hours there and then came back by mini coach.
Our tour guide Lisa was excellent

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Beautiful ride. Very comfortable seating with breakfast included. Whistler is a lovely town, but for incredible views, take the gondola to the top of the mountain.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

fantastic day, the guide was excellent.

Special Offer

From USD $ 220.66

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3914_4

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message